We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure....”

River Room Restaurant
Ranked #297 of 426 Restaurants in Bedford
Price range: $70 - $106
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not sure....”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I've eaten here a couple of times within the last month. First time round I thought pretty good, second time round not so much.

Firstly, the blonde receptionist is the most miserable, unwelcoming front of house staff I've ever come across. It's a shame you have to enter your car reg' at reception (otherwise you will receive a parking ticket through the post) as it means you actually have to attempt to talk to her (which she quite clearly finds incovenient). She has the people skills of a lemon.

The restaurant can be a little lacking in atmosphere if nobody is in there like there was on my first visit, however on the second time around it was much busier but they didn't have enough staff to cope.

The menu appears to be quite extravagant but that doesn't escape the fact that the portions are small and it's overpriced. Last time I ordered scallops to start at £9.50. When the dish arrived what I was served was 1 scallop, sliced into 3 pieces! When I queried this with the waitress she denied it was one scallop andwas told that is the portion size they serve and that how it's served in the Devils Kitchen! She didn't even offer to remove it for me! I think she must have thought I was joking or something but I wasn't. I've attached a photo so have a look, £9.50 for one scallop cut into 3 bits! I have to say other than that the waitress was very good.

You normally get small portions in expensive restaurants but leave fealing full as the food is quite rich, but here you leave feeling they just can't quite pull it off! A two minute walk down the road and you reach the Embankment, which is heaving even on weekdays, yet here it's often deserted and severley lacking in atmoshere - says it all!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ran58y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    9
    14
    7
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
milton keynes
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“afternoon tea”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

food poor quality ( dry sandwiches and sweaty cakes), ambience poor ( having to eat with spa visitors in their dressing gowns and smell of the Spa) and providing diettary requirements dreadful ( Fish sandwiches placed on the same plate as others and only a cheese sandwich for wheat/dairy person - no cakes!)

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank sazzie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Hopeless service and poor food”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Arranging the beetroot prettily on the plate seems to be the aim of the chef! Needs to get back to basics of good quality food that is well cooked and fresh. Soup and steak are the best bets, avoid everything else.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank SuffolkMobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Dine somewhere else!”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We decided to go back in December after a disastrous meal at the end of the Summer - but I'm sorry to say that it had not improved, so that leads me to say it's getting worse as the faults are still there! The service was very slow, although there were not many people in the restaurant. Our first 2 choices of wine were not available, but that happened the last time too! We had to ask for bread to nibble whereas everywhere else we go it is put on the table as soon as you are seated. In the Summer they got my fillet steak wrong twice, but I ate it the 2nd time as my dining companions had finished their meal by the time it finally arrived. To be fair, they did not charge for my meal, but we would have preferred a decent meal and happily paid for it. In December the steak was gristly, which fillet steak should never be! Although we complained we were still charged for the meal, even though they could see the remains of the steak left on the plate. The vegetable portions can only be classed as frugal.
We enjoy eating out and as this hotel is local to where we live we were very disappointed as it will not be a regular haunt, in fact we will avoid going there again.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hollydaze57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Award Winning”
Reviewed October 21, 2011

A delight to the palette! Particular mention to the Scallops with Black Pudding & Pork Belly!!!! Delicious!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Leanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Room Restaurant also viewed

Bedford, Bedfordshire
Bedford, Bedfordshire
 
Bedford, Bedfordshire
 

Been to River Room Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing