We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect holiday home”

Crathie Opportunity Holidays
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballater
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crathie Opportunity Holidays
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

My sister and I stayed here with our elderly mother, who had some mobility issues. It was just wonderful for her; she could enjoy a holiday which catered for her needs. Wonderful setting. Amazing facilities. Suitable for all her needs. It was truly memorable, especially as it was the last time that I could take her to see her childhood home.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaggieCrathie, Manager at Crathie Opportunity Holidays, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I'm so glad we were able to meet your mum's needs and that you were all able to enjoy a holiday together.
Maggie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012 via mobile

Perfect facilities, perfect location, helpful friendly staff, wake up to the sound of nothing else but nature, river dee flowing by, the queen's ponies grazing nearby, secluded and secure. In a nutshell this place is just heaven on Earth. You won't be disappointed!

Gary, Ann Marie and Oscar the Dog(who loved it too)

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaggieCrathie, Manager at Crathie Opportunity Holidays, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Hi Gary, Anne Marie and Oscar,
Thank so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review and thanks for all the great pics you posted on our facebook page. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay so much and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Maggie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

We stayed at Clunie Cottage at the beginning of October the whole experience was excellent the bungalow was well equipped for someone with extreme physical handicap. The kitchen was excellent for able bodied and all the facilities were at a hight that was wheelchair friendly. All the equipment was in good condition and it was obvious that it was well looked after. The bathroom was fantastic with a rise and fall electric sink and the toilet was of the closimat variety with a wash and blow dry facility. The whole bathroom was set out as a wet room and was very versatile. The bedrooms x2 were excellent and very comfortable although a really large wheelchair may have struggled a little bit for space however it wasn't a problem in our case. The lounge diner also doubled as a third bedroom and had the most comfortable sofa bed I have ever slept on. The management of the holiday centre was low key but were immediately available should you need them for advice or information. Washing and drying facilities are provided and proved to be excellent with good washing machines and tumble dryers.The location being so close to Balmoral makes you feel really safe. The local constabulary are very active and when the queen is in residence the royal protection are always about. There is a police office just across the main road by the church. Parking at the location is no problem as you have a private gate controlled carpark. Whilst I was there I was very lucky and attended the Crathie church when the Queen, Prince Charles and Camilla were in attendance a very moving experience.

Room Tip: Clunie was the largest single level bungalow and would comfortably sleep 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExeterGemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaggieCrathie, Manager at Crathie Opportunity Holidays, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you so much for your great review. I'm so glad you had such a fantastic time and hope we'll be able to welcome you back again.
Maggie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballater
12.1 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
6.4 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#3 of 4 in Ballater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
7.9 mi away
Moorfield House Hotel
Moorfield House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Braemar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hilton Grand Vacations at Craigendarroch Suites
7.5 mi away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Invercauld Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crathie Opportunity Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crathie Opportunity Holidays

Property: Crathie Opportunity Holidays
Address: The Manse Courtyard | Crathie, Ballater AB35 5UL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Ballater
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Ballater
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Crathie Opportunity Holidays Ballater, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing