We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent accommodation set in centre of Ballater”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ballater, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
alisonhow...
Charing, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent accommodation set in centre of Ballater”
Reviewed August 8, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Newly refurbished, house was clean, nicely decorated and spacious. Garden also beautiful with a BBQ provided.

Would stay again. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura G
1 review
“What a lovely house!”
Reviewed July 10, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

I have just returned home after a fabulous week long stay at Rannagowan. I could not recommend this house or location enough! It is located on a pretty street just a stones throw away from all local amenities that Ballater has to offer. There is also a lovely river walk nearby and park to keep the children happy! The house itself is stunning with spacious rooms, original period features and tasteful modern decor... not to mention it was spotless on our arrival! It has such a homely feel with beautiful views out the bedroom windows to wake up to and and a pretty garden to sit in with a glass of wine at night. Thanks to the owners who added to this wonderful trip with their helpful knowledge of the area. Will be in touch to book for next year.. didn't want to leave!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Delightful house perfect location”
Reviewed July 6, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Very high standard of fixtures and fittings. The weather was a bit cool so made full use of log fire. Excellent location in Ballater for shops,restaurant etc. We tried fish and chips and the Chinese takeaway both very good. Also tried Indian restaurant opposite the Chinese which we would recommend. The Co-op supplied everything we needed. A week was not long enough to explore and see the area. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cwshepher...
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Perfect Royal Retreat”
Reviewed May 9, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A wonderful home from home. Very friendly owners who gave me lots of advice re. local transport and walking routes. The accommodation is very modern and spacious with beautiful original features. An enclosed sunny garden compliments the house perfectly. Is within walking distance of all the local shops, restaurants and golf course. We have stayed in Ballater many times over the years, but this is definitely our favourite. A perfect 10 out of 10. We will be back!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 10, 2017
Thank you, hope to welcome you back to Rannagowan soon !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous house. Fabulous location.”
Reviewed March 23, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The location was ideal for our stay in Ballater. It was close to the shops but on a quiet road with little passing traffic. Rannagowan is situated within the natural beauty of the Cairngorm National Park yet only an hours drive to Aberdeen.The house has been tastefully decorated and the facilities are of a very high standard. Craig has made sure that everything you would need, be it for a long weekend or in our case a longer stay, has been laid on.
The house is very spacious with 4 handsome size bedrooms, a well appointed kitchen with modern appliances and a very comfortable lounge area with a working open fire.
It is by far one of the best rental properties we've ever stayed in and would highly recommend it to anybody who is planning to visit Ballater or its environs.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 28, 2017
Thank you Pippa, hope to welcome you back to Rannagowan soon !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing