We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Britannia Ashley Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (486)
Filter reviews
486 results
Traveler rating
19
57
103
84
223
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
57
103
84
223
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
367 - 372 of 486 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here as we were flying to Gambia at 8am Saturday and travelled down from Newcastle on the friday afternoon. Got to the hotel which was easy enough to find and parked in the car park which is shared with next doors co-op (free after 6pm) 10p per hour until then. Check in was ok and went down to the bar later on for something to eat and a few drinks. The food was good and the couple of pints were welcome after 5hrs of friday afternoon traffic. The hotel is good for what we wanted it to be but it is a little dated but what do you expect for the money, talking to the lad behind the bar he says that this hotel is popular during the week with contractors working away from home so in my opinion this is something to do with the dust that some people may be offended with. For us the beds and bathroom were clean enough and that will do for us and would stop here again.
Due to previous problems with airport parking sites away from the airport we chose the britannia for the use of the country house car park as part of the deal and the service they provided was first class, they run a strict timetable at the BCH and if you are late you have to wait for the next bus (15mins) this stops people who have got to reception on time being delayed for their check in. The buses they use are clean and only 10mins from airport, the return is easy you just use a freephone in the arrivals hall and by the time you walk out there is a taxi waiting for you.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulandLesleyMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We arrived at this hotel as part of a Just Go! coach holiday.

On our arrival it was obvious that the room had not been cleaned thoroughly as there were dirty marks on the mirrored wardrobe doors and dust on all the fixtures and fittings. The carpet had also not been vacuum cleaned; at no time during our stay were any of these faults rectified. We had to make our own beds each day and the single glazed windows had so much condensation on them that we had to use our bath mat to mop it up. The wet bath mat was still left in place even after the room had supposedly been cleaned; having said that the beds were reasonably acceptable, the bathroom was clean and modern and the WiFi worked well.

However, the above faults pale into insignificance when compared to the dining arrangements at the hotel, which were abysmal. Firstly the hotel has 67 bedrooms and there were 2 full coach loads of guests; us and a National Holidays group. We were both staying over the same period which amounted to a total of over 110 guests per day. The dining room could comfortably seat 30 guests but we were crammed in 50 or more at a time in 2 sittings. The first night we were expected to serve ourselves from the buffet but, it soon became obvious that there was not enough room to do this. On the following days the system was changed to ‘waiter service’ but this did not work either as there were only 3 young untrained waiters on duty at any time. To give them their due they tried their best and did remain pleasant at all times. On Christmas Day my wife and I were on the second sitting, which was supposed to be at 13:30. We ended up queuing for 45 minutes on the stairs before we could even enter the dining room. This is not my idea of how to have an enjoyable Christmas Day Lunch. The final insult was on the final evening when we came down to the dining room for the second sitting at 19:15 to find no space left. We ended up dining alone downstairs in the bar. The only red wine available for the whole four days was an absolutely awful cheap and nasty Italian plonk, which I would not have given to my worst enemy. I and several other guests ended up bringing our wine in from the local supermarkets after the first night. Overall the food was just about reasonable but the quantities, for me at least, could have been more generous. The breakfast was the best meal of all apart from the sometimes overcooked fried eggs and the variable constituency of the porridge. Finally the size of the bar is totally inadequate as it can only seat a maximum of 30 guests and there is no other public seating available anywhere else in the hotel.

The other main problem with this hotel is the stairs.
If you have walking difficulties or need to use walking sticks then DO NOT STAY HERE.
When you arrive at the hotel you are faced with the following:
•There are 2 steps down from street level into the reception area.
•There are then 8 steep steps up to the lift on the mezzanine level.

Getting to the dining room will also be extremely difficult.
There is a choice of three routes as follows:
•From the bar area there are 13 steps up to the dining room.
•From the mezzanine floor lift there are 8 steps up followed by 7 steps down to the dining room.
•From the first floor lift there are 12 steps down followed by 7 more steps down to the dining room.
All these steps of course had to be negotiated in reverse at the end of every meal.

This hotel is worse than terrible!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms with an odd number are probably the best!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robinh23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Stayed overnight before taking a flight from Manchester airport which is only 4 miles away. Didn't get there until 02:00am, room offered was spacious, with twin beds but seemed cold. It was -2 outside, and very late so just went to bed fully clothed.
Buffet breakfast was ok, with a moderate choice of continental and cooked food. Parking is at an adjacent pay and display car park. Free to use after 6pm and before 8am. We paid £52 online which included a mandatory £3 charge for using my DEBIT card, and £10 for extended checkout until 13:00.
On leaving our room, and pulling back the curtains we discovered why the room was so cold. The ageing sash window was stuck open, only slightly but it was a very cold night.
If you're on a budget and need easy access to the airport, this place will do fine. Its not great, but its not bad.
We asked for a smoking room, and it smelt clean!!!!!

Room Tip: Check the windows close properly!!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickyLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

A family smoking room ! - Welcome to the 1970's including the decor. The smell was digusting - No other rooms available. Window open when arrived - wet window sill and floor as had been raining for the past 24 hrs. Naff sqweeky bed, no headboard - darn't sit up in bed - as 40 years of head grease on the wall. Woken up several times by druken behaviour with no thought on the language. The dust and dirt was truly disgusting - the old style TV had never had a clean since 1981 when it was wheeled in. The trouser press did not work, so I moved the bed to see if the switch was on - I honestly reckon 6 months of hair !, dirt, dust and debri ! No hairdryer in the draw marked hair dryer. 2 damp towels for 3 of us in a family room ! Dirt and stains on the walls, curtains and carpet ! Breakfast was like a hostel not a hotel. We didn't eat and checked out after making our comments felt to the receptionist ( mngr unavailable ). We wrote a letter to HQ - acknowledged letter but still waiting for a responce - 6 months ago.
So in conclusion - Do NOT EVER EVER stay here - choose some where else.

Room Tip: There isn't a good room !
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheOXOfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Don't stay here if your expecting 5*. This is a fantastic, clean 3 star hotel. I have stayed here on many occasions and have always found the place to be very clean.

Yes the rooms and building is dated but the price you pay for this hotel reflect this.

When booking always request a non smoking room and you will be fine!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corfu85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews