We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good honest food”

Alexandra Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 32 Restaurants in Ballater
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Took the short journey from our home in Aboyne up to Ballater for tea. Went to the Alexander Hotel after perusing a few other establishments in Ballater. Good honest food, with nothing fancy for fancy's sake! Had a steak which was cooked to perfection and accompanied by giant chips and massive onion rings. Kids shared a 10" pizza and both plates were empty when we left. Drinks were reasonably priced considering it was a hotel. Was served in a small room which was nice and cosy. All in was less than £50 too so great value. Will definitely be going back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richiejwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alan m, Owner at Alexandra Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Hi Richie everyone here is really pleased with your review thank you very much. You have picked up on exactly what we are about here at the Alexandra. Good honest food, reasonably priced and friendly service. We look forward to your next visit. Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

206 - 210 of 261 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

Good food good service good location resanable prices. We were two couples and eated differnt dishes. Even taht it was not to many peoples we received very friendly service. Thanks

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JacobBrussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Ballater is not the gastronomic hub I had a (false) memory of. With limited options we tried the Alexandra. I must say that I had one of the best pints I've had in a while (Trade Winds - a local brew) and the service was very friendly. My steak however was anaemic, almost grey, and tasteless. Chips not great. My wife and daughter declared themselves satisfied (Lasagna and pizza respectively). BY all means, drop by for a pint, but keep going in search of food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TheBunnetGull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alan m, Owner at Alexandra Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear The BunnetGull,
I am so sorry you didn't enjoy your steak with us on your recent visit, as you can see with our other reviews this is definitely not normally the case. We get our beef from a leading supplier and almost all our comments are wholly positive about the Gourmet chips. We can only rectify any problems at the time and had we known there was a problem we would have rectified it immediately.
I am glad your family enjoyed their meals and that you did at least enjoy the beer. Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Excellent food, great beer and wines, first class service. Fair prices too. Only slight downer is that they stop serving food at 8.30 but that seems to be the norm in this sleepy area!

Thank fotowizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alan m, Owner at Alexandra Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear fotowizz,
Thankyou for your kind review. We always try to give good value and we are pleased that you enjoyed your visit. As of May day weekend we serve until 9pm.Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Good Traditional food, very friendly staff.
Had a beef roast and there was nothing to improve.
No bells or whistles, just good food

Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alan m, Owner at Alexandra Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Hi Thomas S, Thank you for your review of your recent visit with us at the Alexandra. Your review encapsulates everything we are about. Good food served in a warm and friendly atmosphere. I hope to see you again on your next visit. Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alexandra Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Ballater, Aberdeenshire
Ballater, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Alexandra Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing