We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of visits, always great”
Review of La Mangiatoia - CLOSED

La Mangiatoia
Price range: $14 - $27
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Open evenings only from 5pm.Closed Mondays.La Mangiatoia has been established in Ballater since 1999.The restaurant is situated in a quiet courtyard location just off the main street.We have a lovely patio area where you can enjoy pizzas in the summer and inside there is a large wood burning stove for winter dining.The menus feature a mix of traditional and modern Italian cooking and our homemade pizzas are a particularly popular.We are open all year round except mid Nov-27th December when we are closed for our annual holiday.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Travelled with my wife, and ate here, a small Italian Restaurant. Looks lovely from the outside, and the room is inviting and hospitable. Have eaten here regularly for the last 5 years, always look forward to coming back. Love the hot chorizzo salad starter and the spaghetti and meatballs. V reasonable wine list. Good looking pizzas too.
Always seems busy but the service is very good. If staying around Ballater check this place out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank ColinW05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrattA1, Owner at La Mangiatoia, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoy dining with us on a regular basis. I appreciate your comments about the garden as I am the one who takes charge of that department!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (260)
There are newer reviews for La Mangiatoia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 118 of 260 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

Service was very poor, and the meal (which was on cold plates) was no more Italian than a flea in the air.

7  Thank gregorjohn47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrattA1, Owner at La Mangiatoia, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

We are sorry and surprised that your meal was served on cold plates because that should not have happened and we will look into that. However we would robustly disagree with you as regards the authenticity of our food.I note you live in Stonehaven and it appears Ballater has been your only "Trip".If you had an extensive review history incorporating Sienna,Rome maybe Bologna or Verona then I would perhaps it would have given your review more credibility.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Lovely food, good atmosphere, something a little different always available on the specials board. Interesting accompanying sauces and good value

3  Thank CherylTom60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrattA1, Owner at La Mangiatoia, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you very much for such a nice review.We are pleased to hear your feedback is so positive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I booked this for our anniversary has a nice cosy feel with large portions plenty of selection on the menu great also for families food tasted good plenty of flavour

3  Thank lisam445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrattA1, Owner at La Mangiatoia, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us.We are delighted you enjoyed your anniversary meal with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

As a local person we try to dine here as often as possible. The food is wonderful and there is something to suit everyone. The specials are always delightful as was the case on Wednesday. We had a gorgeous meal and the service is always excellent. The owner Harry is ALWAYS very warm and friendly and we are always made to feel welcome. We love everything about this place including the decor and over all feel of the place. Its warm atmosphere and excellent food appeals to us a lot. Going back tonight.....IF we can get a table!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank peachyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrattA1, Owner at La Mangiatoia, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you very much for your great review and thanks for sticking up for my husband Harry! He has been meeting and greeting customers and looking after them for 13 years now.Some of the moaning minnies on Tripadvisor should try working in the hospitality industry before they post their reviews....Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mangiatoia also viewed

Ballater, Aberdeenshire
Ballater, Aberdeenshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing