We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Embankment Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Embankment Hotel
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Bedford
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed for one night midweek in Sept. Arrived at 10pm, problem no parking. Check in hassle free and very welcoming, dumped our bags and enjoyed last orders in the bar! Our room overlooked the car park (but that was what we were expecting), nice quiet room a little small and basic but adequate and clean. Nice bathroom with shower (no bath). Heating controllable. Tea coffee and biscuits provided with lovely large mugs. Lack of plug sockets disappointing and found it difficult to plug in hairdryer near mirror. Breakfast was included in price, very you could choose cooked breakfast from menu and help yourself to cereal and pastries etc. Food was excellent though we thought the large breakfast might have been bigger than it was. A very enjoyable flying visit, booked very last minute so good value for what we paid. I would definitely recommend and hope to stay again soon

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Widnesrlfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonathantaylorhotel, General Manager at Embankment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Many thanks for your review.
I am glad you enjoyed you stay and we will hopefully welcome you again on your next visit to Bedford. I have also addressed the plug issue in the room you stayed.
Kind regards
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 318 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

We have stayed here on various occasions whilst visiting family nearby and wouldn't consider anywhere else. It has always been delightful, but everything seems to have gone up a notch recently, - service, room care, food. We stayed in one of the front rooms overlooking the river and embankment, and though you can hear the noise from people sitting outside the bar below, that stopped completely at closing time and it was then very peaceful. The room was spacious with ample room for a sofa, the bed was very comfortable, the decor charming and quirky; the bathroom clean and well appointed. Food, as always was a high point of the visit - we have never been disappointed. We will return!

Room Tip: Large front rooms are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Epsomhappytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night in August. We had visited the hotel previously and had coffees in the bar which is why we decided to give it a go. A lot of effort has gone into a very tasteful renovation. I remember this place from years ago and it was lovely to see it had been developed into a relaxing but stylish venue. The staff and manager were very friendly and incredibly accommodating. A huge plus was when we were upgraded to a much larger room! We have previously stayed at the more expensive hotel just down the road but will definitely consider staying here again and have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank KJHONGKONG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My Wife and I have just returned from the Embankment Hotel in Bedford.
Great setting,good food,real ales,helpful staff and a lovely room. ( #103)
What more could you ask for.
We will be returning to this hotel.
Parking can be a problem...

Room Tip: Parking can be a problem as can noise from the outside area to the front of the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christuckeruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed here for one night. Good points were room was clean and stylish and the food was good. The staff, especially the manager, were very friendly and helpful. But our overall experience was spoiled by the fact that the noise level was unacceptable. We know it was a Saturday night and the venue is very popular and also had a hen party event there, but we had paid a premium for a river view room which meant our room was at the front of the hotel. Unfortunately, this also meant that even after the partygoers had left the venue, the road was still very busy throughout the night with both traffic and other people on an evening out. Also, the staff were chatting very loudly when cleaning up outside until after 1am, and then the outside area was being prepared for a new day from 7am. We tried closing the windows but the room was too hot. The hotel did apologise and give us a discount on the room when we mentioned this when checking out, but we were shattered as had hardly slept and would have rather paid the full price to get a decent nights sleep. So if you are a partygoer then I'm sure this hotel will be right up your street!

Room Tip: Don't get a room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We needed to stay one night in Bedford to attend a wedding. Other hotels cost more than this one, but I booked it anyway and wasn't expecting too much. I was pleasantly surprised, the staff were helpful and looked after our luggage until the room was ready, even gave us a personal phone number in case we arrrived late from our wedding and had any problems.
Bedroom was clean and the hotel is right across from the river, so in a very nice position. We expected noise as it is a pub downstairs as well as a hotel..............but we had no complaints at all. I was very happy with my choice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BangorKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Hotel very comfortable. Staff friendly. Breakfast good. Nice position on the River Ouse. If you get a back room its a bit noisy from the extractor unit. Parking not very good. If you park on the local roads there are meters from 8am to 6pm and you can only park for 2 hours.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bedford hotels
0.2 mi away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#7 of 18 in Bedford
1,664 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 18 in Bedford
752 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Bedford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bedford
7.5 mi away
The Sharnbrook Hotel
The Sharnbrook Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sharnbrook
356 reviews
2.1 mi away
Woodland Manor Hotel
Woodland Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embankment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embankment Hotel

Address: The Embankment, Bedford MK40 3PD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bedford
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bedford
#3 Business Hotel in Bedford
Price Range: $64 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Embankment Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Embankment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embankment Hotel Bedford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing