We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in all respects”

The Alexandra Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballater
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Alexandra Hotel
Ranked #11 of 17 Ballater B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Just back from a two night stay at the Alexandra in beautiful Ballater and once again our expectations were surpassed. This place is so much more than a hotel, it's a home away from home for its guests. Alan, Fiona and Yvonne go out of their way to make everyone feel so very welcome. The pub, the rooms,the breakfasts, the dinners are all superb and tremendous value. We have also found ourselves falling in love with the village and surrounds as there is such a variety of activities in all seasons. Will be back late summer!

Room Tip: We have stayed in 3 rooms and they were all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alan m, Manager at The Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Dear Don, it had been a long time since your last visit and delighted you were able to visit us again. We are all delighted you enjoyed your stay and felt at home. we all certainly enjoyed cuddling Eric and his brother and sister they are beautiful and very well behaved dogs. I know you enjoy snow so we were glad that we managed to get some for you during your stay. We look forward to your next visit and thank you for taking time write a review. Kindest regards Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 97 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had supper here and it was unexpectedly very busy for a Tuesday evening in February! Full of locals which is always a good sign !
Fish was very fresh with great chunky chips. Veg and chick pea curry was very tasty. Real ale was lovely. Service was great.
Cannot comment on accommodation as we only ate here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SARAH_C_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alan m, Owner at The Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Hi Sarah, thankyou very much for your positive review, Our fish and chips do get a lot of attention,but we are really pleased that you liked one of our vegetarian options as this year we are really trying to focus on offering tasty alternatives for vegetarians. Also glad you enjoyed the local ales and next time you are in the area please come and stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had an excellent stay here. Lovely food, with magical chips and really fresh fish, combine this with a selection of real ales in the bar along with the friendly staff and you have a combination that many more expensive hotels would die for. First class all round.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosa247woof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alan m, Owner at The Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thankyou very much for your kind review, We are pleased you enjoyed your Fish and Chips and were able to enjoy one or two of our local ales. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

On the way back to Aberdeen after a day of "Scottish winter sports" in Glenshee we decided to stop for something to eat and ended up stopping at "The Alexandra" in Ballater. The food was very good and they staff were very very friendly. I will definitely stop there again whenever I will have the chance.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BBocaneala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I ate at the Alexandra Hotel several times this year and every time was excellent. The food is great, home cooked and large portions. I love their fish and chips, lasagne and steak and ale pie. I also sent numerous people from the B&B I worked in there and every single person commented on the great food and great welcome. I often ate there alone and felt completely looked after and comfortable. All the staff are excellent in this family run hotel. Some great real ales too.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
Thank Suzy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Just returned from a 3 night break at 'The Alexandra' and had an excellent time. Fiona and her team are so friendly and welcoming and cannot do enough for you. It is a cosy comfortable inn, with a small but busy bar with a mix of locals and visitors. Real ales from Cairngorm Brewery which my husband really enjoyed! Food is good quality 'pub food' and fish and chips were fantastic.
The rooms are comfortable and very clean, nice shortbread biscuits and complimentary bottled water are a nice touch and towels changed daily. Yes the bathrooms could do with an update but we had a good shower and everything we needed. For the price it is great value.
Breakfast was excellent quality with a varied choice.
Ballater is a lovely base for touring this beautiful part of Scotland. There are a variety of places to eat and drink but if you are planning a trip and like to stay in an inn, please try 'The Alexandra'. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Room 5 at the back is comfortable and quieter than those on the front of Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Horton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stopped in the Alexandra for our mid-day meal and enjoyed a terrific pub lunch outside. Our choices proved to be great - lasagna and haddock and chips, in particular. The fish portion was huge so I was able to give everyone a taste. De-lish. Our friendly waitress said it was the best in the village - I would go broader than that! Service was not the fastest but it was a beautiful day and our first on the road after the flight over so there was much to enjoy at the Alexandra, in Ballater.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballater
0.1 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#2 of 4 in Ballater
655 reviews
9.3 mi away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
298 reviews
5.7 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Gordon Guest House
The Gordon Guest House
#1 of 17 in Ballater
463 reviews
0.5 mi away
Glen Lui Hotel
Glen Lui Hotel
#6 of 17 in Ballater
137 reviews
0.5 mi away
No 45
No 45
#2 of 17 in Ballater
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexandra Hotel

Address: 12 Bridge Square, Ballater AB35 5QJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Ballater
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ballater
Price Range: $35 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Alexandra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Royal Deeside we are one of the areas leading small hotels offering a warm welcome, friendly service and comfortable accommodation with excellent meals. Eight stylish bedrooms, each individually furnished and decorated, offering single, twin, double and family accommodation. All rooms are en-suite with direct dial telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, satellite television and other essential accessories including the personal touches. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Alexandra Hotel Ballater, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing