We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal - highly recommend a visit!”
Review of Clachan Grill

Clachan Grill
Reserve a Table
2
Mon, 10/14
8:00 PM
Ranked #2 of 35 Restaurants in Ballater
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $53
Description: As one of the CranberryCo clan, the Clachan Grill prides itself on serving only the finest locally and sustainably sourced produce. With our scenic River Dee backdrop, we're ideally located for locals and visitors alike. Cosy and welcoming, we promise to serve our delicious, Scottish fare with a side of Northern hospitality. Head Chef David Mutter has carefully designed the Clachan Grill's menu to reflect the diverse ingredients Scotland has on offer, drawing inspiration from Scottish classics, while elevating them to the level of a modern Grill. An ideal location for a lunch or dinner, pop in for a taste of the Cairngorms.
Restaurant details
Description: As one of the CranberryCo clan, the Clachan Grill prides itself on serving only the finest locally and sustainably sourced produce. With our scenic River Dee backdrop, we're ideally located for locals and visitors alike. Cosy and welcoming, we promise to serve our delicious, Scottish fare with a side of Northern hospitality. Head Chef David Mutter has carefully designed the Clachan Grill's menu to reflect the diverse ingredients Scotland has on offer, drawing inspiration from Scottish classics, while elevating them to the level of a modern Grill. An ideal location for a lunch or dinner, pop in for a taste of the Cairngorms.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent meal. Some of the nicest food we’ve tasted - the smoked salmon starter with cheddar blini and Cullen skink sauce was devine! We hadn’t booked and thought that the restaurant would probably be quiet on a Monday night but it was much busier than expected and we were lucky to get a table. The staff were so friendly and the chef was superb. We will definitely be back!

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank DiDiDaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilH2713, Manager at Clachan Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your review.

We always welcome great feedback and we hope to welcome you back again!

Thanks from all the team at the Clachan Grill.

Regards
Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent in all respects but most notably the food served was outstanding. #2 in Ballater? I don’t think so!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank RickDyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilH2713, Manager at Clachan Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review! We hope that we can have you back in again soon!

Thanks from all the team at the Clachan Grill.

Regards
Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We ate here on a Monday night. Thinking it wouldn't be that busy but it was. There was a nice buzz to the place, the service was excellent and food absolutely beautiful, a credit to the chef.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 918leannel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilH2713, Manager at Clachan Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to review us after your visit. We are all so glad that you enjoyed and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Thanks from all the team at the Clachan Grill.

Regards
Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Tucked away in the corner of Ballater is this amazing restaurant. We hadn't booked and there was a spare table on the Thursday evening. It soon filled up and we could see why - both had 2 Courses - Sirloin cooked beautifully, with desert and coffee to follow. Nice atmosphere, friendly staff, will have to visit again if we are back in the area.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Alexander D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilH2713, Manager at Clachan Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for your kind review!

We hope we can welcome you back again in the future.

Thanks from all the team at the Clachan Grill.

Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2019 via mobile

Walked round the town and we're desperate to get in.
Thankfully fitted 4 of us in. It was a busy Monday night!
Quality of the food and flavours was exceptional. Salmon starter was possibly best salmon I've ever had. Dauphinoise potatoes with the chicken were possibly the best my friend had ever had.
Pudding was delicious and delightful. Scottish cheeses were sublime. Best Cheddar ever?
You guessed it, we loved it here and all these reviews are correct.
Great atmosphere, great food and great service.
Pretty faultless

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank 35simonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilH2713, General Manager at Clachan Grill, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2019

Thanks for leaving us a review of your visit. We are glad that you enjoyed it so much and we hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Thanks from all the team at the Clachan Grill.


Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clachan Grill also viewed

 
Ballater, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Clachan Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing