We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, great service.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auld Kirk Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Auld Kirk Hotel
Ranked #5 of 17 Ballater B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great food, great service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

The hotel, as the name implies, is a converted church, which has been done with quality and taste. They describe themselves as a restaurant with rooms, which is probably downplaying the quality of the rooms, which were very good. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom modern and well appointed. The food was quite superb with a good and varied menu. The food is on the pricey side, but only in relation to where it is and is definitely worth it. The service was very friendly, helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    33
    12
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
61
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

I have been meaning to write a review for the Auld Kirk for some time, having stayed there just under a year ago. I arrived late at night with a colleague having travelled all day. The welcome was second to none! In spite of being past the time where last food orders would ordinarily be taken the staff could not have been more accommodating. We were shown to a fantastic restaurant where the chef and co owner produced a meal that was faultless. We were so impressed we ate in every night! The room was clean,comfortable and well appointed, but it's the staff that make it a gem in the highlands! I look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kentfarmerKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a superior room, beautifully made bed, lovely linens, gorgeous bathroom, robe, slippers, fruit bowl, plenty tea, coffee, milk and homemade shortbread.
The attention to detail was amazing.
We had dinner in their restaurant. - not to be missed.
The hard working blonde lady is a real gem.
Service was perfect, if any hotel wants to improve their standards this is the place to visit.
We will definitely be back.
Thank you.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank EvelynLeighProperty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boddam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

We had a lovely stay at this small hotel. First of all the 2 ladies that served us were wonderful. Louise and Lisa . The food in the restaurant was excellent - Best steak I've had in ages. My husband had the Halibut and he said it also excellent. Our breakfast was also of very high quality and not like your buffet in many hotels now a days it was piping hot !
the room was comfortable. Beautiful mountains and scenery - you must visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SojournerScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
264 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

We were most impressed by the quality of the food and service at the Spirit restaurant in the Auld Kirk Hotel. The central feature of the restaurant is a giant reproduction of the 'Spirit of Ecstasy' (as on the bonnet of your Rolls-Royce), which is a trifle bizarre and slightly over-powering. We assume that there is a good reason for the choice of decor, but couldn't find any rationale.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter3101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in October. The room was lovely, well furnished, decorated and clean. No view though - but want a big deal. If I was being picky, I'd say that looking forward to a shower under the big shower head was a disappointment due to the poor water pressure, but only a minor blip.
We had dinner from the shorten winter supper menu and partner and I both enjoyed, no complaints at all. All delicious. Breakfast was also good, but there was quite a long wait for it to arrive as all guests arrived for breakfast at more or less the same time.
Would definitely stay at the Auld Kirk again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

It may be called a hotel, but I've never been 'phoned by a hotel three times in a row to be asked the exact time of arrival. A half hour window was not acceptable as the duty manager "lived 5 minutes away and didn't want to hang around waiting for our arrival". We had planned to eat in the hotel restaurant as a birthday treat, but "we are closed Sunday, Monday and Tuesday". Ah well, a celebratory drink in the bar then? No, that was closed too. We were let into what appeared to be a closed hotel, lights off, everyone gone home. A weird experience.

The room was clean and comfortable; a nice touch was the bowl of fruit, bottled Deeside water and homemade shortbread. The breakfast was excellent with a choice of full Scottish, smoked haddock (with one egg, not the advertised two!) or omelette. However, the tariff is far too expensive - we could have had a welcoming on-site host at a local B&B for half the price. The Auld Kirk is more a concept than reality: once inside the room you would have no idea of the building's provenance.

We were determined to eat in the restaurant on our last evening (the only night it was open during our stay). The sample menu looked interesting, including the vegetarian option. However the day's veggie option "chickpeas in tomato sauce and rice" is the sort of mid-week quickly thrown-together meal I make. The chef retorted "that's all there is" and walked away! The "take it or leave it attitude" ensured we enjoyed a superb meal a few doors down at The Deeside Hotel!

On the morning of our departure, there were no staff available to return the key to. We had pre-paid so it didn't matter. I have never stayed in a place where the duty manager was also the waitress and cleaner. Perhaps there isn't an owner as such?! It would answer a lot of questions.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandPilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballater
5.9 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.3 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#3 of 4 in Ballater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Grand Vacations at Craigendarroch Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Gordon Guest House
The Gordon Guest House
#1 of 17 in Ballater
5.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.1 mi away
No 45
No 45
#6 of 17 in Ballater
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auld Kirk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auld Kirk Hotel

Property: Auld Kirk Hotel
Address: 31 Braemar Road, Ballater AB35 5RQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Ballater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ballater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Auld Kirk Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, HotelsClick and Despegar.com so you can book your Auld Kirk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auld Kirk Hotel Ballater, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing