We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely as always”

The House Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 178 Restaurants in Altrincham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Tucked away in the idyllic setting of Altrincham’s Goose Green, The House has built its reputation on providing excellent food in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Having maintained its authentic charm over the years, this hidden gem has become a popular haunt amongst locals.Since the restaurant first opened its doors in 2005, The House has continued to grow as a venue. It launched ‘The House Wine Bar’ next door in 2007, which introduced live music and entertainment to the green and most recently in December 2011, The House celebrated the opening of its new premises at ‘No. 13’, which has been completely remodelled into a spacious new dining area and state of the art kitchen.
Urmston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely as always”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have visited this restaurant on numerous occasions and it has never disappointed. The atmosphere is lovely, the staff are very attentive without being overbearing and the food is always superb. With its changing menu there is generally something to suit everyone's tastes.
I have eaten in some very expensive eateries over the years and this place out ranks half of them for quality and taste of food, but it costs a lot less money! If you are looking for a good value meal in a lovely local place, then pay it a visit. It also has an excellent bar next door !

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    93
    36
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent choice of restaurant”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Ate at House this evening with friends. We had starters of whitebait, garlic mushrooms and a beetroot dish which were all excellent. For mains we had salmon fillet, spanish burger, steak and smoked salmon pasta - all were very good indeed. Would definitely recommend a visit if you are in the Altrincham area. Would suggesr that you phone to book as it can be busy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really great food cook very well”
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

I had the early dinner menu, the 8oz fillet steak and Baileys Afagato ... Simply Fantastic I can't remember a better steak

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alphabetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent steaks!”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Went there yesterday using the Groupon offer - so it was very much worth it. Ignoring the price, the restaurant itself was nicely decorated and hidden in a cul-de-sac in Altrincham. We were seated immediately (we did book in advance). Our complimentary wine was delivered to us prompty but we had to ask twice for tap water. Apart from that I could not fault the service.

My partner chose the fried whitebait for starters while I had the John Dory fishcakes. Both were nicely presented and well cooked - decent enough but nothing to shout about. We both had the fillet steaks and this is where the restaurant shines - perfectly cooked and succulent. The portions were decent, so much so that we didnt have space for dessert! The desserts are on display behind a counter and throughout the night I was drooling over the mango cake but it was a shame I didnt get the chance to try it.

With the groupon offer, we paid £29 instead of £60. But I would consider returning and paying full price to try the other items on the menu.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wudipest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Food excellent but service poor”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

After reading good reviews of the restaurant, we tried The House on the first night of our stay in Altrincham. It was very difficult to find on the sat nav (not being local to the area), but once we did, we found a very quaint restaurant tucked in a courtyard.
We hadnt booked, but were seated quickly. Although there were seats in the quieter part of the restaurant, we were seated near a larger party and a family which was a little noisy for a couple (especially if you are after a quiet / romantic evening).
The waiters were very pleasant, but just very slow to take drinks orders (the restaurant didnt seem to be very busy either). We each had main course (both were excellent and would personally recommend the beetroot and three cheese wellington), and I had the mousse dessert (again very good). Food came out fresh and is highly recommended - just a shame with the front of house service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MelanieUttley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The House Restaurant also viewed

Altrincham, Trafford
Altrincham, Trafford
 
Altrincham, Trafford
 

Been to The House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing