We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You gets what you pays for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Britannia Ashley Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Altrincham
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“You gets what you pays for”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Not a pleasant night spent here. The staff seemed to care little for our welfare, and were in their own way pretty odd people too. The room was ok sized, but the furniture and decorations tired and in urgent need of renovation. The bathroom was decent enough, with a good flow from the shower. Only one bath sized towel, though, provided for a double room, which meant we had to share. The worst aspect? Nearly suffocating in the middle of the night! We were in one of the first floor rooms that had no means of opening a window. So there was very poor ventilation and I woke up in the middle of the night with a kind of panic attack - I felt like I was suffocating. Still, the room was cheap enough at 35GBP, so I guess you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room that allows you to open the window, otherwise you'll suffocate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    55
    100
    81
    195
See reviews for
70
178
31
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for exactly 8 minutes, that's the time it took to check in, get to my room and leave again. The box room they gave me was disgusting, dirty, and stinky, the hotel resturaunt looks like a dive!!! It's a Britannia so didn't expect anything, this place is a proper dive, do not stay here

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Narns2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Altrincham hotels

nottingham
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

i booked my mother who is 84 into this hotel for 2 nights last week. The receptionist Gary was very helpful and gave my mother a room on thew first floor. The room was very clean and bright and had tea and coffee making facilities. Gary arranged for my mum's breakfast to be brought to her room as she has mobility problems and could not negotiate the steps into the dining room - nothing was too much trouble.

The young lady on reception the next day was also very helpful.

I cannot praise the staff highly enough and would have no trouble recommending this hotel to anyone. It is very good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amber10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

We booked a night's stay and parking, which was good value for money.

The staff were incredibly helpful.

The room was incredibly dated.

I wouldn't want to stay here for more than one might, but it was ok for a near-airport crash pad.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sazz74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel a few times now. At £40 a night its good value.The hotel is perfectly placed if you need to visit Hale. The decor is a little tired and could do with freshen up and the facilities are fairly basic, but saying that the room was clean and the staff , friendly. The hotel doesn't have it's own car park but is next to the council car park , which is fairly cheap , watch out for the traffic wardens. All in , good value. Will stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandTripover1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Yes, the place is dated and just plain ugly from the outside. The room was fine, completely average. The decor was your typical ugly and boring hotel art, no naked ladies. The price was cheap but it was Sunday night. This place would have gotten a solid average 3 stars but...

When we booked the hotel we asked for a taxi to be ordered for us at 5am the next morning to the airport. This being an airport hotel that should be nothing new. When we checked in the woman at the desk confirmed that we wanted a 5am taxi. At 4:50am we go to check out and there is no one around. We rang the bell numerous times and after about 10 minutes we started to yell hello and finally a young man came down the stairs to us several minutes later. By then it was 5:07 and our taxi was not outside. I immediately asked if a taxi had been called and he called up the taxi company to ask and they said no one had ever called for one! Luckily the taxi driver understood what had happened and hurried over in less than 10 minutes and we had allowed for extra time so we made it the airport with enough time.

Due to the fact they failed big time on calling the supposedly confirmed taxi and having to wait nearly 20 minutes for someone to show up, I'd never stay here again, no matter how cheap of a deal.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R8238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here whilst on a coach trip to the area. It was quite tired looking inside. Dining room was quite small for the amout of people dining there and was very warm! Basic choice of two items on the meun. Staff were very busy trying to keep up with clearing tables between courses. Bar area was very small considering there were a couple of coaches in that weekend- not enought room for people to sit after their meal, and no lounge area either. Bar kept runing out of clean glasses and you had to wait till they could get someone to wash some ! At breakfast, staff again were very busy clearing tables before other people could sit down, not a very pleasent experience in the dining room. Not too bad value for the price we paid and it's ok for one night but wouldn't like to be there much longer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LP92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altrincham
1.0 mi away
Best Western Manchester Altrincham Cresta Court Hotel
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Altrincham Central
0.3 mi away
Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
3.7 mi away
The Airport Inn Manchester
2.5 mi away
The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Ashley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Ashley Hotel

Property: Britannia Ashley Hotel
Address: Ashley Road | Hale, Altrincham, Trafford WA15 9SF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Trafford > Altrincham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Altrincham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Ashley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Ashley Hotel is a modern, comfortable boutique hotel located in a prime location - the village of Hale. 67 cozy rooms, a mouthwatering selection of meals and the friendliest staff await you at the Ashley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Ashley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Ashley Altrincham
Hotel Britannia Ashley
Britannia Ashley Hotel Altrincham, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing