We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Balmoral Castle
from $320.50
More Info
from $64.36
More Info
from $3,860.14
More Info
Reviews (1,340)
Filter reviews
1,340 results
Traveler rating
530
376
248
118
68
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
530
376
248
118
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviews audio tour open to the public grounds are beautiful royal residence limited access queen victoria ticket office her majesty gift shop land rover ball room summer home private home worth a visit summer residence lovely visit red squirrels
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 1,340 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2018 via mobile

Many other castles are probably better to visit, but you must go see the Queen's, if only from the outside. They were getting it ready as it's time for her vacation on the 31st. Only one room open with pictures and Christmas cards of the Queen's over the past 66 years. Beautiful gardens with much lavender and fresh squash was just picked the day I visited.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank MIZT13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrymarsden, Manager at Balmoral Castle, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2018

Hello and thank you for your lovely 4 star review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Balmoral.

Kind Regards
Garry Marsden
Visitor Enterprise Manage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2018 via mobile

There is so little that you can see- just some knick knacks displayed in cases in the ballroom.
Cafeteria is grossly overpriced- £6.95 for a baked potato.
Gardens are lovely

Date of experience: July 2018
2  Thank SandraK142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrymarsden, Manager at Balmoral Castle, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2018

Hello and many thanks for your review.

The reason only one room is open in the Castle is that Balmoral is the Scottish home to the British Royal family and the remainder of the Castle is Her Majesty's private residence. We do state this in our leaflet and on our web site.

At Balmoral we do include in the admission an Audio Guide in a number of languages, exhibitions in the stable block including our "Land Rover, 70 years in the making" exhibition, history and wildlife displays along with an audio visual introduction to the estate. The production and amenity gardens are included as are the way marked walks and trails that take in some of the many monuments and cairns erected since Queen Victoria and Prince Albert purchased the estate in 1852.
Car parking is also free and we provide transport from the car parks to the main site.


Kind Regards
Garry Marsden
Visitor Enterprise Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2018

What a beautiful place. It is no wonder that the Royal Family love it here - the scenery is breathtaking.

We were lucky enough to be able to enjoy the Land Rover Safari which was fantastic. Initially it would appear a bit pricey however when you consider that it takes three hours and you get to see bits of the estate which you wouldn't otherwise see, it is worth every penny. Our guide George was very personable and knowledgeable and gave a wonderful insight into the running of the Estate. The Discovery was very comfortable. We saw the family's picnic spots, beautiful hills, roe deer and grouse.

Had a pleasant lunch afterwards in the cafe then spent the afternoon wandering around the beautiful gardens with the audio tour.

Great day out.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank LyndsayS119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrymarsden, Manager at Balmoral Castle, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2018

Hello and thank you for your lovely 5 star review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Balmoral.

Kind Regards
Garry Marsden
Visitor Enterprise Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2018

I’m a bit of a fan of the Royal Family and followed Victoria/Albert but found Balmoral rather uneventful. Beautiful landscape getting there and it’s just rather a large park..but not much to see. The only part of the castle you can see is a ballroom that is rather old and beatened up and cannot believe was really a ballroom. The cafe there was nice, food was good, had a ridiculously large ham salad and enjoyable. But if you are trying to figure out how to spend your time and have other options, I’d pick the other option. It happened to be a stop on our way north to speyside area but...was great to stretch our legs and walk around and that is it,

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank keirenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrymarsden, Manager at Balmoral Castle, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2018

Hello and many thanks for your review.

The reason only one room is open in the Castle is that Balmoral is the Scottish home to the British Royal family and the remainder of the Castle is Her Majesty's private residence. We do state this in our leaflet and on our web site.

At Balmoral we do include in the admission an Audio Guide in a number of languages, exhibitions in the stable block including our "Land Rover, 70 years in the making" exhibition, history and wildlife displays along with an audio visual introduction to the estate. The production and amenity gardens are included as are the way marked walks and trails that take in some of the many monuments and cairns erected since Queen Victoria and Prince Albert purchased the estate in 1852.
Car parking is also free and we provide transport from the car parks to the main site.


Kind Regards
Garry Marsden
Visitor Enterprise Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2018 via mobile

The grounds are so well kept a pleasure to walk around. Also went into the ballroom. Totally dog friendly. Good outdoor area to sit and have a a drink and a meal. The Castle, setting and gardens are stunning. A decent walk up from the gate however there is a bus runs to take people (and dogs) if they wish. Plenty of space to sit in the grounds and to have a good walk.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank 625gailr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrymarsden, Manager at Balmoral Castle, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2018

Hello and thank you for your lovely 5 star review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Balmoral.

Kind Regards
Garry Marsden
Visitor Enterprise Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews