We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One to recommend to my friends”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballater
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Osborne House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 17 Ballater B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2012

With only a telephone number to go by, we booked a nights stay an hour or so before arriving at the house whilst on a recent tour of Scotland, and it was a gem of a find. From giving us helpful directions on the phone to find them to the time we left, we were well looked after. In fact we ended up staying a second night there.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather_OsborneHouse, Owner at Osborne House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2012

Thank-you very much for taking time to post a review. We do appreciate the feedback. We are pleased you found it relaxing to stay with us and decided to extend your visit for a further night. Our aim is to make our guests feel welcome and their stay a comfortable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 114 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2011

Stayed one night recently with my brother and sister in law. Everything was' first class '. Wonderful hosts, rooms and breakfast.We'll be back! Thankyou.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolyn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald_OsborneHouse, Owners' Son at Osborne House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2011

Thanks very much for posting your review. We really appreciate the feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Osborne House, and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for one night during our Scotland vacation and came away impressed. We stayed in a room with two single beds and an ensuite bathroom. The bathroom is split into 2 rooms with the shower in one room and the sink and toilet in another. Both rooms are spotless and the water pressure was fantastic. The only suggestion I would make would be to add some type of rack in the shower so you don't have to place your toiletries on the shower floor. The bedroom itself was large, clean, with comfortable beds and linens. Heather also leaves water and some tasty shortbread treats to snack on. When we told Heather her restaurant suggestion didn't quite work out as hoped, she insisted we join her, Neil and the other guests for apple cake in the kitchen. It was very thoughtful not to mention delicious. The breakfast was also good and served in a very nice dining room. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and Neil & Heather's hospitality.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NQMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald_OsborneHouse, Owners' son at Osborne House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2011

Thanks for taking time to post a review. We appreciate the feedback, especially the suggestion about the shower rack. It's really helpful for us to hear about the little improvements we can make; it should be simple to get something suitable for this. We're sorry that the evening meal recommendation didn't work out. We have have always enjoyed that restaurant, but we'll bear your comments in mind for future recommendations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

My friend and myself arrived after a day of cycling in the rain over the mountains to get Ballater. We arrived to a very warm and friendly welcome from Neil. The house is stunning and our room was perfect. Our breakfast in the morning was first class and set in a stunning dining room overlooking the garden.

I will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald_OsborneHouse, Owners' son at Osborne House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2011

Thanks for taking time to post your review. We are always pleased to get feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and the view of the garden from the dining room. With any luck the weather will be better on your next visit, and you can take breakfast on the verandah.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Two Australian couples travelling around Scotland by car,stumbled by chance on this little gem. Neil and Heather had only been open for 10 weeks when we arrived at their lovely home. They welcomed us into their home and beautiful garden. Thank you so much for your thoughtfulness on guest's needs.Lesley C

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald_OsborneHouse, Owners' son at Osborne House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2011

Thanks for posting your positive review. We have been busy for our first ten weeks; we have really enjoyed our new business and having so many pleasant and interesting guests. We really appreciate the feedback and are encouraged that we heading in the right direction with the B&B at Osborne House. We're glad you enjoyed your trip to Scotland all the way from Australia; we very much look forward to seeing you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

When you read such great reviews about a place on Trip advisor you assume that they have been posted by the owners but I have to say that my stay in Osborne house was lovely.

Spent one night there last weekend and it was an absolute pleasure. The bedroom was cozy with fantastic beds and at night it was silent. The double doors into the bedroom via the toilet and shower room entrance meant that you couldnt hear a thing in the rest of the house. The breakfast on Sunday morning was an Aga cooked treat and they even catered for my gluten free diet after only mentioning it is passing once.

Heather and Neil are so relaxed and at ease in running the place you would think they have been doing it for years when in fact its only a fewe months. The lounge area was comfy and the garden was gorgeous. Heather and Neil have a wealth of knowledge about the area with good advice for walks to enjoy the autumn colours and are happy to chat or leave you in peace depending how you feel. With only two rooms and another single if required the place is not too busy and due to its size you feel like the only people there.

All in all the stay was brilliant and I would thoroughly recommend Osborne house if you are looking for a quiet, relaxed and comfortable stay and a base to Explore Deeside.

Head there now and get the best out of the changing trees.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper take the East bedroom, pure silence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald_OsborneHouse, Owners' son at Osborne House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2011

Thanks for taking time to post a review. We're glad you enjoyed the tranquility of our location; it is lovely and quiet away from the main road. We were pleased to cater for your gluten-free diet, and glad you enjoyed the breakfast. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Heather and Neil may only have been doing B&B for a few months but you wouldn't know it. From the warm welcome; the tea and home bakes in the lounge; the excellent breakfast; and general "feel good" atmosphere about Osborne House, one would think they were seasoned professionals.

The ensuite room was very comfortable and well appointed and we appreciated the fresh milk and lemon water provided with the tea/coffee tray.

Havng arrived very wet after cycling to Ballater, the use of the garage for our bikes and drying facilities were also very welcome.

Breakfast was excellent - delicious porridge with cream and lovely scrambled eggs to mention but two of the selection available.

Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald_OsborneHouse, Owners' son at Osborne House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2011

Thanks for taking time to post a review; we really appreciate the feedback. It's a shame the weather had been so wet, but no trouble to store the bikes and use the boiler room and drier. We're glad you enjoyed the breakfast. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballater hotels
0.3 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#2 of 4 in Ballater
655 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gordon Guest House
The Gordon Guest House
#1 of 17 in Ballater
463 reviews
0 mi away
No 45
No 45
#2 of 17 in Ballater
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Glendavan House
Glendavan House
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Morven Lodge
Morven Lodge
#6 of 17 in Ballater
30 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glen Lui Hotel
Glen Lui Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ballater
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osborne House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osborne House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4 Dundarroch Road, Ballater AB35 5NP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Ballater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ballater
Price Range: $52 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Osborne House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Osborne House is a pretty, Victorian house set in a quiet spot close the centre of Ballater. There are two large double/twin bedrooms, both are en suite. There is a single room on the ground floor with its own private facilities. We offer a choice of delicious home-cooked breakfasts: salmon and scrambled eggs, muesli, fresh fruit and yoghurt, porridge and cream or our Aga-cooked hot breakfast with black pudding and bacon. All breakfasts are served with freshly ground coffee, fruit juice and home-baked bread. Guests can relax in the spacious drawing room where there is a television and open fire. Breakfast is served in the dining room which looks out onto the garden.You can be assured of a warm welcome at Osborne House, guests who arrive at tea-time are offered a complimentary slice of home-make cake or a flapjack and coffee and tea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Osborne House Bed And Breakfast Ballater, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing