We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The House Restaurant

The House Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 170 Restaurants in Altrincham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $37
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Tucked away in the idyllic setting of Altrincham’s Goose Green, The House has built its reputation on providing excellent food in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Having maintained its authentic charm over the years, this hidden gem has become a popular haunt amongst locals.Since the restaurant first opened its doors in 2005, The House has continued to grow as a venue. It launched ‘The House Wine Bar’ next door in 2007, which introduced live music and entertainment to the green and most recently in December 2011, The House celebrated the opening of its new premises at ‘No. 13’, which has been completely remodelled into a spacious new dining area and state of the art kitchen.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

I have been here on several occasions and always leave happy! I usually go for the early diner menu which is a bargain. I always order the soup which comes with fresh bread, generous main portion (I had an amazing fish course...yum) and a pot of chocolate mousse for pud. Each course was great and the service is better than most other places. Definitely coming back...very soon no doubt!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    87
    35
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Have your tea before you go!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

My husband and i both ordered off the pasta menu. We didnt have starters as pasta can be filling. We were both disappointed with the portion size of our mains in fact they looked like starters. I had prawn linguine with sunblush toms, it had 5 prawns and 3 sliced cherry tomatoes!!! I ordered cheese n biscuits to fill up on. Wine was warm and my husband asked for more bread that never came. We mentioned to staff and were offered a liquor...we wont be returning sorry!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank crispmuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing chateaubriand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Went here with my son for a meal. Booked the evening before online, easy process, received confirmation by text the next day. Arrived at the restaurant which was busy, seated immediately and given menus. We already knew what we would like from viewing the menu online. Service was prompt and food looked divine, perfectly cooked steak that just melted in the mouth. Served with two roasted tomatoes, mushrooms and rocket. Side orders of fries. Good atmosphere, quite noisy so probably not ideal if wanting a quiet chat

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 28970Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Good food served by lovely staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

A super girls evening out. Tasty, well cooked and beautifully presented food. Friendly, attentive staff and excellent value.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

My wife and I have been to House several times now and have always been pleased with the food we have chosen.
The range of choice is very good with one or two interesting and unexpected twists on old favourites without being unduly expensive.
The two young men that run the front of house are always polite and friendly making for an overall happy experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham1944Altrincham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The House Restaurant also viewed

Altrincham, Trafford
Altrincham, Trafford
 
Altrincham, Trafford
 
Altrincham, Trafford
Altrincham, Trafford
 

Been to The House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing