We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect guest house for a short stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Netherley Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballater
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Netherley Guest House
Ranked #11 of 17 Ballater B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect guest house for a short stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this guest house on Saturday 21st September as we were attending a friends wedding nearby (and the local hotels were far far too expensive). We were made very welcome on our arrival and shown to our room which was more than ample for 1 night. The room had a double and single bed so ideal for families with 1 child. The room was exceptionally clean, the bed very very comfortable and had a digital television, tea/coffee making facilities and free wifi. The room was en-suite and the bathroom was very spacious and clean. The breakfast in the morning was lovely, everything cooked fresh to order and served by the very friendly Gordon. Should I ever need accommodation in Ballater again, I will most certainly be looking to stay at the Netherley guest house.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosserfobydobes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    22
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and were made very welcome by Gordon, who was extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. The location is in the middle of Ballater, so ideal for walking to restaurants etc, and parking was no problem as we were able to park right in front of the guest house. We would highly recommend this B & B and will stay here next time we are in Ballater.

Room Tip: Our room was on the top floor and suited us as it was nice and light - may not be good if people are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benna2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

excellent b and b centrally located great breakfast nice en suites friendly hosts, close to all things like pubs restaurants and mini supermarket, lovely residents lounge area to chillax in. stayed over in ballater as it was close proximity for a wedding at nearby glen tanar estate which itself is worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ackyscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

I liked the staircase from the main floor. I felt like a kid wanting to just run up and down. The bathroom was updated. It was like night and day compared to the room(green wallpaper), which was not horrible, just not updated. The hallway was darkish upstairs but it just added to the feel. It is a decent place to stay, and I would stay there again were I in Ballater. Cozy.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LanRobFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here for this year's Ballater Highland Games. The location is really good being pretty much in the centre of town and quite near to the field where the games were held. We booked the family room & it was on the top floor so getting all our luggage up there was a struggle. Once up there the room was clean & comfortable. The shower was outstanding - lots of water pressure! The breakfast was very good & came quickly when ordered.

I would have wished a better welcome though - the owner did not introduce herself nor did she show us around the house. And, unknown to us at the time of booking, but they do not accept credit cards so a trip to the bank was necessary.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank momxtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

stayed here when i was working at craigndaroch hilton. stayed in a few bnbs in the area but none come close to the netherley. great rooms great staff and a great breakfast. 5 stars. from the painters.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bradybo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Thank you Gordon & Jennifer for your great hospitality once again, as usual you made our stay such a pleasure. If you require any information on what's going on around Ballater just ask Gordon, with his wealth of information he will point you in the right direction. Their full Scottish breakfast cooked to perfection will start your day off superbly. So if your heading to Ballater then don't hesitate to book in to the Netherlea, you won't regret it

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiltyjeemy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballater
5.8 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#3 of 4 in Ballater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
14.3 mi away
Moorfield House Hotel
Moorfield House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Braemar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Gordon Guest House
The Gordon Guest House
#1 of 17 in Ballater
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glen Lui Hotel
Glen Lui Hotel
#9 of 17 in Ballater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Netherley Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Netherley Guest House

Property: Netherley Guest House
Address: 2 Netherly Place, Ballater AB35 5QE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Ballater
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ballater
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Netherley Guest House Ballater, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing