We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good a place as we`ve stayed .”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Auld Kirk Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Auld Kirk Hotel
Ranked #5 of 17 Ballater B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“As good a place as we`ve stayed .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

This is a fantastic place to stay . The design and quality of the interior is 1st class . The service is refreshingly welcoming , and the quality and choice for breakfast is superb . 5 stars from me . Highly recommended .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    33
    12
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
61
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Superb staff - both the owners as restaurant staff was very friendly & helpful
brilliant breakfast - high quality breakfast menu, including a full scottish breakfast
great location - authentic building in beautiful town
stunning surroundings - great walks and bike tours
modern & comfortable rooms - high standards for beds and bathrooms

All for a very reasonable price!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sander M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Was directed to this absolutely delightful B&B because I couldn't get a hotel in Aberdeen. I couldn't believe my luck ! The Auld Kirk is a converted church which has been finished to a very high standard. Almost everything you would expect from a higher class hotel is provided at a much more realistic cost. The staff were extremely attentive and couldn't be more helpful. The rooms are tastefully done and very comfortable and the bathrooms are finished to a very high standard. The bar area is very cosy and intimate. However, the crowning glory must be the dining room ! Housed in an ante-room of the original church, the owners have made the most of the architectural features with vaulted ceilings, chandeliers, uplighters.....fantastic ! I will definitely be back !!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigalmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last night as a break away from home , was lovely , very clean and comfortable . Breakfast was excellent . Very friendly welcome and great staff . We had tea at the Alexandra Hotel which was good value and huge portions . We hopefully will be back to visit both .

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWhites16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed for 1 heavenly night at Auld Kirk, the room was perfect in every way with great views. the service and staff where brilliant then we had breakfast and wow what a breakfast we did not have to eat the rest of the day. Will be back keep up the good work up!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed once again for Victoria week at the Old Kirk, the room was perfect for our needs with a wonderful view. The service from the staff was second to none, they could not have done more to make our stay perfect. The central position of the hotel could not be better and easy walking distance for everything Ballater can offer. I had a full Scottish breakfast every day, was not intending to but could not resist them especially the haggis and black pudding, but my wife enjoyed the butteries. We really enjoyed our stay and have booked again for next year.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but owners are already starting a refurbishment to keep the standards high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Spent 1 night in Room 2. Room was very clean and nicely presented but we found a 'bug' on the pillow on turning down the bedclothes. Showed it to the owners who were ambivalent to say the least- "What would you like me to do about it" and "Well, it is summer and the windows were open earlier"!!! No apology at any point.
The wall between Rooms 1&2 was so thin that we could hear the man next door snoring. When he made a late night phone call we could hear him and the person on the other end of the line!
None of this seemed to matter though, as the owners were not around at breakfast so no-one asked what kind of night we had!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MandT432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterBallater, Owner at Auld Kirk Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
We believe this review is unfair and unreasonable. As it claims that the owners of the Auld Kirk have an ambivalent attitude towards their guests, we feel the need to respond.

This lady appeared at reception in a state of significant agitation, late at night, together with her partner. She was holding a pillow with an insect trapped under a glass, adamant that she had trapped a bed bug. On inspection the insect was in fact one of the many small winged insects prevalent in the Highlands at the height of summer.

We then attempted to reassure this lady that this was a harmless insect that probably flew through an open window and that it was the wrong size, colour and shape to be a bed bug. The lady became more strident in her view dismissing all argument as incorrect, stating that she was absolutely sure it was a bed bug based upon her having seen an episode of embarrassing bodies on television.

Having spent over 10 minutes reassuring her about our cleaning regimes, pest control policies, the presence of insect traps throughout the building and our staffs vigilance for signs of pests during daily cleaning she remained unhappy.

Eventually we were able to gain her agreement that bed bugs do not have wings. It was therefore necessary to dispatch the poor creature in order to clearly identify the presence of wings. Having clearly exposed the wings this lady admitted that she was in fact unable to see the wings, the insect or indeed anything of that size clearly as she did not have her glasses. We therefore loaned this lady a pair of reading glasses which enabled her to see the insect complete with wings.

This lady remained clearly stressed. As we were full that evening we could not offer the lady a change of room but we did offer to strip her bed and replace all of the bedding with clean linen. She declined this offer informing us that she fully intended to strip the bed anyway as a part of her ''routine spider check''. We did ask this lady if there was anything else she would like us to do and she said no. We therefore believed that her issue had been resolved.

In respect of the ''paper thin walls'' , the rooms are separated by walls of standard construction and meet building and fire regulations for hotel premises. Whilst it may be possible that this lady did hear the guest in the next room if he were speaking very loudly, her belief that she could actually hear the person with whom he was having a telephone conversation is remarkable.

The following morning this lady was cared for at breakfast by our experienced and very competent front of house manager who has exceptional customer care skills. Both owners were on duty in the kitchen preparing breakfast. As this lady checked out within minutes of leaving the breakfast room there was no opportunity for the owners to speak with her casually as other guests breakfasts were being prepared.

It is our policy to ask all guests about their stay on check out. Our manager believes that she did this as a matter of routine and is sure that no comments were made about the insect or any noise disturbance. Had any issue of dissatisfaction been raised at check out our manager would have ensured that one of the owners was called to speak to this guest.

The whole team at The Auld Kirk care very much about the service we provide and try very hard to make our guests experience pleasurable. Unfotunately there may be some occasions when things over which we have no control affect a guests enjoyment, but on these rare occasions we will always do whatever we can to help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballater
5.9 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#3 of 4 in Ballater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Grand Vacations at Craigendarroch Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
14.1 mi away
Moorfield House Hotel
Moorfield House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Braemar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Gordon Guest House
The Gordon Guest House
#1 of 17 in Ballater
5.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auld Kirk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auld Kirk Hotel

Property: Auld Kirk Hotel
Address: 31 Braemar Road, Ballater AB35 5RQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Ballater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ballater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Auld Kirk Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auld Kirk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auld Kirk Hotel Ballater, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing