We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable”
Review of Embankment Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Embankment Hotel
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Bedford
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Hotel very comfortable. Staff friendly. Breakfast good. Nice position on the River Ouse. If you get a back room its a bit noisy from the extractor unit. Parking not very good. If you park on the local roads there are meters from 8am to 6pm and you can only park for 2 hours.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
There are newer reviews for Embankment Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 313 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

The room was clean and stylish and a fan was provided because the weather was so hot. The best part of the hotel was the manager who helped us when we locked ourselves out the room in the middle of the night. We took our dog with us as they are a pet friendly hotel and they did everything they could to accommodate us.

Room Tip: Our room wasn't that big but it was very nicely decorated.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grumbelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed overnight for the Twinwood Festival. Booked in early and was given the key. Came back after a wet but great day at the festival after seeing The Red Stripe band and got straight into the restaurant for dinner at 9:45pm. After a super meal we finished the evening with a cognac and malt sitting on the lounge settee.
Room at the top was pretty good apart from noisy staff smoking outside late night and early morning.
Breakfast great value and quality.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkshire1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We loved the location of this charming old-fashioned hotel by the river, and the rooms were very cozy and had nice details with character. Our room was otherwise OK, but there was a lot of noise during the night coming from the plumbing I guess which made disturbed sleeping. There was also a party going on until very late in the pub downstairs with lots of noise.The staff was very friendly. Breakfast wasn't anything too special, and it was confusing to have a modest cold buffet, toasts to be self-warmed around the corner and then having to order warm dishes separately from a menu.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helpyourselfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The embankment is a lovely lively gastro pub with a lovely view of the river,
I stayed here with my partner and must say what a lovely break it was, the whole experience was pleasant and enjoyable with lovely friendly staff.
Our room was lovely and big and very clean when walking back in too are room after breakfast it looked as tho we just checked in as we did have a lot of luggage and quite bitsy from the dog. The housekeepers a young man and lady where very friendly and made are stay even more enjoyable giving us a extra bed change with out asking and fresh towels on are stay. Even tho we stayed with are dog they never hesitated and even filled up the dog bowl with fresh water nothing was too much trouble for them. The young lady was very helpful and even watched are dog whilst we went down for breakfast and on return asked if we required anything else, we have stayed at many hotels and the reception we got from the embankment I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

What more can I say, we loved this place. Good position by the river too... and interesting menu. Nice lively and very friendly gastro type pub with lovely rooms. Stayed on a saturday night and the place was buzzing, live music, boat trips going from outside and varied cocktail menu. Thanks guys

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazzachick70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We booked earlier in the day, but couldn't fault our reception despite the restaurant being chocka block. Staff were exceptionally friendly whilst maintaining a feeling of respect. Our room was spotless (and I'm a clean freak), lovely little touches given the hot weather like the bottle of water as well as the usual tea coffee etc. AND given temp was boiling , the fan!

Bathroom was pristine with lovely big bright white towels, up market toiletries etc.

Went down to restaurant for a meal, lots of really nice modern options whilst maintaining more traditional options too. Service excellent, again, nothing toouch trouble and the young, energetic, happy staff made us of a certain age, forget for a few minutes that we are over 21! Clientelle a true mix of young couples and us oldies!

Slept like logs, and got up to the power shower followed by a great choice of traditional and high quality cooked breakfasts, as well as some international options (american pancakes etc).

This is the best hotel we have stayed in for a while, and at half the price. I would thoroughly reccommend it! (In fact we are going to treat our daughter and son in law to a short break minus the kids for a real treat)!

Room Tip: Our room was a twin at the back, plenty big enough, must have been quiet as hubby slept and can hear...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bedford hotels
0.2 mi away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#8 of 18 in Bedford
1,633 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pilgrims Progress JD Wetherspoon Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 18 in Bedford
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Bedford
0.6 mi away
d'Parys Hotel
d'Parys Hotel
#11 of 18 in Bedford
237 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bedford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embankment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embankment Hotel

Address: The Embankment, Bedford MK40 3PD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bedford
#3 Business Hotel in Bedford
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bedford
Price Range: $57 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Embankment Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Embankment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embankment Hotel Bedford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing