We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Greatworking farm B&B, allows pets, very close tatton park”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Birtles Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Birtles Farm
Ranked #3 of 7 Altrincham B&B and Inns
England
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Greatworking farm B&B, allows pets, very close tatton park”
Reviewed December 16, 2010

This is a great little B&B for short stays. The rooms are clean but small. We had the en suit room which was great but the place is definitely farm housey. Our room door had a massive gap in it out into the hall way and you couold hear everything going on, or more to the point they would be able to hear everything going on in the room!! But other than that they are very friendly, breakfast is brilliant, there is a lovely little loungge to relax in. There is TV in the rooms and free WIFI.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucinda_lay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    16
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
41
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chalfont St Peter, UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2010

I must admit I am in two minds writing this review. On the one hand I would like to keep this gem to myself, but on the other, Birtles Farm deserves all the praise (and custom) it gets. I have stayed here whenever in the area for the last few years, and without fail the welcome from Sharon and her family has been the greatest of the many pleasures of the visit.

Peace and quiet, lovely views over the fields, a wonderful old farm house on a working farm, beautifully furnished rooms with comfortable beds, an excellent breakfast, I could go on...

A satnav isn't a prerequisite for finding the farm, but it certainly helps; the first time I went I did not own one and it took a lot of finding. But for all that it is well located, close to Tatton Park, within striking distance of the M6, M56 and Manchester, and only 7 or 8 miles from Manchester Airport on back roads.

On my last trip north, there was no suitable room at Birtles Farm and I had to go elsewhere; though the other place was clean and friendly enough, it did not begin to compare and I spent the whole time regretting not being able to book sooner.

If I had to find fault, I suppose the small single room is very small and very single (the other rooms I have stayed in are generous in size), the long farm track will certainly test your car's supension (and possibly your driving skills if it's icy), and there isn't a swimming pool, beauty salon or golf course. I hope those remarks put enough people off to make it possible for me to get a room there in the future when I need one!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ritorno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2010

We were visiting our daughter at Altrincham. She is taking part of an exchange program between Brussels and Manchester universities. We enjoyed a very pleasant stay. Location was convenient to meet our daughter at her accomodation in Altrincham. It was also very easy to take the MetroLink to visit Manchester. Breakfast was like we were expected : the real traditional one. Sleeping rooms are well decorated. A living room is even reserved for guests. Certainly, a place to advise.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PXJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2010

We spent two nights at Birtles Farm over a weekend while we made various visits in south Manchester/Cheshire. We found the family to be very welcoming and pleasant, the rooms were very comfortable and equipped with everything we might need (freeview TV, wireless internet, kettle etc.). Breakfast was generous and delicious (always important for us!). We would definitely book again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Batteline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2009

I was a little worried about choosing Birtles B&B as I could find no reviews but it was close to the area where we needed to be, allowed pets and it looked so much better than the hotels we were looking at right in Manchester. We arrived late at night due to us missing our ferry, and to be honest, if we hadn't had our sat nav would probably be looking for it yet! It turned out to be up a private lane across a couple of cattle grids and across the farm yard. The owner, Sharon was there to meet us and brought a very welcome pot of tea to our room, We enjoyed our stay so much that we pulled the rest of our party out of their spartan city hotels to join us on the second night. The rooms are beautifully appointed & cosy, the beds comfortable and the cooked breakfast with the farm's own free range eggs in the morning very welcome! Our dog was welcome too and it was easy for me to walk her along the farm lane in the moonlight, so close to Manchester but so peaceful. I cannot recommend Birtles highly enough, the personal touch makes all the difference and the family are genuinely helpful and friendly. I would loved to have been able to stay longer..

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weewhitesheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altrincham
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Manchester Altrincham Cresta Court Hotel
3.4 mi away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#67 of 116 in Manchester
1,164 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
3.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birtles Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birtles Farm

Property: Birtles Farm
Address: Birtles Farm Ashley Road, Altrincham, Trafford WA14 3QH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Trafford > Altrincham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Altrincham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Birtles Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birtles Farm Altrincham, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing