We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotless, Comfortable, Welcoming”

The Alexandra Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballater
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Alexandra Hotel
Ranked #11 of 17 Ballater B&B and Inns
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spotless, Comfortable, Welcoming”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My parents and I happened upon this delightful hotel having been booked into another place that was awful. My Dad found it via google.com. We were on a long distance bike cycle ride with my Mum as support driver. When we arrived at the Alexandra we were given a warm welcome and shown to our rooms, they were immaculate, and very comfortable. The restaurant / bar was excellent and the staff friendly and accomodating. We would highly reccommend this hotel to anyone wanting to explore the South or East Cairngorms and into Kincardinshire/Aberdeenshire.

Room Tip: There are double, twin, and single rooms all with similar amenities. My parents were in a twin and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alan m, Owner at The Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thankyou so much for your really positive review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Alexandra when you are next in Deeside. Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    27
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
43
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tobermory
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Great friendly pub with excellent food, very conveniently located for the shops and Ballater, we stayed around the corner in a self catering property only one minutes walk away. We had three meals during our stay all were fantastic, the staff are friendly and the sticky toffee pudding the best I have ever tasted. We certainly go back again. We stayed one night in the hotel in January and again everything was great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HyldaJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alan m, Owner at The Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It was lovely to see you again and to chat to your friend about my much loved orchids. We are delighted you enjoyed your evening meals and we elook forward to seeing on your next visit to Ballater. Our best wishes Fiona and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Went here for dinner having read the reviews on Trip Advisor. My wife and I both had the jumbo Fish and Chips and we were not disappointed. The fish was very well cooked and delicious and the jumbo chips were lovely. Could do with a larger pot of tartare sauce but other then that a lovely meal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RICHARD G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alan m, Owner at The Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hi Richard, Thankyou very much for taking the time to review your recent trip to the Alexandra. We are glad you enjoyed the fish and chips. We do try to listen our reviews and I have spoken to the girls in the kitchen and we are now doubling our homemade tartar sauce portion. I hope we see you again next time you are in Ballater. Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

We had one night here and it was perfect for a visit to Balmoral. Our rooms were clean and comfortable and all staff extremely friendly. Excellent fish and chips in the bar for dinner and perfect full Scottish breakfast. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alan m, Owner at The Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write your review, it was lovely to look after your family and delighted you enjoyed your stay here. I hope your daughters got glimpse of Nessie on your visit to Inverness. Kindest regards Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

9 of us arrived for dinner on a cold March Sunday late afternoon after a walk around Loch Muick, hadn't booked. Great food arrived quickly, hot, and all simultaneously. Delicious fish and chips. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Porteye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Just back from a two night stay at the Alexandra in beautiful Ballater and once again our expectations were surpassed. This place is so much more than a hotel, it's a home away from home for its guests. Alan, Fiona and Yvonne go out of their way to make everyone feel so very welcome. The pub, the rooms,the breakfasts, the dinners are all superb and tremendous value. We have also found ourselves falling in love with the village and surrounds as there is such a variety of activities in all seasons. Will be back late summer!

Room Tip: We have stayed in 3 rooms and they were all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alan m, Manager at The Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Don, it had been a long time since your last visit and delighted you were able to visit us again. We are all delighted you enjoyed your stay and felt at home. we all certainly enjoyed cuddling Eric and his brother and sister they are beautiful and very well behaved dogs. I know you enjoy snow so we were glad that we managed to get some for you during your stay. We look forward to your next visit and thank you for taking time write a review. Kindest regards Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WALES
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had supper here and it was unexpectedly very busy for a Tuesday evening in February! Full of locals which is always a good sign !
Fish was very fresh with great chunky chips. Veg and chick pea curry was very tasty. Real ale was lovely. Service was great.
Cannot comment on accommodation as we only ate here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SARAH_C_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alan m, Owner at The Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hi Sarah, thankyou very much for your positive review, Our fish and chips do get a lot of attention,but we are really pleased that you liked one of our vegetarian options as this year we are really trying to focus on offering tasty alternatives for vegetarians. Also glad you enjoyed the local ales and next time you are in the area please come and stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballater
0.1 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#3 of 4 in Ballater
599 reviews
5.7 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
352 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Grand Vacations at Craigendarroch Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
187 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Gordon Guest House
The Gordon Guest House
#1 of 17 in Ballater
454 reviews
0.5 mi away
Glen Lui Hotel
Glen Lui Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ballater
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexandra Hotel

Property: The Alexandra Hotel
Address: 12 Bridge Square, Ballater AB35 5QJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Ballater
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ballater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Alexandra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Royal Deeside we are one of the areas leading small hotels offering a warm welcome, friendly service and comfortable accommodation with excellent meals. Eight stylish bedrooms, each individually furnished and decorated, offering single, twin, double and family accommodation. All rooms are en-suite with direct dial telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, satellite television and other essential accessories including the personal touches. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Alexandra Hotel Ballater, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing