We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place..... wrong host”
Review of Moorside House

Moorside House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballater
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moorside House
Ranked #10 of 17 Ballater B&B and Inns
Malta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place..... wrong host”
Reviewed September 18, 2009

We cant really complain about the accomodation and the food, both are great. But the host.......we where greeted with a grin and not a typical Scottish smile! The first thing he said was "You Smoke... this is a non smoking house!" Yes we are both smokers, but we are not carriers of the plague! And being that we had been travelling for a whole day, we did not really smell like chanel.. we just needed to shower and sleep. We do respect that the place is a non-smoking one, and we did not smoke inside. it was drizzling and we went out, got wet and smoked. He came to show us the room and and just threw the keys onto the bed.... nice attitude and manners!!!!! Not to mention his so called humour during breakfast. Believe us, some guests were not amused when he compared raisins to dead flies to the poor lady who was about to toss them in her porridge!

Such attitude ruins the whole atmosphere of the place

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexandraMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    14
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
9
54
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Haddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2009

Visited Ballater to attend a friend's wedding at the Hilton Craigendarroch Hotel which did not have a room for us on the nights we wanted. Searching the internet for an alternative we came across the Moorside Guest House. How glad we were that the Craigendarroch could not accommodate us. The Moorside is a gem and a credit to it proprietors Pieter and Lea Faber. It is about five minutes walk from the centre of Ballater. Ample parking space is available at the rear of the property. The residents lounge is quiet and comfortably furnished and is a great place to read or even doze off in. Our room was huge, nicely furnished and provided with TV, coffee and tea making facilities. En-suite bathroom was roomy and provided with fresh fluffy towels, toiletries and lashings of piping hot water. Breakfast consisted of starters including a choice of fruit juice, fruit, cereals and porridge on request. To follow was the BEST breakfast i.e. Bacon, Eggs, Sausage and Tomatoes. Alternatives were scrambled eggs and smoked salmon, kippers, scrambled eggs etc. The homemade bread and jam are to die for. Then there are Lea's homemade muffins which should carry a health warning - "Don't eat too many as they are seriously addictive and could damage your waistline." We can honestly recommend this place; tremendous value at very reasonable prices. It even includes Pieter's cabaret act. If you wonder what that means you only need to know that if he wasn't a successful guest house owner he could probably make a living as a stand up comic such is his wit and repartee.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turkophileabz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2009

We booked Moorside House at the last minute for a 3 night stay & we are really glad we chose it! The hosts (Pieter & Lea) were very welcoming and friendly and they served fantastic breakfasts! The bread, muffins, jams/preserves were all home made and very tasty! There was an excellent choice of food for breakfast from continental (cheese & ham, etc) to scrambled egg with smoked salmon (the portion was huge!), full scottish, poached/scrambled eggs on toast or kippers. The muffins were particularly good for a mid-morning snack (we took them away each day!) and varieties included Chocolate Chip with Blueberries and Chocolate Chip with Pumpkin seeds! Both were delicious! They did a special deal for 3 nights which we thought was very reasonable and Pieter's banter at breakfast time was very entertaining! The room we stayed in (room 5) was a great size and even though at the front of the house it was really quiet & peaceful with no noise from the road. It had private parking too which meant it wasn't left on the raod overnight. We would certainly recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuziQ69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Berwick Scotland
Level Contributor
182 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2008

We've stayed at the Moorside during Ballater Golf week for three years. The rooms are immaculate and spacious, the reception welcoming, the hosts accommodating and generous, and the breakfast extraordinary. Each morning guests are greeted with fresh baked wheat bread as well as a different sweet bread or pastry accompanied by a complimentary homemade jam/preserve. For example you may get double chocolate muffins with lemon curd or pecan cinnamon rolls with apricot jam. My husband often enjoys the smoked salmon & scrambled egg, while I like having the choice of a cooked breakfast or a continental meat & cheese plate.

  • Liked — Breakfasts & immaculate rooms
  • Disliked — Not a thing!
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crewsaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballater hotels
5.9 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#3 of 4 in Ballater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Grand Vacations at Craigendarroch Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Gordon Guest House
The Gordon Guest House
#1 of 17 in Ballater
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.2 mi away
No 45
No 45
#4 of 17 in Ballater
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Auld Kirk Hotel
Auld Kirk Hotel
#3 of 17 in Ballater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorside House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorside House

Property: Moorside House
Address: 26 Braemar Road, Ballater AB35 5RL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Ballater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ballater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Moorside House Ballater, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing