We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected gem !”
Review of The Victoria - CLOSED

The Victoria
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Valbonne, France
Level Contributor
83 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“An unexpected gem !”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

From the outside it looks like a slightly dodgy pub, and whilst the interior is a little dated the food is excellent. You must try their Mead.....fabulous with dessert

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    23
    7
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“I only went in for a drink but...”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I admit I only went in for a drink after work, but we couldn't have been made to feel less welcome if they'd tried. Instead of being polite and pointing out where we could sit / stand to have our drink, he was remarkably impatient and short with us over where we tried to sit or stand.
I appreciate that there might not be as much profit in a couple of drinks as in a full blown meal, but its put me off going back to find out.
Customer service should apply to everyone, not just those who are prepared to spend more, after all we are all potential restaurant customers, or rather, I was. Disappointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent food, friendly service”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have been going since it was opened and I can't remember having a bad experience. The chef makes a point of sourcing local ingredients and his passion shows in the good quality of the food. The menu is seasonal and often has twists on classics. If you like your drink, Speckled Hen is on tap, there is an extensive choice of gins and good quality wines. The pub interior gives it a low key feel, which makes a more relaxed environment.

Helpful?
3 Thank catzrus100
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“lovely food and nice staff”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had a lovely meal here on saturday evening with special friends. The staff were really pleasant and attentive. We will definately be back!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ave13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts
Level Contributor
158 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A great discovery - try it.”
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We went on the recommendations from trip advisor and were pleased to see that it mo than lived up to its reputation.

The interior is very classy and staff very attentive. Me chanced upon a night just before Mothers Day so it was very quiet initially.

We both went for the same main (steak and kidney pudding) which was as good as the Blumental Hindshead pub near Windsor - so this is very much a gastro pub and not a place to just go for a drink!

Well recommended.

Helpful?
2 Thank Cran4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Victoria also viewed

Altrincham, Trafford
 
Altrincham, Trafford
 
Altrincham, Trafford
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing