We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Altrincham
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Often travel to this hotel (even before it became the Mercure) for Manchester United matches as the village of Hale is a beautiful place to eat and drink and plus the people are very welcoming.

It has been refurbished since my last stay and it's all the better for it, though I do agree with other posters that the corridors are out of character with the rest of the hotel.

Rooms are small but nicely decorated and the bathrooms are clean and tidy. However, if you are showering the rooms are so closed in (and no extractor fan) that it becomes a sauna also. I felt like I needed to hop back in again as it was so hot!

Staff are nice and friendly but the bar staff are obviously very badly trained or have little experience. They were very slow in pouring our drinks and pulled most of the pints straight into the glass (i.e. the glass was sat on the drip tray upright and just allowed to fill). This obviously resulted in a huge foamy head on the pint. Not a big issue of course but later on when there were quite a few at the bar, it caused long delays as he poured the pint back out to remove the head and pour again. Not something that would usually bother me, but with the prices quote high at the bar, I would expect a decent drink.

The breakfast wasn't the best and most of our group decided only to eat parts of it.

Noise levels can be a problem. We stayed at the "top" of the hotel but had to endure construction noises across the road.

I'm slightly nit-picking as it was overall a very good stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 188KeithG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Pleased that overall you had a decent stay but accept your constructive comments and will make efforts to correct for the benefit of future guests

Paul Rodgers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (920)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

675 - 681 of 920 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights.

Location
This hotel is in a good location, not far from Hale centre and close to access routes. It is fairly easy to find and has good car parking facilities.

Hotel
The hotel is very nice upon entry, the reception and bar areas have clearly been recently refurbished and they have a nice feel to them. The staff were, without exception, helpful and friendly, and the bar was kept open late into the night for residents.

Rooms
The room we were allocated was downstairs from the reception and, to be honest, as I walked through the door to the corridor that the room was located on, my heart sank. The corridor was poorly decorated, badly in need of some TLC and was not in keeping with the image of the hotel that you get from the reception and bar area. The room itself was fairly small, although the use of space was good, and it didn't feel as cramped as it might. However, the room was badly in need of redecoration, and again was not in keeping with either public areas or the photos that appear on the website of the hotel. Disappointing.

Overall
Overall I would recommend that if you are going to stay here you request a room that is not in the basement.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aspiring_Parisienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Sorry to hear that you were a little unhappy with your room, we are constantly upgrading and decorating and whilst of little consolation to you now the corridor you have referred to has been recently painted.
Rooms on the lower ground floor (due to hotel being on a hill) all have natural daylight and are generally favoured by many regular guests as they have easy access to the car park and a very quiet rooms.
Happy, however to allocate rooms higher up the building on future trips

Paul Rodgers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for Easter weekend for two evenings, beginning Good Friday. The hotel was booked through an all inclusive deal on Travelzoo which included 2 nights accommodation, breakfast for the two mornings, one evening meal plus unlimited house drinks, and one lunch.
The hotel is very clean and the rooms are cleaned to a very good standard.
With this hotel you can use the pool and sauna/steam room the areas are very clean and tidy and the young man on the desk was helpful.
All the staff where very helpful checking 10 people in can sometimes take a while but the reception staff where polite and sorted our group out with no problems.
The hotel is located just outside Manchester but you can catch a train or a tram into the city centre without a problem this was explained to us by a member of the hotel staff.
This was an excellent short break with great food in the restaurant "fish and chips to die for"
Will use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidoff007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Pleased you found us to represent good value and that you enjoyed your break with us.

Thanks for posting your comments, hope we can welcome you bnack in the future

Paul Rodgers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We chose this hotel as it was convenient for family and friends we were visiting.
The room was very large and comfortable. Great bed and linen. The restaurant staff were very pleasant and helpful. The bar staff were very good and the bar/lounge are was very clean and comfortable. Lovely coffee available all day.
We booked an all inclusive deal and we were not disappointed. The evening meal was wonderful - great choice, good portions and well cooked and presented. Breakfast was a very good buffet- selection of cereals, pastries and hot buffet. plentiful coffee and fruit juice available.
The only negative points are the noisy plumbing and limited reception staff.
Unfortunately we didn't have time to use the leisure facilities.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ELLEN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The hotel was very nice,the value for money was very good.We only stayed one night but I was disappointed that we had booked ann executive room but were allocated a delux room which was in the basement with no natural light.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank PowysPowys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Whist it is good to hear that the stay was enjoyable I am somewhat confussed by the comments about lack of natural light as all our rooms enjoy this facility.
I do however accept that in a few rooms the view is restricted.

Paul Rodgers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel the night before our flight. The room was very comfortable and plenty big enough for myself, husband and two children. Due to leaving early we didn't have breakfast although it did look very nice, what we saw of it being set up. We did have a drink in the bar on the evening. The prices are what you'd expect to pay at a hotel. We then left our car at the hotel for the duration of our holiday, the hotel arranged a taxi for us to get to the airport. This took about 5/10 minutes. You get a voucher which pays for your taxi and also for the return trip. A good service which was all included in the room price. We would use again, hopefully a later flight so we could benefit from the breakfast!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna_Walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Good to know that your stay with us made for a good start to your holiday and thanks for sharing your experience with others.
Hope you will use us again on future trips from Manchester Airport

Paul Rodgers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed in this hotel with our daughter and her husband for Easter weekend for two evenings, beginning Good Friday. The hotel was booked through an all inclusive deal on Travelzoo which included 2 nights accommodation, breakfast for the two mornings, two evening meals plus unlimited house drinks, and two lunches.

This was generally a nice hotel. Booking in was a bit of a farce as the receptionist spoke pigeon English and was obviously struggling to communicate with guests booking in!

The room was nice enough reasonably large with big comfortable bed but a large crack in bathroom window and no curtain or blinds was off putting and also the radiator in the room did not turn of which gave an uncomfortable nights sleep as it was far to hot even with the window open.

I think we were unlucky with our room (123) the noise from the corridor door kept us awake both nights by banging shut when other guests passed by especially in the early hours of the morning. This could easily be solved by fitting a soft close hinge to the door. Also there was a large party including children leaving to go to Manchester airport and were running around banging on each others doors and shouting at 5.30am resulting in another broken nights sleep, perhaps it would be an idea to have a certain area of the hotel kept for airport transfer bookings causing less disturbance to other guests. As i say i think we were just unlucky as our daughters room (279) was lovely and quiet and they had a very peaceful night.

The food was excellent. Full English was hot and plentiful, and the evening meals were excellent with a good choice.

The bar area was pleasant but far to small for the amount of guests and many guests had to stand in the corridor with their drinks as there was no room in the bar area. The drinks package was fine with Red, white and Rose wines, Fosters lager and soft drinks. You are given the impression however that most of their trade is on these package deals as the bar seemed to be poorly stocked i.e no dark rum or Angostura bitters and again the barman spoke poor English and struggled to understand customers requests.

On saying this the bar staff were very friendly and the restaurant staff were extremely pleasant and helpful with one lady taking time out to advise us the best places to visit in the area so big thumbs up to the bar and restaurant staff.

Overall good value for money and with a few tweaks this could be a nice little weekend get away hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid room 123
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hobnobsryummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Good to know that you found our offer to be of good value and please be assured that we will quickly address the issues you have highlighted

Paul Rodgers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altrincham
0.9 mi away
Best Western Manchester Altrincham Cresta Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Altrincham Central
16.4 mi away
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel

Address: Langham Road, Altrincham, Trafford WA14 2HT, England (Formerly Bowdon Hotel Altrincham)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Trafford > Altrincham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Altrincham
Price Range: $77 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel is ideally located for both commerce and leisure in Manchester City Centre and South Manchester including Trafford Park, Sale, Wilmslow and Knutsford. Conveniently close to the M56 and M6 motorways and Manchester International Airport. All standard rooms have en-suite bath and shower, Interactive TV (Internet access, PlayStation, Exclusive Movies), hairdryer, trouser press, direct dial telephone, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing