We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What an excellent place - you have to stop here!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bothy

The Bothy
Ranked #1 of 3 Coffee & Tea in Ballater
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What an excellent place - you have to stop here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Thank you so very much to the wonderful staff at The Bothy in Ballater, not only did we get a cosy fire, excellent home made food at good prices, very tasty coffee (and a ginger bread hot chocolate!) but we also received the most friendly welcome. We had been canoeing in the snow and came in looking bedraggled but were very thoughtfully attended to and even provided with tips and help to find somewhere warm to stay including the use of the landline phone when I had no signal in my mobile. So glad we stopped with you!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    111
    16
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballater
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great soup and sandwich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I took my children and parents for lunch at the Bothy yesterday. It was a wild wintery day but the log burner, hearty soup and fresh panini really were a welcome. Great value and excellent coffee. We will be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Food very tasty, good quality, prompt service, appealing decor. Roasted vegetable and mozzarella paninni and bakewell tart-both absolutely delicious.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cakes , cosy fire.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

After a walk or bike ride it's a great place to refuel. Lovely home baking , soup, sandwiches etc. The cosy fire was a delight on freezing February days.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SuffolkDeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great breakfast's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We visit the beautiful town of Ballater every February and always look forward to calling in at the Bothy. The staff are always friendly and courteous.They also understand our Yorkshire sense of humor! The food is always cooked fresh and the breakfasts are great value. We can't wait for next February.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank davidvictor146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bothy also viewed

Braemar, Aberdeenshire
Ballater, Aberdeenshire
 
Ballater, Aberdeenshire
Ballater, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to The Bothy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing