We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time visit”

India on the Green Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 32 Restaurants in Ballater
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“First time visit”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Good service and lives up to previous reviews the little cup of soup and tapas like appetizers were excellent what a lovely touch very friendly staff

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank caroleaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cat H, Communications Assistant at India on the Green Restaurant, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review India on the Green and for your positive comments.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
:-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    68
    18
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Very Pleasant Surprise !”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

A really excellent meal, varied menu, lovely setting in the conservatory and very good service - really couldn't fault it! Streets ahead of other Indian restaurants on Deeside. Do keep these high standards!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarahand56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cat H, Communications assistant at India on the Green Restaurant, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments about India on the Green. We look forward to welcoming you again soon :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amorgos
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A disaster virtually from start to finish.”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Staff did not seem to know what they were doing and seem to have very little or no knowledge about the food they were trying to serve which was very disappointing and some of which was virtually inedible. We gave up in the end, paid and walked out. An experience we would not like to encounter again

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank NeilAmorgos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cat H, Communications assistant at India on the Green Restaurant, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review for India on the Green. We are sorry that you were disappointed on the occasion of your visit. I have spoken to Raj and he tells me that of six diners, all starters were eaten, and all mains barring one half plate, which does not bear testament to your assertion that the food was "inedible" or even disappointing. He adds that despite what he calls a lack of co-operation from yourself and your guests, you were given a hefty discount off the price of your meal (on account of your complaints about the starters), and that you had had no further complaints to make at that stage. He assures me that his staff are very knowledgeable about the food they serve; you only have to ask if you have any queries or questions.
We wish you all the best in your culinary endeavours on Deeside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Style and quality”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We were immediately impressed as we shown to our table by the ambience in the restaurant, which was heated by an impressive and efficient log-burning stove - with real logs! The staff were attentive and friendly and did not keep us waiting at all. The menu was perhaps a bit on the expensive side, but we thought it was worth it as the quality was excellent. We enjoyed the 'complimentary' nibbles - smoked mackerel patties, vegetable soup and petit fours, although they were no doubt built into the price! The main courses were very well prepared and the quantity was comfortable rather than excessive as is sometimes the case in an Indian restaurant. The coffee was over-priced although a refill was offered. All in all, a very enjoyable experience - we will certainly return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cat H, Communications assistant at India on the Green Restaurant, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments about India on the Green. We look forward to welcoming you again soon :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“mystery tour for a curry”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

When visiting from Herefordshire I took my daughter in law and two grandchildren to this restaurant in Ballater for lunch a few months ago and they loved it so much they wanted to go back, the meal was indeed excellent and the place very attractive. As my husband and son did not want a curry on that occasion they dined elsewhere but my daughter in law was keen to have another meal there so on return to Aberdeenshire last week we (6) all went from Lumphanan to Ballater - a distance - especially to repeat that curry lunch . It was pouring with rain, the sign in the window said the restaurant was open at 12 (it was about 12.10) so we waited...and waited...and rang the bell and walked inside the restaurant and rooms and looked around. Silence,Tables all laid ready, place very tidy. No-one there. We called out around the place and up the stairs Went in and out several times, rang the bell, banged on doors...more silence. About 12.40 pm it was still raining and we were wet but we were hopeful to get that meal and feeling hungrier. Eventually a man came down the stairs (we presume Indian employee or owner?) and stared at us. I said Are you open? and he said No, went back upstairs and left us standing on the porch. The other curry place in Ballater was not open so we drove to Aboyne and the curry restaurant there was closed.

Hint :If a restaurant is closed then do not leave the notice in the window stating it is open and keep the front door shut as not all visitors are honest. We were just fed up and mystified..

So we went to the Boat at Aboyne - have never had a curry there but we had the usual good pub meal and the kids always love the toy trains!. My daughter in law still later wanted a curry so she made one herself for that evening!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank telfordBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cat H, Communications assistant at India on the Green Restaurant, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review for India on the Green. We are sorry that we were unable to fulfil your desires for a lunchtime curry on this occasion. This is the quiet season and, as you discovered, no other Indian restaurants in the vicinity were open either. We hope that you will find the time and opportunity to visit Ballater again and that when you do you will pay us a visit. We would recommend that you call in advance and book a table on 013397 55701, and we would be happy to offer you a discount off your meal for the inconvenience caused. We wish you the best in your future culinary endeavours on Deeside :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed India on the Green Restaurant also viewed

 
Ballater, Aberdeenshire
 
Ballater, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to India on the Green Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing