We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food Does the Talking.”
Review of La Mangiatoia - CLOSED

La Mangiatoia
Price range: $13 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Open evenings only from 5pm.Closed Mondays.La Mangiatoia has been established in Ballater since 1999.The restaurant is situated in a quiet courtyard location just off the main street.We have a lovely patio area where you can enjoy pizzas in the summer and inside there is a large wood burning stove for winter dining.The menus feature a mix of traditional and modern Italian cooking and our homemade pizzas are a particularly popular.We are open all year round except mid Nov-27th December when we are closed for our annual holiday.
UTDBOY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Food Does the Talking.”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Had a great three course meal here recently with family. Plenty of choice of good quality Italian dishes with a decent wine list. Service was polite and prompt. For what we had the cost was very fair. At this price hard to beat and would come back again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank UTDBOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrattA1, Owner at La Mangiatoia, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for taking time to review us.We are delighted you enjoyed your food and found us good value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    91
    45
    29
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tasty”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Very tasty food and easy location to get to from the Craigendarroch resort
we were a little tight for time but the team managed to serve our food really quickly and with a smile

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank JoFrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrattA1, Owner at La Mangiatoia, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your nice review,We are very popular with guests at the Hilton Craigendarroch who come back year after year.Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Regular customer tells the truth...”
Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

...by regular, I mean 5 or 6 times a year - summer and winter.
Not sure where all the negative reviews come from…?? In my experience of the restaurant, the staff - and management - respond in kind. If you're looking for trouble you'll undoubtedly find it. If you turn up (as I usually do) with a warm smile - that's what you'll get.
The food is fresh tasting, the portions not American but great for most people.
I had a slight problem tonight with the contents of the"Inferno" pizza and brought it to the owners attention and it was sorted to my satisfaction.

Honestly folks - go to La Mangiatoia with the intention of having a lovely meal and enjoying yourself and you will!

Finally, if you have a problem - it can happen - say so on the night in a reasonable manner and I'm sure you'll come away happy and be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank irishclaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrattA1, Owner at La Mangiatoia, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thank you very much for your nice words.It`s much appreciated when customers see things from the "other side of the fence".It can be a thankless task dealing with customers who set out to find fault .We are delighted you enjoyed your evening at La Mangiatoia and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quick service, good food”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We explored Ballater and decided on Italian but as it had been a busy week, the restaurant couldn't accommodate us until 9:15pm which was a shame. The service was good and the food tasty but the notices about £10 minimum order and no split bills didn't seem very friendly! Over all - a good Italian restaurant - a little over priced by most pizza restaurant standards but perhaps everywhere in Ballater is equally pricey?

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank MDGerrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrattA1, Owner at La Mangiatoia, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for your review we are glad you enjoyed your food and found the service efficient.We have had to make-what is actually a very low-spend per head.We had customers coming in on busy nights and ordering only a starter! The restaurant is small and it`s not fair to customers who want a proper meal to be unable to find a table because they are being blocked by people eating only garlic bread!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Great food and atmosphere ,always busy.Owners bark is worse than his bite and we keep going back.Try it!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank roberjAberdeenshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrattA1, Owner at La Mangiatoia, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thanks for the nice review.La Mangiatoia`s food IS good. The service IS good as well ! Nice chatty friendly customers receive nice chatty friendly service.We just mirror what we receive.
Hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mangiatoia also viewed

Ballater, Aberdeenshire
Ballater, Aberdeenshire
 
Ballater, Aberdeenshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing