We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday Dinner”

Cornfields Restaurant & Hotel
Ranked #168 of 411 Restaurants in Bedford
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bedford
Level Contributor
149 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Birthday Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Our twin sons had a significant birthday and we took them to Cornfields. This was not the frst time we have visited. We were not disappointed.
When one arrives one enters the old bar of the Wheatsheaf, which got my wife and myself reminising about the 1970's and real ale. We had our pre-dinner drinks in the bar and chose our meals. The waitresses were reasonably efficient and polite.

MENU
There was a good selection and even my wife said there were two or three items which she would eat.
When we arrived at the table, very fresh bread was served with olive oil and butter as required.
The four of us had selected three diffent first courses. I had scallops which were served with an incredibly tasty sauce of creamed and crispy leaks.. One of my sons had the courgette, pea and mint soup which he too said was excellent. The other two had stilton, walnut and bacon fritters with a port sauce. It sounds delicious, and they both said that it was.

We also chose three different main courses and everyone said that theirs was well cooked and extremely tasty. The sauces with each choice were fantastic.

DINING ROOM
The charcter of the dining room is not as good as the bar, it being relatively modern. However the room is pleasant.

SERVICE
The service was good, and personal but surprisingly there were very few people dining.

OVERALL
We have visited Cornfields on a number of occasions, as a couple, as a large private party, and as a group of people on the Christmas menu. Each time the meals have been well cooked and presented and we have not had a bad meal.
On this ocassion we had an excellent meal, which was not cheap but of extremely high quality. We will return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BowlsCaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    15
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Set in picturesque countryside and well worth the drive to get to. Some really nice seafood options on the menu, not cheap but still good value. The fish is fresh and the service is comes with a warm smile. Try the scallops!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikeedie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
312 reviews
279 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

I have previously praised Cornfields' "Seared Scottish scallops on Creamed Leeks with Crispy Leeks" starter, so had it again. Wonderful!
I could have chosen any one of the nine main courses on offer - all sounded exciting - but settled for "Fillet of Native Hake with a Herb and Caper Crust on Chive Butter Sauce." What a good choice! This was quite simply one of the most delicious dishes that I have ever eaten. Just superb! The accompanying Dauphinoise Potatoes were also rated as "Wonderful" by my companions, and the broccoli and baby carrots were equally perfect in appearance, texture and flavour. A resounding and quite exceptional 10/10 so far.
I ended my meal with a Creme Brulee, which was pleasant enough without being up to the standard set by Raggamuffins in North Devon (creme was lumpy rather than smooth and the top was crisp without being truly glassy).
The ambience was just right, with every table occupied by appreciative diners, so there was a quiet background hum of conversation. The owner/maitre d' was, as always, discreetly helpful, and - somewhat to their embarrassment - my partner commented that the busy and efficient waitresses were not only charming, but also exceedingly pretty.
The cost, excluding a bottle of Chilean wine and the tip, came to around £30 a head (a very modest charge for a top-class meal). We all had a superb evening and will undoubtedly be returning soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TimSharrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedfordshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely sat evening meal, places like this are few of you want good food in a nice atmosphere and good service this is the place to go , we had two starters two main meals and a bottle of wine at around £80 it has a nice decking area so weather permitting you can eat in or out .

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shirley p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Truly scrumptious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Just had a truly wonderful meal at Cornfields Colmworth.
Stilton and walnut fritters in a gorgeous sweet fruit sauce and salad was a pleasure on the tongue, followed by the tenderest beef medallions with the most amazing sauce that you will ever taste.
Good selection of wines,
Superb service
Followed by truly scrumptious meringues, coffee and homemade chocolates
You couldn't wish for more
Highly recommend this restaurant

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsHHarper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cornfields Restaurant & Hotel also viewed

 
Bedford, Bedfordshire
Flitton, Bedfordshire
 

Been to Cornfields Restaurant & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing