We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bang for Buck in Ballater”

Restaurant at Glen Lui Hotel
Ranked #13 of 32 Restaurants in Ballater
Cuisines: British, Scottish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
del mar ca
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Best Bang for Buck in Ballater”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Three of us had a wonderful lunch at the Glen Lui Hotel restaurant on a sunny day. We each had three courses, all different selections. All were very good. In fact, they were so good that we booked to return a few days later for another meal. That one was equally enjoyable.

Not only is the food terrific, but the dining room is small, quiet, refined. Nice music selections at the correct volume. Wonderful servers. Good wine selections. Very nice setting with a view over the golf course. All of this quality came at a reasonable price, about We would not have felt cheated in any way if the prices had been 20% higher. And they compare very favorably to other nice restaurants in Ballater. Main courses (at lunch) in the 12 - 15 GBP range

It's well worth seeking out this lovely spot that is a bit off the beaten path. On a warm day, you can sit outside on the deck. The dining room is small, so best to book ahead.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank delmarduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    16
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Situated in a lovely village. A warm welcome .Food was good value and tasted excellent

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rawplugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Ballater”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Food was freshly cooked and well presented. Very flavoursome. Great choice of dishes. Staff so friendly.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not good”
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Arrival not promising, dining room looks like the end of a caravan. Welcome slow but warm, dining room almost empty, so we were placed as far from our fellow diners as possible! Waiter not trained as far as I could tell. We both had scallops, cooked well but sauce had split and was awful. Main of venison stone cold with a fruit sauce equally tasteless. Foodies, run for the moors!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dogbrain30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milngavie
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good food and good value”
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We cancelled our booking at La Mangiatoia due to a terrible meal on the Wednesday and were extremly pleased with the Glen Lui meal.
We last ate there two years ago and it was not so good but it has improved greatly and we will be back next year as well.
ALL of the staff were very friendly
The furniture and decor also has been upgraded and it shows.
Johh O lodge 71 Craigandarroch

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant at Glen Lui Hotel also viewed

 
Ballater, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Restaurant at Glen Lui Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing