We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, nice people.”

India on the Green Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 32 Restaurants in Ballater
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Wiesbaden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food, nice people.”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

If you like Indian food, this is a good place to go in Ballater. They have a lovely restaurant, quite friendly staff and we enjoyed our supper there.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Günther M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cat H, Communications assistant at India on the Green Restaurant, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your delightful comments. We hope to see you at India on the Green again soon :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    65
    17
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Indian food- with a difference”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Great food, lovely complimentary fish dosas and cups of soup with our poppadoms. Very tempting menu with so many interesting dishes- not just the usual varieties although there is a golden oldies section of the menu. Everything we had was perfectly spiced with a freshness and depth of flavours. Staff were very friendly and we were happy to see again some of them from our local restaurant a few years ago, before they moved to Ballater. They were very friendly towards the children and there was no stuffiness despite the 'fine dining' aspect to the restaurant. Our children were given a free drink to take away. It was refreshing to have Indian food served and presented so well but no more expensive. We thought it very reasonable- good quality and good value. We haven't been to Ballater in years but will certainly hurry back just for an Indian meal!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cat H, Communications assistant at India on the Green Restaurant, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for India on the Green. We hope you return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“A gem in Ballater”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Decided to eat here following several very positive reviews. We weren't disappointed. First class food (no gloves as per previous reviews) well presented, very tasty, will definitely eat here again. Can't fault it. Staff very pleasant, they can't do enough for you. Keep up the good work - an absolute gem in Ballater.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank micmky007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cat H, Communications assistant at India on the Green Restaurant, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for India on the Green. We hope you return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aboyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“High class Indian food poor service”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

First visit to this relatively new Indian restaurant,
The food was amazing when we eventually got it
The chef is a very talented indeed
Indian fine dining
Hopefully the speed of service has improved not a man for curry in a hurry but the speed we got our food was painfully slow

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cat H, Communications assistant at India on the Green Restaurant, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for India on the Green. We are sorry you were disappointed with the time taken but all our food is cooked to order to give you the best dining experience. We hope you return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
126 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Indian food with fine dining thrown in”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We ate at this restaurant knowing that the food would be excellent, because we know the chef. It was first class. What was very nice was the fine dining aspect too. This is the only time out of thousands at Indian restaurants where the food has come on he plate, rather than in heated bowls in table centre. All was really tasty and we will go back. I echo what others have said about the gloves though - weird! Get rid!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cat H, Communications assistant at India on the Green Restaurant, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for India on the Green. We hope you return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed India on the Green Restaurant also viewed

 
Ballater, Aberdeenshire
Ballater, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to India on the Green Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing