We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JMCGILL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Gordon Guest House
Ranked #1 of 17 Ballater B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“JMCGILL”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Great stay lovely and clean and very welcoming hosts , fantastic breakfast .Would definitely recommend to all and will go back. Great view from room. Great for parking,ideally located, variety of teas. Lovely decor , nice and bright.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.Many guests have also enjoyed the views from our ensuite rooms which vary with the seasons and are appreciated as we open all year.Thank you for your valued custom and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    47
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
69
262
28
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Vt
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed here on our third night of a fortnight trip and was treated like the royalty visiting up the street at Balmoral. Lovely room and delightful hosts. Amanda has so much information to share and the food is exceptional.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenmountaingal32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
We really appreciate your positive review.As we run our Guest House by ourselves and have five ensuite rooms we have more time to involve ourselves with our Guests needs.Over the seven years we have been in operation we listen to our guests feedback and have chosen the menu options accordingly.Thank you for your valued custom and look forward to your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed one night during ballater festival. She explained about festival events, we enjoyed it. The facility is very nice and good, and she prepared herb(lemon ginger and berry) tea and biscuit in the room. The king size bed is very comfortable for our deep sleeping. The decoration is bright and luxurious. I like it. The breakfast is tasty, especially fruit and salmon. I recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 정민 이
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your positive review.We are very pleased you enjoyed the super king-size bed which is standard in all our four double rooms.We try to ensure a high quality at breakfast and are glad you enjoyed your choice of the fresh fruit salad and to follow the smoked salmon on potato scones with cream cheese.We try and inform our guests of the daily events during Ballaters Victoria Week in the village with money raised going to good causes in the village.Thank you for your valued custom and look forward to your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at the Gordon Guest House over this year. Husbands golfing and the girls decided to join them for a night in Ballater. The rooms are spotlessly clean and the breakfast and hosts were faultless. Very friendly and great value for money. great location and parking outside. Definitely visit again.

Room Tip: The room we had could have slept 3, The Glenshee
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mmburnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback.We are both very pleased you all enjoyed your short stay with us and everthing was to your liking.Although we are a Guest House with more statutory overheads we have kept the same room rates for the last three years due to a high occupancy rate.Our continued high rating with Trip Advisor and Certificate of excellence for four consecutive years have helped us accomplish this.Thank you for your valued custom and look forward to seeing you all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We had our seventh annual stay at the Gordon Guest House last week, and from the minute we rang the doorbell, until we reluctantly had to say our goodbyes, we, as ever, received the warmest of hospitality from Martin and Amanda.They make you feel most welcome and at home in their lovely Guest House. We love all the attention to detail in the Gordon - the crystal glasses and cloth napkins on the breakfast table, the selection of nice teas and biscuits in the bedrooms, etc.
Martin's delicious and hearty breakfasts are a great start to the day, while Amanda is most attentive and always makes time to chat to every guest when she serves in the beautiful dining room.
We enjoy going for walks and visiting castles on Royal Deeside, and there are plenty of books and maps available in the Guest House. Martin and Amanda, being local to the area, have a wealth of knowledge about this stunning part of Scotland, and are always ready to offer suggestions and advice of where to go and what to do.
The Gordon well deserves to be the Number 1 Guest House in Ballater, as it is exceptional in every way. We wish we could rate it more than 5 stars! Thank you, Martin and Amanda.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twosisters3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.Its such a pleasure to have very nice repeat guests who are very appreciative of our high standards and can leave with a memorable experience over so many years of valued custom to us.Thank you again for your review and look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We have stayed for one night in the Gordon. Our room was fantastically spacious and nicely decorated, very clean and with a nice view over the roofs of Ballater and the old train station (the whole railway is out of service and the station is now a museum). The hosts were exceptionally friendly and gave us a warm welcome. The breakfast was delicious with fresh fruits and ingredients. For us this was the best guest house we aexperienced in our holidays.

Room Tip: Review refers to room "Balmoral"
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for our 300th review in only our fifth season with Trip Advisor.We only have five ensuite rooms and can therefore offer a very high quality of service to our guests.We are both pleased you had a memorable stay with us and look forward to seeing you both in the future.Thank you for your valued custom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We spent two nights at the Gordon Guest House July 1-2,2013. This guest house is beautifully decorated, spacious, spotlessly clean and ideally located in the centre of charming Ballater. Our hosts Martin and Amanda could not have been more thoughtful or attentive and were a wealth of knowledge on the area and the many options to fill our our days. Breakfast was superb! Our only regret was that we didn't stay longer!!

Room Tip: Balfluig- a fantastic room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.As we only have five ensuite rooms and run the Guest House ourselves we have a vested interest in maintaining high standards and not employing staff therefore we can offer excellent value to our guests.We are both pleased you enjoyed your breakfasts and the comprehensive choice is included here.Thank you for your valued custom and look forward to seeing you both in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballater
5.8 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#3 of 4 in Ballater
580 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Grand Vacations at Craigendarroch Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
266 reviews
13.7 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
0.3 mi away
No 45
No 45
#5 of 17 in Ballater
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gordon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gordon Guest House

Property: The Gordon Guest House
Address: Gordon Guest House Station Square, Ballater AB35 5QB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Ballater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ballater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gordon Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located Victorian Town House in Royal Deeside full of period features and completely refurbished including feature room with whirlpool bath and super king-size bed. Overlooking Old Victorian Railway Station and restaurant with car parking outside. Five beautiful walking/cycle trails start here. Many day trips in Cairngorm National Park including Balmoral Castle and Royal Lochnagar Distillery, hill walking, fishing and castle trail. Bus station and all restaurants and shops within five minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Gordon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gordon Guest House Ballater, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing