We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay. Hope to come back !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballater
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Osborne House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 17 Ballater B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Perfect place to stay. Hope to come back !”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

My wife and I travelled Scotland by car with our two teenagers and get to this wonderful place by luck. We enjoyed very much our one nigth stay at Osborne House thanks to the very warm welcome from Neil and Heather and their hospitality.
The house and rooms are beautiful, clean and confortable.
It is much more than a B&B. It was like staying with family.
Breakfast was delicious. First class.
Our best B&B experience.

Room Tip: All the house is great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Osborne House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank-you for your review. We feel lucky too that you found us since we enjoyed having you to stay with us and we are glad that you felt so welcome and comfortable in our home. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your Scottish breakfast. It was interesting too for us to see photographs of the countryside around Bogata and to notice the similarities to the landscapes of Scotland. I also enjoyed talking about the garden with you. We very much hope to be able to welcome you to Osborne House again some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
62
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Without exaggeration this really is a delightful place to stay. Heather and Neil's attention to detail is obvious as soon as you see the house in it's beautiful setting. The house is spotlessly clean and the bedrooms have more space than any we have previously stayed in. Breakfast was delicious, especially the Stornaway black pudding and served at your convenience ( "sorry Heather" ) We felt instantly at home and at ease as we were met with a warm welcome and tea and cake. Other important points are, ample parking, really comfortable beds, shower that actually worked, 5 min walk from centre of village. All in all a perfect place to stay!
Christine, Keith ,Lisa and Keith.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather_OsborneHouse, Owner at Osborne House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank-you for taking time to post a review. We are so pleased Osborne House lived up to what you must have expected having seen our website, especially since you booked so long in advance, last July in fact, shortly after we opened for business. Were you giving us time to practise? I'm joking! But I do apologise for not having your breakfast exactly on time each day of your stay. The points you made in your review will be very useful for other travellers I think. Thank-you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We booked our wee holiday on 14 May, partly for my husband, who has always wanted to fish on the Dee, but also as he is 60 in June, to go to Balmoral Castle. as it is the Diamond Jubilee. After looking at Hotels in the area, we came across Osborne House what a treasure. Neil and Heather, are just the loveliest couple. They haved opened their gorgeous house for guests to share what can only be described as such a lovely experience. They cannot do enough to make you feel welcome and comfortable, and they are so knowledgeable about the area. It goes without saying, that although no fish were caught they made our holiday feel so special. Ballater and surrounding areas are gorgeous.

Room Tip: Leave room choice to Neil and Heather, they are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pottyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather_OsborneHouse, Owner at Osborne House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thank-you for taking time to post a review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Osborne House. Our home, set in a very peaceful spot, is within easy walking distance of the wide variety of very good restaurants in the pretty village of Ballater. This makes a pleasant stroll on a summer evening. Balmoral Castle, especially in Jubilee Year, is one of the many interesting places to visit and driving through the gorgeous countryside of Royal Deeside, whatever the season, still seems wonderful to us even after many years of living in the area. We are very pleased to have been able to contribute to making your wee celebratory holiday such a success.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Osborne House is an attractive and comfortable place to stay. It is positioned perfectly for walking or visiting the local tourist spots (including Balmoral Castle). Neil and Heather were friendly hosts and you felt they would do anything to make your stay a pleasure. Neil had particular expertise in walking and was able to give me some suggestions of ideal walks as well as a local weather forecast. The breakfast was lovely - particularly the creamy porridge and guests sit around a large table in a beautiful room. I was in the single room with the bathroom down the corridor - but it is a large bathroom with an excellent shower. There was no TV in the room - but there is one in the sitting room. I would happily stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djb1000001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather_OsborneHouse, Owner at Osborne House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Thank-you for taking time to post a review. We are glad you found your stay comfortable. Neil was pleased to be able to share some of his considerable knowledge of the local area and to pass on the latest weather forecast. Other easily-accessed walks from Osborne House can be found on the website of one of our friends: deesidewalks.com. We believe a good breakfast sets our guests up for the day ahead, whatever their chosen activity. Because, as you say in your review, the private bathroom is a fine size, we have recently made it more luxurious with the addition of a chair on which is a big, fluffy bath towel. We also provide a soft, generously-sized bathrobe to snuggle into after a shower.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2012

I stayed here with my husband and in-laws over Easter this year and we had a wonderful stay. Neil and Heather were so welcoming and helpful in giving us advice about the local area. The house and rooms are beautiful and so comfortable - we felt very much at home. The fire was lit for us each night in the sitting room so we could relax in the evening at the house. Breakfast was delicious. I would highly recommend Osborne House.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank pnc_hackney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather_OsborneHouse, Owner at Osborne House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Thank-you for taking time to post a review. We were delighted to welcome you. Having stayed on Royal Deeside for many years, we are only too pleased to share our knowledge of the area with our guests, to help them get the most out of their stay. We love our house and are glad that you found it comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our three-night stay at Osborne House thanks to the very warm welcome from Neil and Heather and the excellent hospitality they provided.
Accommodation is as you'd expect for a four-star B&B and nothing was too much trouble.
Location is only a five-minute walk to the heart of Ballater and handy for one of the several town walks (the Seven Bridges Walk passes the front gate).
Breakfast was excellent and the complimentary tea/coffee and home baking on arrival was delicious too.
We'll definitely be coming back and have no hesitation in recommending Neil & Heather to anyone planning to stay in the area.

Room Tip: Just find the right room for your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan_S_Morrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather_OsborneHouse, Owner at Osborne House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Thank-you for taking the time to post a review. We enjoyed having you to stay at Osborne House and are pleased that you found your stay relaxing. Our house is in a peaceful spot yet is very convenient both for the village of Ballater and for country walks. We feel a warm welcome is important and try to make sure our guests feel comfortable. Tea and cake in the drawing-room in front of the coal fire makes even the wettest day seem more cheering. We look forward very much to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2012

With only a telephone number to go by, we booked a nights stay an hour or so before arriving at the house whilst on a recent tour of Scotland, and it was a gem of a find. From giving us helpful directions on the phone to find them to the time we left, we were well looked after. In fact we ended up staying a second night there.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather_OsborneHouse, Owner at Osborne House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 18, 2012
Thank-you very much for taking time to post a review. We do appreciate the feedback. We are pleased you found it relaxing to stay with us and decided to extend your visit for a further night. Our aim is to make our guests feel welcome and their stay a comfortable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballater hotels
6.0 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.3 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#3 of 4 in Ballater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Grand Vacations at Craigendarroch Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Gordon Guest House
The Gordon Guest House
#1 of 17 in Ballater
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auld Kirk Hotel
Auld Kirk Hotel
#3 of 17 in Ballater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.1 mi away
No 45
No 45
#6 of 17 in Ballater
5.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osborne House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osborne House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Osborne House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 4 Dundarroch Road, Ballater AB35 5NP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Ballater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ballater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Osborne House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Osborne House is a pretty, Victorian house set in a quiet spot close the centre of Ballater. There are two large double/twin bedrooms, both are en suite. There is a single room on the ground floor with its own private facilities. We offer a choice of delicious home-cooked breakfasts: salmon and scrambled eggs, muesli, fresh fruit and yoghurt, porridge and cream or our Aga-cooked hot breakfast with black pudding and bacon. All breakfasts are served with freshly ground coffee, fruit juice and home-baked bread. Guests can relax in the spacious drawing room where there is a television and open fire. Breakfast is served in the dining room which looks out onto the garden.You can be assured of a warm welcome at Osborne House, guests who arrive at tea-time are offered a complimentary slice of home-make cake or a flapjack and coffee and tea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Osborne House Bed And Breakfast Ballater, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing