We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Gordon Guest House
Ranked #1 of 17 Ballater B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Excellent welcome and service - Amanda and Martin are very friendly! We stayed for only one night in the beautiful Balmoral room. The breakfast room is very beautiful decorated and Amanda offered us great breakfast choices. We loved the fruit salad. Mmh! Beautiful location.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jutta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review.We are both pleased you enjoyed your stay in our large Balmoral ensuite room.We only use fresh fruit for the salad and it is freshly made.The large breakfast room on the first floor with views from all three windows is enjoyed by many.Thank you for your valued custom and look forward to your return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (463)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 463 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

We recently stayed at The Gordon Guest House on the 14th & 15th September 2012. We are a group of 12 golfers who always return here year after year because the welcome and standard of the hotel has always been first class. Martin and Amanda go out of their way to ensure we have an enjoyable stay and they simply cannot do enough for you. I would have no hesitation at all recommending a stay at this lovely place, so much so that we are already booked for September 2013.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cubby72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.Your positive feedback is greatly appreciated and makes all our effort and hard work to our Guest House over the last six years worthwhile.Many repeat guests as your party has done have already booked for 2013 to ensure the ensuite rooms of their choice especially for longer stays,i.e. Walking Week,Golf Week , Victoria Week and the Highland Games week-ends.Thank you for you continued and valued custom and look forward to seeing you all next September.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We arrived here late on a sunny saturday after spending a great day climbing Lochnagar, and so it was with a warm feeling of pride that we looked out of our perfectly located window to see the summit we had conquered! The couple who own the guest house are informatively chatty and we picked up a few interesting facts over the welcome and the next day over the two course breakfast. The selection of action DVDs in the dressing table drawer was just what we needed as we settled down in the more than ample sized bed with the thoughfully provided lemon and ginger tea. Thanks.

Room Tip: Ask for Glenshee if you would like a view of Lochnagar but take earplugs as you may hear the neighbo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank voyagevoyage80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you for your review of your one night stay in the Glenshee ensuite room.We are pleased you found the local knowledge passed to you was helpful to enjoy the Crathie area.What a pity you did not let us know about your neighbour problem as we could have investigated this unusual occurrence.Thank you for your custom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We had a two night stay (20/21 SEPT )at the Gordon Guest House in the Glenshee room. The service provided by Amanda and Martin could not have been better with a really warm welcome. The room had great views of Lochnagar and down to the shops. The room was spotlessly clean, had plenty of cupboard space and plenty of tea/coffee/biscuits. The bed was very comfortable and we had a good night's sleep. Using the slips provided you can pre-order what you would like for breakfast and at what time. Martin uses the times given to make sure your breakfast is freshly prepared and ready for you. All in all a great and central place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your positive review of the Glenshee room.We are pleased you liked the super king-size bed and you had a good nights sleep helped by the two double glazed windows with views in two directions.We are pleased you liked the extras in your room and also the toiletries left for guests use during their stay.We take great care at breakfast time to provide a large choice for guests and can also tailor a breakfast portion to suit individual requirments and still provide excellent value.Thank you for your valued custom and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Staying here made our trip. With no idea what to expect in Ballater we booked this place and turned out to be the best located accomodation and the friendliest. We received a warm welcome and given lots of useful touristic information.
The room had an amazing view of the hills. The king size bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was very clean and had a huge bathtub.
I loved the tartan carpet when you enter. The whole place is cosy and homely. The owners get to know their guests and had time to chat us.The breakfast was delicious! yum yum yum! The plates, cutlery and breakfast room are just so beautiful. We were very sad to leave but we hope to return soon. Thank you kindly Martin and Amanda. C & A

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cleo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.Although there is just the two of us running our five bedroom Guest House we try and help our guests to enhance their experience in Royal Deeside.This is a large Victorian House and most rooms are large with high ceilings.The view of Darroch hill in front of our Guest House is very senic especially with the Autumn colours now showing on the broadleaf trees.Thank you for your valued custom and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed here Satuday 8th Sept.
Fantastic B&B one of the best we have ever stayed in. The landlady showed us around our room with an en-suite which the size of our normal B&B bedroom.The room was supplied with loads of information in the Guise of tapes which we could watch at our liesure.She then took the time to show us where our table was for our Breakfast which was plentiful and delicious.
Will look forward to going back .

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in the Balfluig ensuite room with its very large bathroom complete with whirpool bath and sepreate shower.We offer a wide range of choice for breakfast and believe in serving all items to our guests rather than a self-service system.Thank you for your valued custom and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Spotless very well kept, spacious rooms, full of character perfectly located for shops and for walks and with free parking conveniently outside. So, everything you would want from a B&B. However, the Unique Selling Point of this place is Martin and Amanda have clearly thought about what you might want during your stay and provided all of that, then used their imaginations and gone the step further. Whether it is the range of DVDs, full size sofa or herbal/fruity teas and posh biccies provided free in bedrooms, the little library of books, the maps and very full location information and little complimentary sweets in reception or even that Martin dresses as a chef when preparing breakfast, plus when you arrive he personally provides a very comprehensive introduction to the B&B and the area ( a bit lost on me as I was dying for the loo- sorry Martin!). There is no doubt this place is bourne of very hard work on Martin and Amanda's part. It is a professionally run business with a personal touch- one of the best I have seen.

Room Tip: I would call them to check out the pricing rather than just book on line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BootieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theo15, Owner at The Gordon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thank you for your feedback.We are pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us and everthing met your expectations.Our pricing is the same thru our website booking system as it by calling us.The only difference would be if the room had not been selected for single occupancy on a online booking.Thank you for your custom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballater
5.8 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#2 of 4 in Ballater
655 reviews
9.3 mi away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Moorfield House Hotel
Moorfield House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Braemar
299 reviews
13.8 mi away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
206 reviews
22.2 mi away
Glenesk Hotel
Glenesk Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edzell
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gordon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gordon Guest House

Address: Gordon Guest House Station Square, Ballater AB35 5QB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Ballater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ballater
Price Range: $109 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gordon Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located Victorian Town House in Royal Deeside full of period features and completely refurbished including feature room with whirlpool bath and super king-size bed. Overlooking Old Victorian Railway Station and restaurant with car parking outside. Five beautiful walking/cycle trails start here. Many day trips in Cairngorm National Park including Balmoral Castle and Royal Lochnagar Distillery, hill walking, fishing and castle trail. Bus station and all restaurants and shops within five minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Gordon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gordon Guest House Ballater, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing