We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of Auld Kirk Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Auld Kirk Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Ballater B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed here as guests at a wedding in Ballater.

Our room was clean and spacious as was the bathroom. The hotel has been decorated nicely still keeping some of it's original features but still having a modern feel. East to find and plenty of space to park on street. Only 5 minute walk to all the shops.

Breakfast in the morning was good as was the service.

Overall, we had a great stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
There are newer reviews for Auld Kirk Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 146 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2012

Just a quick review. Stayed at the Auld Kirk whilst on business in Aberdeen (closest hotel we could find that was not full). Interesting and tasteful decor with a simpathetic conversion from its former use. Very friendly and efficient staff.
Sadly the restaurant was closed (mid November) but the breakfast provided was top class.

The hotel is on my list of ones to stay in next time my wife and I are in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ZebraDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We were skeptical at first, a church converted to a hotel? But were amazed at how tasteful this was done! The design was reverent to a church and modern to a home and the outcome was an amazing small hotel! Rooms were modern and bathrooms sleek with lots of modern features. Walking distance to shops and restaurants, but the restaurant at the hotel was superb! A truly beautiful, unique hotel! Great service and friendly staff, would love to come back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suehhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The facade and building itself look interesting,but the interior of room is rather opposite from the building, .. however we enjoyed the food and liked the interior design of the restaurant. Good service.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dznm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I have the feeling that we didn't fully appreciate the Auld Kirk since the restaurant (which is supposed to be quite good) is closed on Sundays and Mondays. Rated as a pure B&B, it is good, but less than outstanding. The facility is a converted church, which makes it a bit cumbersome for luggage handling. The rooms are clean, but plain and not so big. The breakfast is quite good.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheriffSantiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The hotel, as the name implies, is a converted church, which has been done with quality and taste. They describe themselves as a restaurant with rooms, which is probably downplaying the quality of the rooms, which were very good. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom modern and well appointed. The food was quite superb with a good and varied menu. The food is on the pricey side, but only in relation to where it is and is definitely worth it. The service was very friendly, helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I have been meaning to write a review for the Auld Kirk for some time, having stayed there just under a year ago. I arrived late at night with a colleague having travelled all day. The welcome was second to none! In spite of being past the time where last food orders would ordinarily be taken the staff could not have been more accommodating. We were shown to a fantastic restaurant where the chef and co owner produced a meal that was faultless. We were so impressed we ate in every night! The room was clean,comfortable and well appointed, but it's the staff that make it a gem in the highlands! I look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kentfarmerKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballater
6.0 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
364 reviews
0.3 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#2 of 4 in Ballater
627 reviews
13.6 mi away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
275 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glen Lui Hotel
Glen Lui Hotel
#8 of 17 in Ballater
129 reviews
0.1 mi away
No 45
No 45
#3 of 17 in Ballater
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auld Kirk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auld Kirk Hotel

Address: 31 Braemar Road, Ballater AB35 5RQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Ballater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ballater
Price Range: $48 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Auld Kirk Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very smart coffee lounge serving all home cooked produce, morning coffee, light lunches with salads and tasty pastries, seasonal soups. Afternoon teas are a speciality and are served from 2pm to 4pm with bookings essential. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Auld Kirk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auld Kirk Hotel Ballater, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing