We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality and so obliging!”

The Alexandra Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballater
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Alexandra Hotel
Ranked #11 of 17 Ballater B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights as part of a few days walking in nearby Glenshee and Lochnagar. After a tough day of munro bagging in torrential rain, we were drenched right through to the skin. I asked the owner if they had a drying room and she very kindly said she would put our wet dirty gear into the washing machine and tumble dry in readiness for our next walk the following day.
The rooms and beds were very comfortable and the nicely appointed bathroom and shower was just what the Doctor ordered after a tought day hiking.
The food was fantastic and of excellent quality. Very good portions washed down with a couple of local beers in the comfortable and homely bar was just great. All provided with a smile and friendly chat from the lovely family that own the hotel.
Breakfast too was of a similar standard you would get at many of Scotland's 4 or 5 star hotels. We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pentland1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 97 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2011

This is a great place to stay with great food, very friendly and helpful staff and very welcoming.
The rooms are clean and comfortable with great views.
We would reccomend The Alexandra to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike7366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

Very friendly staff,excellent food very comfortable room,wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anybody. ps Biker friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patrick1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to anyone. Everyone was very friendly and even our somewhat wet dog was made very welcome. The room was comfortable, the breakfast and evening meal was great on both days of our stay.
Prices were very reasonable too so we were more than happy.
One observation I would make is I would prefer a little music at breakfast. I hate sitting in deathly silent resteraunts.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clodhopper2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We live in the village of Ballater. This is by far the best place to eat with the family. The food is first class and the portions are more than generous. The owners are very welcoming and make the children feel at home. Very important!! In some places children are an inconvenience, not here though.
The Alexandra is home cooking at it's best. Delighted that this lovely family can provide not only a wonderful friendly service but excellent food too. If I had one little criticism, it's a bit pricey for us to be able to afford to eat here as often as we would like. But as the old saying goes......"You get what you pay for". If you dine here you won't be disappointed! Can't wait for our next meal here!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peachyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Stopped in here for dinner tonight with a friend. We were both totally impressed with the restaurant. Very classy and contemporary. Ideal number of tables perfectly laid out so you didn't feel as if you were dining with everyone or taking part in their conversations. Attention to detail was amazing. From the real plants on the table to wine being topped up as necessary by the staff. But the best has yet to come the food was truely excellent! Beautifully presented on the plates both starters and mains were delicious with the perfect seasoning. Everything was fresh and local and cooked to order. Will definitely be back. A truely astonishing find suitable for dinner with friends or even a romantic meal. Well done excellent service in lovely surroundings. If only all service was this good

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazlou1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

We did not stay at hotel, but eat at bar. First night in Ballater (Saturday), every place was booked, but we found a table for two in the corner of the bar. People were friendly but food was not very good. Best I can say is large portion.

Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank RobReno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alan044, Owner at The Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2011

We are very sorry to see you did not enjoy your recent meal with us. We are always trying to improve, so positive feedback from guests is always welcome. We are pleased you found the hotel to be friendly as this is something we continue to be complimented on. Our Bar meals are very popular and as the previous review states we serve "Good home cooking" . I hope the next time you are in Ballater you can pop in and hopefully enjoy a meal with us at the Alexandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballater
0.1 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#2 of 4 in Ballater
655 reviews
9.3 mi away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
298 reviews
5.7 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Gordon Guest House
The Gordon Guest House
#1 of 17 in Ballater
463 reviews
0.5 mi away
Glen Lui Hotel
Glen Lui Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ballater
136 reviews
0.5 mi away
No 45
No 45
#2 of 17 in Ballater
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexandra Hotel

Address: 12 Bridge Square, Ballater AB35 5QJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Ballater
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ballater
Price Range: $35 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Alexandra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Royal Deeside we are one of the areas leading small hotels offering a warm welcome, friendly service and comfortable accommodation with excellent meals. Eight stylish bedrooms, each individually furnished and decorated, offering single, twin, double and family accommodation. All rooms are en-suite with direct dial telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, satellite television and other essential accessories including the personal touches. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Alexandra Hotel Ballater, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing