We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tremendous staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glen Lui Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Glen Lui Hotel
Ranked #9 of 17 Ballater B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Forres, United Kingdom
1 review
“Tremendous staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

We only had one night in the hotel but would have enjoyed more! The staff were excellent, the food was excellent. Only minor gripe - "superior" double room was a bit of an exaggeration! Still, that didn't spoil our stay one bit. Many thanks.

Alan & Jean, Forres

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    42
    21
    4
    0
See reviews for
19
51
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

Only stayed for one night with a friend but will go back for longer with my husband. Excellent service, all staff very helpful especially Murray. Fabulous food at both dinner and breakfast - best smoked salmon and scrambled eggs I have had. Can definitely recommend. Very close to Balmoral

Room Tip: Food excellent! Make a reservation before you arrive. WIFI a bit sparse in the Pine terrace rooms. F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesleya2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Came upon this charming country hotel set on the outskirts of Ballater overlooking the golf course. We stayed in a chalet which was perfect for us and the dog with access to the gardens and golf course.
Dinner was very good but the PG was a bit pricey. Service at dinner was excellent although there was a small hic-cup at breakfast when staff forgot our order. Bathrooms need updating but you get what you pay for. Recommend this hotel for a short stay or longer.

Room Tip: Lodges are very dog friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NigelSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a one night stay at the Glen Lui Hotel. We were in a chalet as the hotel was fully booked out. We were welcomed and shown to our chalet and the young man very kindly suggested my husband take his car to outside the chalet. There was a decked area on the doorstep with seating provided. Even although the rain was pouring down we were able to sit out in the shelter and enjoy the warmth of the day and glass of wine. We were pleasantly surprised at how well equipped the chalet was. Tea, coffee and milk provided.. Lovey soft bath sheets, with body and hair shampoo supplied The bathroom was very spacious as was the room. The chalets are very secluded and quiet. We had our evening meal there and words cannot describe how wonderful it was. We were fortunate enough to have had chat with the chef Tommy who was staying nearby. We were given a good run down on the menu and when I heard that scallops were on the menu asked if the coral was left on. He advised me to request this as they were served without, since most people preferred it without. They were scallops to die for, the dining just got better as the courses progressed. We can honestly say that it was a superb dining experience. A 2 or 3 menu was available, and the selection of house wines were excellent and reasonably priced for a hotel. The waitresses Anna and Lucia were most attentive and it was service with a smile all the way. Breakfast was excellent with the same waitresses smiling and helpful yet again ensuring a constant supply of tea and coffee. Their attention to detail cannot be faulted. Thanks to all staff it was just brilliant.

Room Tip: We were In a chalet which had single beds ideal if you are not going for a romantic weekend, wonderf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ann c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

We booked here as it is near Balmoral. The reception was very welcoming but the hotel is rather fired. The room we were shown was very small with a tiny shower room. We asked for a larger room and were upgraded for £20. This room was bigger and had a much better bathroom. The food in the restaurant was excellent. There was a good choice and the food was excellent quality and served very hot. The wine list was good but expensive. Breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaMC009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perthshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

Pleasant stay, food really good, Bed comfortable, decent wifi connection & pleasant welcome. Staff always helpful & hotel is in a quiet area of Ballater so a peaceful sleep is guaranteed. Only down side is that room I was staying in could do with a make over.. bring it up to date. apart from that.. not bad at all.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmyzdiscoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

I stayed here on a work trip last week and thoroughly recommend it. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, particularly Murray, who runs the hotel with his parents. From the moment of booking to the morning I left, nothing was too much trouble. There was a homely atmosphere that you don't always find.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeborahLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballater
6.1 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.3 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#3 of 4 in Ballater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Grand Vacations at Craigendarroch Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Moorfield House Hotel
Moorfield House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Braemar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
13.4 mi away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gordon Guest House
The Gordon Guest House
#1 of 17 in Ballater
5.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Lui Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Lui Hotel

Property: Glen Lui Hotel
Address: 14 Invercauld Road, Ballater AB35 5PP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Ballater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ballater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glen Lui Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Glen Lui Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Lui Hotel Ballater, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing