We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (517)
Filter reviews
519 results
Traveler rating
19
59
105
87
249
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
59
105
87
249
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
386 - 391 of 519 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed overnight on 15th March and having read the reviews I was very worried but it was a pleasant surprise. The room was comfortable and clean, the food was was excellent especially the breakfast.All the staff were helpful and very attentive. We will be going back in April and really looking forward to it . Brilliant value for money

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tidlecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Last week I stayed at two other Britannia hotels, Britannia Hotel South Manchester which was pretty dire and the Britannia Country House hotel which was ok. This one was in my opinion much better and cheaper too. The rooms were clean and quiet with no noise at all from outside the hotel or from other guests. Bed was comfy, a lot comfier than the beds in the other two hotels I stayed in. Didn't eat in the restaurant so can't rate the food served. Staff seemed pleasant and helpful enough. Hale seemed a nice area although only stayed for one night so didn't get to have a good look around but the shops and restaurants and general area seemed really nice and the area felt safe. Will be coming up to this neck of the woods a few times in the next few months so will definitely stay here again on future visits.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank morrissey190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We got a deal for this hotel....dinner, wine and bed & breakfast. Upon arrival we enquired as to the time for dinner and was told that it was dependant on whether the chef turned up! We decided to nip to a local pub for a drink, and upon returning over an hour later the restaurant was closed. The chef had not turned up for dinner.
We were hungry by this time, having not eaten since lunchtime, so had no option but to visit a local restaurant for a meal at the cost of £31, which was of course not an expense we had expected. Upon returning to the hotel we found that the bar was not open as there were no bar staff either! We did however receive our bottle of wine which we had to drink in our room. Not the experience we were expecting.
The following morning there was no manager to speak with and the receptionist (the same young man who appeared to have been there all night) advised he had been instructed to give us a refund of £20 towards the cost of the meal we had paid for.
Needless to say we aren't happy to say the least. We often stay in Britannia hotels but this was by far the worst experience, and we will seriously reconsider in future. We have now sent a complaint off to Britannia but don't hold out much hope of getting anywhere.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel over the weekend. We read some of the reviews and were a bit concerned .luckily for us we were not put off by them. When we arrived we were given our room keys. Admitted the rooms are a bit dated but were clean , the water was red hot and the room was too. We went down for our evening meal at around 8 ish as the restaurant is only small so we waited for the rush to die down . Starters were either soup or melon followed by chicken or salmon then a sweet. We went downstairs into the bar which again is only small but on the plus side bitter, lager and house wine were only £1.75 . Breakfast in the morning was lovely with plenty of choice . Overall if you are only stopping for a night its an ideal place with other bars and restaurants nearby ( within walking distance) and a co-op next door .

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DOZ1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed here with friends a couple of weekends ago, before flying out of Manchester Airport on the Sunday morning. Paid £55 per room for DBB. On arrival, we were told that we would have to wait until second sitting as a coach party had just arrived, so we made our way up to our rooms, through the musty corridors. The rooms were both adequate at best, very tired, and shabby looking. The bed in our room was like sleeping on a board.
Dinner was adequate at best, served in a school canteen style (although thankfully they hadn't run out this time - see below!). We had soup, served with half a piece of cheap sliced white bread, followed by dried out chicken and about 6 chips, and a dodgy looking, but surprisingly tasty crumble for dessert.
We then discovered that breakfast was not scheduled to start being served until 8am, by which time we were supposed to be at the airport, but, on checking the canteen out, we found that a pretty good breakfast was ready and waiting at 7.40, so we stayed and enjoyed it - which was the best part of our stay.
Finding the hotel, and then finding our way to Manchester Airport were also difficult tasks. I have to say that if I had done my research properly, I probably wouldn't have stayed here. However, given the price, it gets a poor rather than terrible rating.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbakenilworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews