We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AN ENCHANTING STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Gordon Guest House
Ranked #1 of 17 Ballater B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
NM
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“AN ENCHANTING STAY”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

The accommodations were wonderful, lovely and quiet. Amanda and Martin were very helpful with directions and suggestions. The breakfast choices were excellent. We were there 3 days and I had a different one each day. The location was very good. It was easy walking distance to shops and restaurants, and yet very quiet and private. There were a lot of stairs to climb and we are an older couple, however we managed and would not let that keep us from returning. It was a very delightful stay in every respect.

Room Tip: If you do not do well on stairs choose the room near the dining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margieNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review.We try and help our guests enjoy their stay as much as possible and would gladly upgraded you to the room on the first floor if it was available.Its such a pity that at the time of booking you did not contact us to tell us that someone had mobility difficulties and we would have done our utmost to help find a solution.Thank you for your valued custom and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    47
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
68
265
28
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Owners of the Guest House were very friendly and provided excellent local information. Excellent choice of breakfast,and the owners added their own little touches such as whisky with the porridge and cinnamon buns. The chef even wore whites in the kitchen . Room and everything about the accommodation was spotless and totally adequate. Only slight downside would be for persons of restricted movement may find stairs a little hard going

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gasman51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for your opinion of your experience in our Guest House.Many previous guests have had no problems with the large wide ornate stairways and find a little effort is well worth while to enjoy the views from the ensuite rooms.We have a repeat party of lovely elderly church ladies from Glasgow who book out the whole Guest House for a week and thoroughly enjoy all aspects of their stay.Thank you for your custom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nethy Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Owners of the Guest House were very friendly and provided excellent local information. Excellent choice of breakfast. Nice touch of a small jug with cream and Glenlivet whisky for your porridge (not compulsory).
Rooms were very clean and tidy. Only minus is, if you struggle on stairs, the entrance is on ground floor and B and B facilities on 1st and 2nd floor. If you have no problems with stairs don't let that put you off as the experience is very good.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank egbf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your review and opinion.We are pleased you enjoyed your breakfast and the special extra touches.Unfortunatly when our large spacious and ornately decorated Guest House was built around 1860 there was no provision made for lifts in our two storey building.What a pity you did not see our video at time of booking or simply asked the question about the.stairs and we could have suggested an alternate solution. Thank you for your custom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2014

I was travelling north for 3 days fishing on Crathie Beat opposite Balmoral Castle and stumbled upon The Gordon Guest House for my brief stay - by far the friendliest, most comfortable and ideally situated guest house I have ever stayed in. Amanda and Martin could not have been more welcoming - my early starts also meant I was unable to have full breakfast but they more than made up for it with bacon butties to eat on the hoof and the packed lunches were more than adequate ( and healthy!). It was a privilege to fish the Royal Deeside beat and catch a 15lb Salmon ( safely returned ) - it was my pleasure to stay with Amanda and Gordon and spend some happy days in Ballater. Thank you - I will be back !!!

Room Tip: My twin room was very comfortable with en-suite shower room and toilet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you very much for your positive review.We are very pleased all our hard work over the years to upgrade and maintain our large Victorian era Guest House and also our hospitality was recognised and greatly appreciated.Thank you for your valued custom and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We were only able to stay one night with the Gordon's but we thoroughly enjoyed it. The room was large, light and had a lovely outlook. Even better, it was spotlessly clean! The breakfast was delicious, served in the fabulous dining room - also enjoyed the rhubarb chutney with the kippers! Thanks Amanda and Martin...we loved your place, Ballater is absolutely gorgeous and well worth another visit!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoelineCPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for your positive review.Some of our past guests have been sceptical about our service quality due to our reasonable pricing compared to other establishments which charge much more but perhaps they have higher overheads.We are pleased that you enjoyed our standard of service and hospitality.We have a good choice for breakfast but also have different special choices.Thank you for your valued custom and look forward to your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nivå, Frederiksborg, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

We had a warm welcome by Amanda and Martin and we were given the most beautiful room called Balmoral with wonderful views to the mountains. Breakfast was delicious and you could choose between many things, lovely.
The town is very charming but what we enjoyed the most was a visit to Balmoral Castle and Estate. Interesting and beautiful!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Birgit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.We are both pleased you had such a memorable stay in our large Guest House built in the Victorian era and you appreciated your holiday experience with us and it was so enjoyable for you both.Thank you for your valued custom and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

After an 8 night stay for Royal Deeside Golf week we left feeling thoroughly pampered. A warm welcome from Martin and Amanda was followed by attention to every detail during our stay.
The bedroom was large and comfortable with an amazing bed and a large ensuite with shower and jacuzzi bath.
It really felt like a home from home. Breakfast was varied and cooked to order, the haggis and black pudding were from the local suppliers and even the eggs tasted better for some reason.
Positioned right in the centre of town opposite the Royal Station the position was perfect, walking / staggering distance from the golf club and close to every amenity.
Its is impossible to think of anything remotely negative to say, though there is really no reason to try! Although the B&B is upstairs from the street so if mobility is restricted that may be a problem.
One of the best B&B's we have stayed at and definitely on our list to try again.

Room Tip: Balfluig is the flagship room and is highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petertheclaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our Guest House.The very large Balfluig room which has recently been refurbished with super king-size bed and electric sofa recliner continues to be very popular with present and past guests.Many have also enjoyed the whirpool bath after a busy day,walking ,golfing or simply enjoying sightseeing in Royal Deeside.Breakfast is very important and with a large selection to choose from and also specials prove to be greatly appreciated by all.Thank you for your valued custom and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballater
0.2 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#2 of 4 in Ballater
613 reviews
5.8 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
361 reviews
9.3 mi away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
13.8 mi away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
193 reviews
13.8 mi away
The Invercauld Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gordon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gordon Guest House

Property: The Gordon Guest House
Address: Gordon Guest House Station Square, Ballater AB35 5QB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Ballater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ballater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gordon Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located Victorian Town House in Royal Deeside full of period features and completely refurbished including feature room with whirlpool bath and super king-size bed. Overlooking Old Victorian Railway Station and restaurant with car parking outside. Five beautiful walking/cycle trails start here. Many day trips in Cairngorm National Park including Balmoral Castle and Royal Lochnagar Distillery, hill walking, fishing and castle trail. Bus station and all restaurants and shops within five minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Gordon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gordon Guest House Ballater, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing