We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice area to relax in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Bedford (Priory Marina) Hotel
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
Mold, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice area to relax in”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

A nicely situated Inn very close to the Marina and easy access to the country park for those who like to walk for pleasure. A very friendly staff, comfortable accommodation and a very good restaurant next door.

Room Tip: Our 1st floor room at the rear was fine until a Premier Inn lorry turned up at about 6am and parked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johndel_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BedfordPI, Manager at Premier Inn Bedford (Priory Marina) Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear johndel_12,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Premier Inn Bedford Priory Marina.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will return to us soon. I have passed on your feedback to the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Tracy Langford
Hotel Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    140
    61
    16
    8
See reviews for
139
145
32
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

A little expensive at times but always a good quality room and bed.
This location would be great in the summer right next to the Marina and the river, although it is pretty handy for the motorways /A1

The Beefeater next door has changed a lot and is no longer the steak house I remembered. Good beer though.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbrussellgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BedfordPI, Manager at Premier Inn Bedford (Priory Marina) Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear jbrussellgreen,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Premier Inn Bedford Priory Marina.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will return to us soon. I have passed on your feedback to the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Tracy Langford
Hotel Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rouillac, France
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We booked for a Sat/Sun 2 night stay at Priory Marina on the internet. At the time of booking we did not notice that the checkin time was 1400. We arrived early at about midday and the receptionist was very helpful and found us a room that had been prepared. The room was very clean and in very good condition, we were pleased. There are no external noise issues as the hotel located away from main roads in a park setting. There are money back guarantees for a good nights sleep but we had no reason to seek this redress. My only "complaint" about the hotel is related to the wifi. Premier Inn say that you get 1/2 hour free internet access a day. It is unclear to me whether the 1/2 hour is in the 24 hours following checkin or whether its 24 hours from a set time of day. Whatever, I am confident that we did not get 1/2 hours access during our stay. We prebooked the breakfast option which is provided in the restaurant next door to the hotel. The service was very good as was the food. A good start to the day. All in all, a nice hotel in a pleasant location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gdn1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BedfordPI, Manager at Premier Inn Bedford (Priory Marina) Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear gdn1947,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Premier Inn Bedford Priory Marina.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will return to us soon. I have passed on your feedback to the rest of the team.

To clarify on Wifi, every guest recieves 30-minutes free Wifi every day and the clock resets at midnight. If you use some of your allocated 30-minutes and intend to use the rest of your time later, you must remember to log off! We also have free Wifi in the Beefeater bar and restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Tracy Langford
Hotel Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stopped here for two nights whilst visiting the local area - room was very spacious and comfortable but they need to sort the squeaky floorboards out in the rooms. Was on the lower level but would ask for a room on the next level if we went again as traffic noise from the local marina and factory was right near our window. Reception staff were very pleasant and helpful Beefeater resturant was very good next door and have a good selection of well cooked food to choose from and you were not rushed. Breakfast also served here was very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali71B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BedfordPI, Manager at Premier Inn Bedford (Priory Marina) Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Ali71B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Premier Inn Bedford Priory Marina.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will return to us soon. I have passed on your feedback to the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Tracy Langford
Hotel Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We were visiting friends in Bedford and had previously stayed at the Travelodge on Manton Heights, but we wouldn't go there again- even if it was much cheaper!

Having lived int he town for many years, we knew it fairly well and realised the Priory Marina was a lovely area. We thought the Premier Inn would be a good base- and it was.

We had a quiet room away from the front of the building and had a great night's sleep. There was plenty of free parking. The room was clean, modern and well equipped. It had 2 upholstered chairs, a hair dryer, hand and hair wash supplies, Wi-Fi and a modern TV with Freeview (things we didn't get next night at a Travelodge in another area).

The Inn is located in the Priory Country Park, so we had a 30 minute walk round the lake before we left. Lots of birds to see!

Next door was a Beefeater restaurant where we ate in the evening and enjoyed a wonderful breakfast next morning. This was one of the Whitbread "eat as much as you like for £8.25" breakfasts, including a full english cooked to order. Wonderful.

Only downside was the fact that we booked early to get the best price and paid £34.50 on a non- refunable/ exchangeable deal. A few weeks later, we had an offer where we could have booked the same accommodation for £19. Not sure what to advise, but we were not best pleased!

Room Tip: Try to avoid the front of the building, as it could be noisy as diners/ revellers leave the restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BedfordPI, Manager at Premier Inn Bedford (Priory Marina) Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Henso,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Premier Inn Bedford Priory Marina.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will return to us soon. I have passed on your feedback to the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Tracy Langford
Hotel Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed here once before. we like the location as it is next to the Lake so somewhere to have a nice walk. The staff are friendly and we received a nice welcome on arrival. We paid only £34.00 for our stay which we felt was excellent value. The room was comfortable and clean and we had a good nights sleep. The Beefeater is right next door so very handy although it did have a limited menu and it was a bit grubby round the edges. the staff were effecient and the food was fine. Breakfast was a buffet, we had a continental breakfast and there was ample to choose from. As we visit our family in Bedford about every 6 weeks we will likely become a regular user.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HudsonDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BedfordPI, Manager at Premier Inn Bedford (Priory Marina) Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear HudsonDevon,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Premier Inn Bedford Priory Marina.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will return to us soon. I have passed on your feedback to the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Tracy Langford
Hotel Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

All that we have come to expect as frequent Premier Inn users. Clean rooms good soundproofing and modern fittings. Nice spot this, you can walk right around the lake adjacent to the hotel, about 3/4 mile. Marina not too busy this time of year. Lots of roundabouts on the south side of Bedford but the SatNav takes you right to the door. Would use again.

Beefeater next door was very busy on Sat night. Phone the Hotel and book a table in advance if you want food before 9:30pm - it was a bit late for us. Not used a Beefeater for a while nad thought the menu was a bit limited compared with the other Whitbread brewersfayre chain.

Room Tip: Some rooms are a long way from reception if you are taking a lot of luggage. Should not be a noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jobs3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BedfordPI, Manager at Premier Inn Bedford (Priory Marina) Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear jobs3,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Premier Inn Bedford Priory Marina.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will return to us soon. I have passed on your feedback to the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Tracy Langford
Hotel Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bedford hotels
0.5 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#1 of 18 in Bedford
720 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bedford
1.2 mi away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#7 of 18 in Bedford
1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Bedford
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Bedford
Travelodge Bedford
#9 of 18 in Bedford
149 reviews
1.0 mi away
Embankment Hotel
Embankment Hotel
#13 of 18 in Bedford
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Bedford (Priory Marina) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Bedford (Priory Marina) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Bedford (Priory Marina) Hotel
Address: Priory Marina Barkers Lane | Priory Country Park, Bedford MK41 9DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Bedford (Priory Marina) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moor up for the night at Premier Inn Bedford (Priory Marina) and you'll be sure of a great night's sleep. Located right next to the marina and lake in the tranquil Priory Country Park, yet within a 5-minute drive of Bedford town centre, you'll have a whole fleet of entertainment options within easy reach. Take the inside track at Bedford International Athletic Stadium. Hit the big sales at Milton Keynes' shopping malls. Plot a course to London on the fast train to St Pancras. Then drop into our tasty restaurant with attractive alfresco dining area, and drift off in an extra-comfy bed. Directions: From M1 J13 follow the A421, then join the A6. Leave the A6 following signs for the A428 Cambridge. After crossing the River Ouse, turn right at the next roundabout onto Barkers Lane. Follow signs for the Priory Country Park. Hotel is next to the Priory Marina Beefeater. Transport and local information: Woburn Safari Park Mowsbury Golf Course Priory Country Park Bedford Train Station 2 miles Luton Airport 20 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Bedford (Priory Marina) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Bedford (Priory Marina) Hotel Bedford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing