We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than other Britannia hotels I've stayed at”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Britannia Ashley Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Altrincham
Richmond Surrey England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Better than other Britannia hotels I've stayed at”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Last week I stayed at two other Britannia hotels, Britannia Hotel South Manchester which was pretty dire and the Britannia Country House hotel which was ok. This one was in my opinion much better and cheaper too. The rooms were clean and quiet with no noise at all from outside the hotel or from other guests. Bed was comfy, a lot comfier than the beds in the other two hotels I stayed in. Didn't eat in the restaurant so can't rate the food served. Staff seemed pleasant and helpful enough. Hale seemed a nice area although only stayed for one night so didn't get to have a good look around but the shops and restaurants and general area seemed really nice and the area felt safe. Will be coming up to this neck of the woods a few times in the next few months so will definitely stay here again on future visits.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morrissey190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    55
    98
    80
    184
See reviews for
65
175
31
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fleetwood, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We got a deal for this hotel....dinner, wine and bed & breakfast. Upon arrival we enquired as to the time for dinner and was told that it was dependant on whether the chef turned up! We decided to nip to a local pub for a drink, and upon returning over an hour later the restaurant was closed. The chef had not turned up for dinner.
We were hungry by this time, having not eaten since lunchtime, so had no option but to visit a local restaurant for a meal at the cost of £31, which was of course not an expense we had expected. Upon returning to the hotel we found that the bar was not open as there were no bar staff either! We did however receive our bottle of wine which we had to drink in our room. Not the experience we were expecting.
The following morning there was no manager to speak with and the receptionist (the same young man who appeared to have been there all night) advised he had been instructed to give us a refund of £20 towards the cost of the meal we had paid for.
Needless to say we aren't happy to say the least. We often stay in Britannia hotels but this was by far the worst experience, and we will seriously reconsider in future. We have now sent a complaint off to Britannia but don't hold out much hope of getting anywhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DONCASTER
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel over the weekend. We read some of the reviews and were a bit concerned .luckily for us we were not put off by them. When we arrived we were given our room keys. Admitted the rooms are a bit dated but were clean , the water was red hot and the room was too. We went down for our evening meal at around 8 ish as the restaurant is only small so we waited for the rush to die down . Starters were either soup or melon followed by chicken or salmon then a sweet. We went downstairs into the bar which again is only small but on the plus side bitter, lager and house wine were only £1.75 . Breakfast in the morning was lovely with plenty of choice . Overall if you are only stopping for a night its an ideal place with other bars and restaurants nearby ( within walking distance) and a co-op next door .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DOZ1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed here with friends a couple of weekends ago, before flying out of Manchester Airport on the Sunday morning. Paid £55 per room for DBB. On arrival, we were told that we would have to wait until second sitting as a coach party had just arrived, so we made our way up to our rooms, through the musty corridors. The rooms were both adequate at best, very tired, and shabby looking. The bed in our room was like sleeping on a board.
Dinner was adequate at best, served in a school canteen style (although thankfully they hadn't run out this time - see below!). We had soup, served with half a piece of cheap sliced white bread, followed by dried out chicken and about 6 chips, and a dodgy looking, but surprisingly tasty crumble for dessert.
We then discovered that breakfast was not scheduled to start being served until 8am, by which time we were supposed to be at the airport, but, on checking the canteen out, we found that a pretty good breakfast was ready and waiting at 7.40, so we stayed and enjoyed it - which was the best part of our stay.
Finding the hotel, and then finding our way to Manchester Airport were also difficult tasks. I have to say that if I had done my research properly, I probably wouldn't have stayed here. However, given the price, it gets a poor rather than terrible rating.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbakenilworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Having just returned from a one night stay at this hotel I would not recommend it. We booked the trip through National Holidays and following a lovely day in Chester were taken to this hotel. Firstly, on arrival they brought the meal time forward..so hardly any time to freshen up! Secondly, arrived at the very cramped restaurant and when asked for soup had to endure a 15min wait because they had ran out! Eventually came and we were given very stale bread!. Then we queued at the 'very slow' service counter for our main course, to then be told they had ran out of potatoes and other vegetables, which at this point we had had enough and decided to head out to the local Indian restaurant. (Cinnamon -would definitely recommend).
The room was very dated and ours was a smoking room and although we didn't specify non-smoking, I wish we had because it smelt disgusting!
I would not recommend a stay in this hotel, although its surroundings are quite nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darlington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We booked this trip with National Holidays and I must say I will remember it for some time to come .........the hotel is not attractive from the outside and is quite tired on the inside. Our room was worn, with mould on the window which overlooked the 8 wheelie bins in the yard. Chairs were stained and the bed uncomfortable, with a very thin, cheap mattress. On a positive note there was always plenty of hot water and the sheets and towels looked clean although past their best. Now for the evening meal fiasco........we had to eat early as we were going to a concert that evening. The waitress eventually served tomato soup, I only know it was tomato soup because the she told me it was tomato soup. It resembled dish water with a oily film floating across the top. Yuk! The bread served with it felt lightly toasted but was just dried out. There were approximately 60 people expecting an evening meal, we were told the food had run out after serving about 15, yes it ran out!!! At this point I expected John Cleese to make a guest appearance or maybe Manuel but no this was for real. The manager did come into the dining room briefly then did a runner, literally, not to be seen again, the waiter confirmed that was what he usually did! Our party eventually left hungry but very fortunate.....we heard the food that was served was dried out and cold. We all left to buy sandwiches from the Co op next door. The coach driver was very embarrassed about the whole incident. The following morning we went down to breakfast.........mainly out of curiosity to be honest, but I must admit the staff had made an effort, plenty of bacon,sausage, hash browns, beans etc. On a serious note the receptionist doubles up as a barman on an evening, leaving the front desk unattended, and all the room keys on show, so beware! I am pleased we were only booked in for one night and certainly couldn't recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benjohnson60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We booked a trip through national holidays so didnt know were we would be staying, we checked in on the 2.2.13 and wish i hadnt bothered. The hotel from the outside doesnt look very nice but thought the inside would be ok..how wrong could one be, the rooms were very dated and not very clean either, towels were clean and was bedding, the mattress on the bed was totally crap and could feel every spring, cheap n nasty, there was mould on the window sills and they were filthy, the cleaners need sacking. We had an early Dinner organised as needed to be at a concert my god it was bedlam, we sat 30 mins waiting for a starter then to be told there was none left, people were quing for there main coarse also to be told nothing
Left, guests who did manage to get food were given half fozen fish or uncooked chicken. The waitress was just dumb and wondered about as though this was the norm, the manager did a runner when asked to sort this mess out. Nothing was sorted at all 60 guests booked in and lucky if 20 got food. This must be the worsted hotel i have ever stayed in..staff and service were abominal..please give this place a wide birth..its not worth staying in for free.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alisonkachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altrincham
1.0 mi away
Best Western Manchester Altrincham Cresta Court Hotel
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Altrincham Central
0.3 mi away
Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Airport Inn Manchester
4.8 mi away
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Ashley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Ashley Hotel

Property: Britannia Ashley Hotel
Address: Ashley Road | Hale, Altrincham, Trafford WA15 9SF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Trafford > Altrincham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Altrincham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Ashley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Ashley Hotel is a modern, comfortable boutique hotel located in a prime location - the village of Hale. 67 cozy rooms, a mouthwatering selection of meals and the friendliest staff await you at the Ashley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Britannia Ashley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Ashley Altrincham
Hotel Britannia Ashley
Britannia Ashley Hotel Altrincham, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing