We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nostalgic evening”

Magna Tandoori No 1
Ranked #85 of 418 Restaurants in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Malvern, Worcs
Level Contributor
98 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A nostalgic evening”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Used to eat at the Magna regularly back in the 1980s. Glad to see it's still going. It has moved away from the Indian restaurant cliché décor which is a bit sad but I was amused to see that some of the original waiters are still there! The chicken biryani still comes with an omelette on top although I thought the food was a little bland. Very good value though, and plenty of it. The naan was as good as ever!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chemteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    16
    4
    5
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Any
English first
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best curries in Bedford ... probably”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

This may have changed slightly from it's dusty carpet and wicker chairs of 10 years ago but the food is still the most authentic and delicious in Bedford.

You can tell it's always been a family-run business and the staff are great on suggesting curries depending on your preferences

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank thommck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“We prefer waiters who care”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We made a last minute decision to dine here and regretted it within 15 minutes of entry. On arrival the place was empty except for one other diner.

Our order for drinks an poppadoms was taken quickly and the drinks arrived soon after. A few minutes later 2 more customers arrived and their drinks order was taken. Amazingly, poppadoms were delivered to their table when we still hadn't yet received ours. We were also still waiting to order our starters and main meal.

The waiter seemed preoccupied in dealing with a large order for an outside event but eventually found time in his busy schedule to take our order.

We chose a Thali for 2. When the mixed starters arrived they were OK to taste but not too warm - it felt as though they had been waiting around for some time in the kitchen.

The main course was delivered in a compartmentalised metal tray of the type used for prison meals. Presentation aside, the individual dishes were unappetising in appearance (they too appeared to have been kept waiting) and uninspiring to taste.

Check out their website - the amount of effort put into it mirrors that shown by the staff in the restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Still the best”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Once again a smashing meal at the Magna - nothing more needs to be said except it's first class food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“I broke my diet to go the Magna Tandoori ... !”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I was resigned to an evening of salad and steamed fish but then I got a phone call suggesting a family meal at the Magna. My resolve instantly vanished and I said yes.

I ate my first ever curry at The Magna in 1984 and, after a break of a good few years while we lived further away, we have been back there quite a lot recently. It is still as good as ever, and it has been lovely to see Mohammed's sons, grown and working there, alongside original staff from the 1980s!

I had chicken tikka Shambalala, a coriander-based dish which is deeply flavoured and spicy without being hot. The Korai dishes are also wonderful. Everyone in our party had a lovely meal as always. It's worth the weight!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NoraBeaune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magna Tandoori No 1 also viewed

 
Bedford, Bedfordshire
Bedford, Bedfordshire
 

Been to Magna Tandoori No 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing