We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor customer service - bad enough we didn't even order food”
Review of Three Cups

Three Cups
Ranked #99 of 415 Restaurants in Bedford
Price range: $7 - $13
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Poor customer service - bad enough we didn't even order food”
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

We visited the pub at lunchtime today - three mums with four young babies. This was our first time out for lunch with our new babies, and we were looking forward to a nice time together. Unfortunately, we were made to feel very unwelcome by the staff. Clearly our prams were an issue for them but they made no attempt to help us find somewhere suitable to put them, simply telling us to move them out the way (when we already had our hands full with the babies being fed). We were made to feel like intruders and the barmaid even refused to help carry our teas and coffees to the table, despite the fact that for our entire stay there were only about five other customers in the pub (one of whom offered to help instead!!). We were so put off and upset that we ditched the idea of food and will never return- I don't want to hand over my hard earned cash where I'm made to feel like a problem.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Moneyja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    17
    5
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Happy locals who are going back”
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

This pub has undergone a refurbishment. Speciality ales available to try but third of a pint. Sunday roast was tasty although the consensus of the group was that we would have preferred bigger vegetable side portions (although there is the option to order more). Generous hearty puddings.

Clearly not marketing at families with young children as no baby changing, high chairs or child menus. That said we coped just fine with two under 3 and will be going back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pleasure2holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the pub have changed hands!”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I visit the Three Cups yesterday (15/2-2013) wow what a change wonderful beer and plenty of choices. Very comfortable now that they have changed the bar round and opened up. Beer better - food better and for atmosphere just perfect. Well done :)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne Karin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great pub quiz”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Great pub quiz with friendly staff and good "competitors"!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank HuguenotGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lack of atmosphere”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Great look of an old original pub but due to the high prices and lack of rapport with the staff, leaves the pub feeling empty and boring.

Helpful?
1 Thank James_Hollis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Three Cups also viewed

Bedford, Bedfordshire
Bedford, Bedfordshire
 
Bedford, Bedfordshire
 
Bedford, Bedfordshire
Bedford, Bedfordshire
 

Been to Three Cups? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing