We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton Grand Vacations Club at Craigendarroch Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Have just come from a week stay in the lodges, enjoyed the stay ,but if you want clean towels during your stay you have to pay extra for them.storage heaters kept upstairs warm but downstairs was quite cold.Downstairs bathroom had only a hand held shower in the bath,not easy to get a good shower.Electric is charged extra and is expensive could heat and light my home for a month for what a week cost. Ross ,Glenrothes

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rossiepossie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (677)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 677 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were invited by my parents who had exchanged their foreign week for something different. Having visited Craigendarroch 25 years ago it was interesting to note the differences or perhaps things that had remained, unchanged and old fashioned. Firstly Lighting, installed in the 80's this already out of date 70's lighting is dreadful, lights in wrong position, too high above the table and not centered etc, using up too much energy in this modern age is not good. Get a good lighting designer and the energy savings could pay for the new fittings. I can recommend one. The heating is a bit wild and difficult to use, too hot, too cold, however I can understand this as it is storage heaters, which if you are not used to is difficult to regulate .
The mattresses are covered in some protective material which made for a very unpleasant and uncomfortable sleep. It was clean enough, however had to leave not about the rear of bathroom doors which were dirty.

Good points, staff, location and food. Stunning watched the red squirrels from the window, it is gorgeous, but with maintenance costs, electricity costs of £77 on top, its not a cheap week and there are standards to maintain.

Lastly, there is a scary abundance of 'no pets' signs. We were let down at last minute by our dog sitters and although we had no intention of taking our dogs into the property, we keep them in their cage in the car, we had to drive off regularly to walk our dogs outwith the resort. Why? As responsible dog owners we respect rules, but a ban, it was a bit much and spent less time on the resort than we planned due to this. Might go back if the dogs were allowed to walk about on the resort. Maybe I am just fussy, but I have experienced all standards of accommodation, from caravanning to Skibo Castle. I appreciate each for what they are. We are also owners of Self Catering elsewhere in Scotland so know what we need to provide.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gobbsmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We have a timeshare at the Craigendarroch over New Year and we absolutely love it. The hotel is great and the staff are always really friendly especially English Martin in the bar! Balllater is a really beautiful place to visit and we hope to visiting here for many years to come. We are looking forward to seeing all of the upcoming improvements at the hotel. There is plenty to do in the area and you might even be lucky enough to see the Queen!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FergusGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The only lodge available at New Year was a studio, which we had booked for a week as an exchange through our timeshare holiday company. Unfortunately, the heating was provided by storage heaters and, as my husband has a heart condition, they did not generate enough heat to keep him warm. The bed was housed in the wall and was a small double, which we were not comfortable in. After two nights we came home. The festivities at new year were first class and the food was excellent and I would recommend this location but not a studio lodge, unless you are young and fit. We are at the other end of the age scale and it just wasn't suitable for us. The area is stunning and Ballater is a lovely village and only a few miles from Balmoral Castle and the drive through the Cairngorm mountains is breathtaking.The hotel is to be demolished and replaced by executive holiday apartments and, because the existing lodges are all owned, I would imagine it would be difficult for "joe public" to book holiday accommodation in future.

Room Tip: Accommodation consists of lodges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chessin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We have been frequent visitors to the Craigendarroch Resort over the last 24 years. We stay in one of the many lodges in the grounds which are amongst the best of their type outside the USA. Americans who visit self catering establishments in Europe must think that they have only got a closet compared with what can be had back home. But here the accommodation is of the highest standard and well maintained. Lots of facilities on site, Ballater is down the road and a destination of worth in it's own right. Strath Dee makes a transition from the City of Aberdeen to the east, through rolling countryside into the Grampain Highlands and Craigendarroch is well placed to esplore the lot! The lodges themselves make an excellent home from home, with views and fresh Highland air that have to be experienced to be fully appreciated.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Prestwood_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Been here 3 times now, staying in one of the lodges. Delightful area, near to the River Dee, Aviemore and Balmoral. Fresh air is intoxicating too.

Beautiful grounds, excellent lodges. well fitted out and clean with great balconies overlooking the Scottish hills. Tranquil and relaxing.

Only slight downside for us really is the relatively limited restaurants. One is nice but a bit overpriced, the bar is OK but a little basic and the one "in between" restaurant gives priority to hotel guests over lodge guests so we have never managed to try it!

Still, there are a fair number of decent places to eat in the Ballater area and you can always use the excellent local chippie and take it back to the lodge. I wouldn't let this put me off returning this year.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fotowizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We've just returned to Oxfordshire (although I am a native Scot) from a 5 night stay at Craigendarroch. My 8 year old daughter and I stayed at half term in feb 2012 hoping for a bit of skiing (which we managed - just) and had such a great time we wanted to come back with mum for New Year. We stayed in a family room with bunk beds "round the corner", got a terrrific DB&B deal (which included the hogmanay dinner & entertainment) and all in all enjoyed a terrific time all 5 days. Sure, there were the odd things (some kids being a bit boisterous in the corriders on a couple of nights, but if you've got teenage kids, you will understand how/why this happens). Also, although the Hogmanay dinner dance was great (the two piece band were very, very good), the project manager who arranged the seating must have done so with children in mind, as we literally had to throw our bread rolls to each other in order to pass them the length of the table - no room between tables! It took three complaints from me before some (not all) of the tables that were too close were moved. It didn't really detract that much from our stay though, but it was something so basic that it shouldn't really have occurred in the first place. The food (fantastic buffet night one, sit down hogmanay dinner night two, oaks table d'ote restaurant night three on New years day, Italian buffet in Club House restaurant night four and finally 3 course steak night in the Club House restaurant on night five were all great - pilled on the pounds unfortunately - all of this inclusive in our DB&B rate. Great value. The service in the club house restaurant was occasionally a bit off (waited 25 mins for cheese board after our other dessert was served on our last night), but when you made it known there was an issue, they immediately sought to make amends, which was good. We are very disappointed that it is changing to be suite/resort based. Have they done their homework? Currently you can do the lodge thing, or the hotel thing if you want. Next year (this year), you won't have that choice and this grand old hotel will no longer be availble to those of us wanting to have a stay in such - very disappointing, because we would certainly have come again. The welcome meeting, the fantastic christmas tree, the Festive activities and entertainment, the old building, the swimming pools and spa, the staff, the food, the atmosphere - all made our stay really memorable.

Room Tip: Family rooms on the third floor (45, 46 ,47, 48 etc,,,,) are all well positioned to be away from any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BryceW359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballater
9.5 mi away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
292 reviews
6.2 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
376 reviews
0.8 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#2 of 4 in Ballater
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Dalmunzie Castle
Dalmunzie Castle
#1 of 1 in Spittal of Glenshee
409 reviews
13.3 mi away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
205 reviews
13.3 mi away
The Invercauld Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Grand Vacations Club at Craigendarroch Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Grand Vacations Club at Craigendarroch Lodges

Address: At Craigendarroch Lodges Braemar Road, Ballater AB35 5XA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Ballater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Ballater
Price Range: $133 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Grand Vacations Club at Craigendarroch Lodges 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Grand Vacations at Craigendarroch is a beautiful resort in Royal Deeside. It boasts 32 newly developed luxury timeshare suites along with it's existing 99 lodges set within the grounds, the Keiller Brasserie and Lounge offering a fantastic range of frshly produced and local menu items, an indoor lagoon pool, LivingWell Health Club and The House Spa. The resort also includes indoor games room and squash court together with outdoor play park and tennis courts providing activities for all the family. The resort is perfectly located for walkers and hikers to take in the beautiful surrounding scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Grand Vacations Club at Craigendarroch Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Craigendarroch Hotel Ballater
Hilton Hotel Craigendarroch
Hilton Hotel Ballater
Hilton Ballater
Ballater Hilton
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At Craigendarroch Lodges Ballater, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing