We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Delight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cornfields Restaurant & Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Bedford B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Set in rural Bedfordshire I found Cornfields to be a delightful small hotel where you are guaranteed fine dining and a warm welcome. The restaurant and bar are located in an atmospheric 16th Century building which has been tastefully refurbished by the owners Janet and Graham. I found the purpose built rooms, found in a separate block, to be spacious and tastefully decorated with an enormous bed which, together with its quiet location, meant I got a restful nights sleep. The staff were perfectly charming and very attentive throughout my stay and the food was home cooked, delicious and beautifully presented. I will certainly return again and again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
There are newer reviews for Cornfields Restaurant & Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 64 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2012

Went for an adult evening away from the kids to celebrate wedding anniversary!!! Turned up to have some time before eating and found the room stone cold. Ended up fully clothed in bed watching tv to keep warm. The TV kept on loosing signal so even that was disappointing. Ended up having to get an electric plug in heater to warm the room up ready to come back to after we'd eaten. Toilet kept making strange noises and the excuse was that it 'a rubber washer had disintigrated and the isolation valve needed turning off, we could borrow a screwdriver to sort it out'. There was no solution given for the failing signal on the telly.

The pub itself was even cold, log fire was going but needed a few more logs to get it going. Eventually had meal which was good but very expensive although restaurant was also cold, sat next to radiator which helped but as soon as they went off there was a definite chill in the air. Requested breakfast in bed and was told there would be a 'tray charge' which was fair enough but under the circumstances..........

Eventually retired to a warmer room, thanks to the plug in electric heater!!! Before sleep had to turn off isolation valve on toilet to stop the noise all night!! Bed itself very firm and large heavy blankets uncomfortable which kept on falling off. Breakfast in the morning very good. Shower great but shower curtain not ideal as the vacuum kept on sucking it towards you, weights on the bottom of the curtain or a screen more ideal. On leaving, mentioned all the items to the owner who seemed completely unbothered about it all.

Paid £165 for the room and breakfast which was totally over the top for the facilties and condition of the overall stay.

Would never stay again !!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb0403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We found the place downmarket and depressing. It's probably good as somewhere to sleep when one over the eight and anywhere is good. I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeannieMcKinstry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

"The Cottage" is delightful and very comfortable.450 years old but beautifully renovated standing in its own country garden, Janet and Graham and all their staff were charming and attentive. The restaurant served delicious home cooked food.
A perfect location for a relaxing weekend break

Room Tip: The Cottage sleeps a famiy of 2 adults and 2 children (in walk-through bedroom)
Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Thrial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

If you dont want to pay over the odds and have a pleasant stay find somewhere else !!!!!
Our room was cold, bedding not modern standard, bed not comfortable and zed bed at the cost of £25.00 per night was unusable, bath water was cold,bottles of water etc where not replaced for second evening and finally it was un clean, all mentioned to the owner who was most unhelpfull. all this for the total cost of £350.00.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

We have been dining at Cornfields for the past ten years and tend to go there every couple of months . The food and service is always superb. My husband and I have eaten in a lot of restaurants in and around Cambridgeshire and Bedfordshire and Cornfields still remains our favourite restaurant.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank kelbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

I held my 40th birthday party here, it was a wonderful evening. The staff were pleasant and attentive and the setting glorious. The food was great, I arranged a set meal and my guests chose their main course in advance, with a lovely range of dishes, the home made canapes in particular were just delicious. The whole evening was most relaxed and dinner service went like clockwork. Many friends also stayed in the hotel rooms which are lovely, and my children stayed too and were made to feel very welcome. Breakfast did not disappoint - perfect. All in all a very enjoyable, stress free party, I would recommend to anyone wishing to host a small gathering/wedding.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k_sbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford
5.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Bedford
5.1 mi away
d'Parys Hotel
d'Parys Hotel
#11 of 18 in Bedford
237 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Bedford Wyboston
5.4 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 18 in Bedford
733 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Sharnbrook Hotel
The Sharnbrook Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sharnbrook
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornfields Restaurant & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornfields Restaurant & Hotel

Address: Wilden Road | Colmworth near Bedford, Bedford MK44 2NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Bedford
Price Range: $106 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a Village Inn, circa 17th century, still retaining its original oak beams and Inglenook fireplace. The five superior bedrooms are set adjacent to the main building in our large garden with views out over open fields. Located with close links to A1 and M1 in the Bedfordshire countryside, 10 minutes from Bedford and St Neots and 40 minutes from Cambridge. Activities close by include ,Clay Target Complex , Golf Courses, Horse Riding ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cornfields Restaurant & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing