We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“WONDERFUL RETREAT IN THE HEART OF BALLATER”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ballater, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Highlande...
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL RETREAT IN THE HEART OF BALLATER”
Reviewed July 1, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

This is the second year that we have been able to stay at the Auld Manse. It is a delightful property and very well equipped and so comfortable . A real home from home .
In the midst of glorious Deeside the views are superb and the day starts with a walk across the green to the baker for fresh butteries. It just gets better and better as the day goes on.
This is an amazing property.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 2, 2018
Thank you so much for your very kind remarks. It has been a joy to have you and your wife as guests and to get to know you both.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twosister...
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Charming place”
Reviewed July 27, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Recently had another holiday here, and enjoyed it every bit as much as our first time. Perfect location in centre of Ballater, with a peaceful large garden to relax in. Everything needed for a self-catering holiday is provided in The Auld Manse, it is exceptionally well-equipped. Every room in the house has its own particular charm, from the lovely dining room and front lounge to the bedrooms upstairs. The furnishings really add to the overall character of the place. The owner, Lesley, kindly visited us after our arrival and we also saw her on the morning of our departure. Love this house - we have already booked for next year!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 29, 2017
Thank you so much for your kind remarks- greatly appreciated.
It is good to share our former family home with appreciative guests.
We enjoyed having you to stay and we will be very happy to see you next year.
Best wishes
Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlande...
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect house in a perfect location”
Reviewed July 16, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We cannot overstate how much we enjoyed our stay at the Auld Manse. It was everything we had hoped for- and more besides. It suited our needs perfectly and was beautifully furnished and so comfortable. We were delighted to find how well equipped the property was and it made for a great holiday.
As owners of a house in Florida which we rent out, we were very impressed with the house, its location, its garden and its contents. Ten out of ten.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely comments Gordon & Sandra. It .has been a joy to welcome you and to get to know you both and your family.
The Manse was immaculate when you departed and that too is greatly appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards
Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhillipSt...
Stirlingshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed July 8, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Our group consisted of 3 couples in the area for fishing and golf.
The house is centrally situated and of a traditional style, well furnished and equipped.
Good restaurants and facilities all within walking distance.
Overall absolutely excellent and we hope to visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 21, 2017
Thank you Phillip for your lovely comments on The Auld Manse.
You will certainly be welcome again as you left the property in perfect order - greatly appreciated.
Kind regards
Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
j838p
1 review
“Perfect holiday home suitable for all ages”
Reviewed May 9, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The house is a beautiful property with modern features, perfect for any group travelling to this beautiful area. Everything you could possibly need was there and made a self-catering stay a real pleasure. The property description doesn't do the place justice in my opinion. Instructions were available for everything too which added to the relaxing experience.

We stayed here for a long weekend in March. Our group included my 1 year old daughter and my parents-in-law. The house is set right in the centre of the village with fantastic outlooks from all sides of the house. It has the benefit of a central location with shops, pubs, restaurants and bus station within couple minutes walk yet is set back from the main road therefore is very private. Lovely, huge gardens all around the property would be amazing in nicer weather which sadly we did not have at the time of year we visited.

The house is old yet very modern. The kitchen is huge with a large cooker, dishwasher, microwave and every essential you could need including pots, utensils, crockery and all the essential store cupboard items. We did not need half of the things we brought. There is even cling film and tin foil. There is a separate utility room for laundry on longer stays. The kitchen has a dining area and even a sofa so is a lovely cosy space where all the family can relax together over a lazy breakfast or a feast! There is a formal dining room but unless it was a special occasion or you had a particularly large group I cannot imagine that you would use this room especially when the kitchen area is so comfortable. We didn't think we'd be able to get my father-in-law to leave he was so happy there, definitely his favourite part of the house.

The house is large but still has a nice cosy feel and is ideal for a large group as you don't feel as if you are on top of each other due to the amount of space. Surprisingly for such a large house it was very cosy and well heated.

There are two large double rooms, one with an en-suite, that look out over the front of the property. The other two rooms are twin rooms and the family bathroom at the back of the property has a bath but does not have a shower.

Travelling with a young child can be difficult however absolutely everything required for a child was available: high chair, lovely comfortable cot, cot bedding, stair gates and even children's crockery in the kitchen. Just make sure you let Lesley know your requirements and everything will be set up for you.

There is a downstairs wet room which would be suitable for anyone with mobility issues so the house really does cater for almost anyone.

We had a wonderful time at the Auld Manse and did not want to leave. Lesley was very helpful and accommodating and we would love to stay again. Cannot recommend enough.


There is a downstairs wet room which would be suitable for anyone with mobility issues so the house really does cater for almost anyone.

We had a wonderful time at the Auld Manse and did not want to leave. Lesley was very helpful and accommodating and we would love to stay again. Cannot recommend enough.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 11, 2017
Thank you Jennifer. You are really kind. We enjoyed having you to stay and you kindly left everything in immaculate order.
We particularly appreciate that you loved the house as much as we do. It is a special place, peaceful but in the middle of the village with easy access to all the amenities.
We would be glad to see you again.
Kind Regards
Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilwalke...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Review of stay in The Auld Manse, Ballater”
Reviewed March 11, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

My girlfriend and I had the most comfortable and pleasant stay in what I consider to be the loveliest house in the whole of Ballater village. It was a very warm, clean and relaxing place to stay and my girlfriend and I would highly recommend The Auld Manse to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 12, 2017
Dear Neil
Thank you so much for your kind review.
To us The Auld Manse is a special place and we are so pleased that you found the same feeling of peace and relaxation.
Kind Regards
Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nacnudnel...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Comfortable, spacious house in centre of village.”
Reviewed February 23, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We stayed at The Auld Manse for a week in the middle of February. The location is excellent - right in the centre of the village, but set back from the Square, so it feels secluded and peaceful. The owners were on hand and very helpful. The house is very spacious, especially the kitchen, which is also very well equipped. There is a large, well-stocked Co-op only 100 yards away from the house too, so no need to bring lots of provisions! The beds were comfortable and the house was warm. We've stayed in many holiday houses and this is easily one of the best!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 25, 2017
Thank you so much Brigid for you kind remarks. We try to do our best!
It was a pleasure to meet you and your family and we do hope you will get back sometime before too long.
Kind Regards
Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing