We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great local restarurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magna Tandoori No 1

Magna Tandoori No 1
Ranked #59 of 407 Restaurants in Bedford
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European, Pakistani, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great local restarurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

I have been coming to the Magna for years and have always enjoyed good food and a great welcome. The restaurant is not the place to go for high end and experimental Asian dining but does a great job at serving up the old favourites with attentive but unobtrusive service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank taff664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    16
    4
    5
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“PART OF OUR LIFE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We have been frequenting the Magna since it opened - 31 years ago I think when it was just one room plus the upstairs and they hadn't moved into the new room - wish they had staying in the old room!
We used to take our highchair with us and both children grew up loving indian food.We love this restaurant and always find an excuse to eat there.The vegetable bhajees are superb,the dhansak has a lovely sauce and they always serve complimentary vegetable dishes.
I personally think they had a low about 3/4 years ago,we tried others but we kept coming back and they are now back to their great form just wish you got more king prawns for the price!
We will never stop supporting this restaurant!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DDDMEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simply The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

I visited this restaurant on the recommendation of a friend when I was recently up in Bedford for a few days on Business, It was so good I had to go back 2 days later.
Attentive and friendly service and most of all great food, I had a Chicken Naga (Both times) that had heat and flavour in equal measures.
I'm a big fan of a hot curry but the flavour took it into another realm.
I can't wait for my next trip to Bedford.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Decent food good ambience and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

If we discount the usual Bangladeshi sweetening of every "Indian" dish,which is the case with most "Indian" restaurants in bedford, the food was well presented and cooked. The tikka and main course was good. The quantity was very good. service and ambience were very good. Would recommend if u r OK with sweet Indian food..

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mankiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Impeccable !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Speechless! Andy and I thought we'd venture here after a few well earned ciders in the wellington arms. Superb waiters, food and presentation ! Best meal in years !

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GrinnyMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magna Tandoori No 1 also viewed

Bedford, Bedfordshire
Bedford, Bedfordshire
 
Bedford, Bedfordshire
 
Bedford, Bedfordshire
 

Been to Magna Tandoori No 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing