We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We regret... we couldn't stay longer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Gordon Guest House
Ranked #1 of 17 Ballater B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We regret... we couldn't stay longer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We have stayed for one night in the Gordon. Our room was fantastically spacious and nicely decorated, very clean and with a nice view over the roofs of Ballater and the old train station (the whole railway is out of service and the station is now a museum). The hosts were exceptionally friendly and gave us a warm welcome. The breakfast was delicious with fresh fruits and ingredients. For us this was the best guest house we aexperienced in our holidays.

Room Tip: Review refers to room "Balmoral"
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for our 300th review in only our fifth season with Trip Advisor.We only have five ensuite rooms and can therefore offer a very high quality of service to our guests.We are both pleased you had a memorable stay with us and look forward to seeing you both in the future.Thank you for your valued custom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    45
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
67
254
27
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We spent two nights at the Gordon Guest House July 1-2,2013. This guest house is beautifully decorated, spacious, spotlessly clean and ideally located in the centre of charming Ballater. Our hosts Martin and Amanda could not have been more thoughtful or attentive and were a wealth of knowledge on the area and the many options to fill our our days. Breakfast was superb! Our only regret was that we didn't stay longer!!

Room Tip: Balfluig- a fantastic room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.As we only have five ensuite rooms and run the Guest House ourselves we have a vested interest in maintaining high standards and not employing staff therefore we can offer excellent value to our guests.We are both pleased you enjoyed your breakfasts and the comprehensive choice is included here.Thank you for your valued custom and look forward to seeing you both in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

What a great place to stay! A very friendly welcome, great breakfast in a beautiful room, a lovely bedroom, all in a wonderful location -- what more do you need?

A great place to stay when exploring Royal Deeside and the great village of Ballater!

The Balmoral room was great with two window seats for reading while overlooking the highlands!

I look forward to coming again!

Room Tip: The Balmoral Room was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 825scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.We are both pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found no fault with the large Balmoral ensuite room.Almost all our rooms have wonderful views of the village and surrounding hills.Thank you again for your valued custom and look forward to your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
298 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Wow – we had an excellent night sleep here. The breakfast was superb, though you did have to order what you wanted by 8pm the night before and say when you wanted it. However the benefit of this is that your breakfast table was all ready at the stated time and the cooked breakfast came out really quickly.

The B&B is in a quiet location despite being in the centre of this small town and there is free parking outside. There are many eating choices and there is a small supermarket if you wanted to grab food for packed lunch, etc. The town is very convenient for Balmoral, whiskey tours and castles, and is only 1 hour from Aberdeen on good roads.

The only negative, and hence my score of 4 rather than 5, was that you could clearly hear the conversations from the bedroom next door when in the bathroom – not just muffled sounds but audibly hear it in full – and them brushing their teeth too. It didn’t disturb our sleep as we kept the door to the bathroom closed overnight and made sure all our conversations were kept to the bedroom!

Lastly the owners were extremely friendly and make you very welcome; we felt as though they wanted us to have the best stay possible.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for your review.What a pity you did not tell us during your stay and we may have found a solution to your problem.Due to the nature of this old building and the layout of waste pipes there is two Bathrooms back to back.We hope all our guests respect our Guest House,us and other guests but this is not always the case.We get very good feedback about breakfast choice in advance as this allows us to cook and present your breakfast fresh and serve quickly as many guests are in a hurry to get to next destination.Also we minimise food wastage in keeping with our sustainable tourism policyThank you for your custom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We enjoyed too short a stay in Ballater and spent one night in the Gordon Guest House which is very conveniently located with ample parking outside. We were greeted by Amanda and given all the information we needed, such as local walking routes, wifi codes, suggestions for restaurants (and importantly their last order times!). Our room, Balfluig, was spacious and warm with all the creature comforts. The en suite bathroom was spotlessly clean and the towels fluffy and soft. The breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice, and a nice touch was giving my husband extra orange juice as he doesn't drink tea or coffee. We will definitely recommend the Gordon to friends and colleagues and would certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma2803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review.We are both pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us and everything met your expectations.The Balfluig ensuite has been greatly appreciated by many previous guests.Thank you for your valued custom and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is the third time we have stayed here, and each time has been as good as the last. The rooms are an excellent size, and are decorated in keeping with the Victorian building that is the guest house. The owners Amanda and Martin make you feel very welcome, they are friendly, informative, and the best bit, they love Dogs, our dog was treated like one of the family. P.S. the breakfast is to die for.
They seem to go 'the extra mile' especially at breakfast time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregorjohn47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for your review.Its nice to hear our standards are still high in our Guest House, we try and look after all our guests to ensure a memorable stay.On occasions matters total outwith our control come into play.Thank you again for your custom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed for two nights in the Balfluig and it was lovely. Martin and Amanda were very welcoming and made our stay a wonderful experience. The breakfast was very good and they provided us with loads of information about the area which was really helpful.

Room Tip: Loved the Balfluig
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MFaruks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review of our Guest house.We try and make our guests stay as comfortable as possible,from the super king-size beds,to hospitality trays,black out blinds to keep rooms temperatures down in this hot weather and minimise the need to open the windows and including a full breakfast choice fully served and a daily room cleaning service.As we were both born and brought up in the North East of Scotland we have a good knowledge of places to visit with-in Royal Deeside and surrounding areas. Thank you for your valued custom and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballater
5.8 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#3 of 4 in Ballater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Grand Vacations at Craigendarroch Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
13.8 mi away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
14.3 mi away
Moorfield House Hotel
Moorfield House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Braemar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gordon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gordon Guest House

Property: The Gordon Guest House
Address: Gordon Guest House Station Square, Ballater AB35 5QB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Ballater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ballater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gordon Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located Victorian Town House in Royal Deeside full of period features and completely refurbished including feature room with whirlpool bath and super king-size bed. Overlooking Old Victorian Railway Station and restaurant with car parking outside. Five beautiful walking/cycle trails start here. Many day trips in Cairngorm National Park including Balmoral Castle and Royal Lochnagar Distillery, hill walking, fishing and castle trail. Bus station and all restaurants and shops within five minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Gordon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gordon Guest House Ballater, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing