We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Standard HI Express”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bedford
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Standard HI Express”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here twice in the last 2 months. As HI Express hotels go this is a good one. Staff friendly and helpful. Rooms clean and in good order. The problem is the breakfast - no different to any other HI Express breakfast; they are all uniformly poor quality. I have got to the point of not having breakfast, l would sooner go hungry than eat food of that quality.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank SkyMover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamanthaB85, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bedford, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your review, it is always nice to hear from people that stay away often that we are one of the better hotels they visit. Our sister hotel in Milton Keynes have been running a breakfast trial with new products and we are hopefully that this will soon be rolled out to Bedford.
Kind Regards
Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    107
    39
    6
    4
See reviews for
60
63
23
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Garstang, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Staying with my young son we arrived quite late but staff were friendly and helpful. Room was just as expected and breakfast, included in the rate, was great and all we needed. Great location - would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mercedesmadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamanthaB85, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bedford, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for this brilliant review, it is great to hear that you will be staying with us again.
Kind Regards
Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Checked in early hours of Saturday 2nd November. Pleasant staff and very friendly. However what greeted me in my room was less than pleasant - a filthy shower curtain with strange brown/black markings. Couldn't work out if it was blood, make-up or someone had just confused the shower curtain for a piece of toilet paper. See photo for yourself and make up your own mind. What strikes me as really odd is the way the shower curtain is left hanging there presumable by the housekeeping - yes it really was in that position shown In the photograph. Presuamably they were drying it from the previous occupants use - unhygienic - I thought they changed these between guests. In nay case they should have been able to see what was blindingly obvious was that it was filthy with one large visible mark )and several more on the other side). Too tired from work and travelling to complain so settled down to a nice comfortable bed - wrong! The bed is completely useless with all the springs knackered so that as soon as you get on, metal cables creap into your back and then you sink right to the base of the bed. In fact it would probably be more suitable just to throw the mattress away and use the base. Breakfast - oh my word what a nightmare. About a dozen small tables for everyone to use in the whole hotel. On Sunday came down at about 9am to find mess everywhere, people queuing and barging past to get to the breakfast, no seats available so people sitting in reception, having breakfast next to pool table, kids running around screaming in this tiny cramped area while you try to eat some cereal. No croissants, pastries or most of the things even by 9am. Why I asked. 'We ran out' was the reply. I'm sorry but they knew how many guests were staying and could do with a larger breakfast area at leats double the size and actually ordering the right amount for breakfast. A shame as photos on the website made it look nice and could have been much better. My advice - stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: ask for one with a bed not broken and has been cleaned since last guest
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FranklyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bedford, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear FranklyLondon,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us. Let me take this opportunity to apologize for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and I regret the issues you encountered with the room you received. We have taken note of your comments and shared these with our management team to ensure the issues you've mentioned are addressed.

Thank you again for posting your comments. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights over a weekend to visit family in the area. The Hotel was easy to find being located just off the dual carriageway. We booked a twin room which was clean, comfortable and perfectly adequate for our short stay and included tea/coffee making facilities.

The bathroom although small was well designed with modern shower and soap dispenser. The beds were comfortable and the room, which was at the rear of the hotel was nice and quiet (apart from a few noisy late night guests, no fault of the hotel). Only a small moan, there is a lack of hanging space and no plug near a mirror for us ladies and our straighteners! However there was a hairdryer wired in for use.

A continental breakfast was included in the our booking, surprisingly it included scrambled egg and sausages. The choice was plentiful, fruit, yoghurt, croissant, toast etc with juice and coffee/tea machines. Breakfast is eaten in the Reception area which is comfortable, light and airy with TV.

A very good stay in a budget hotel which offers extremely good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanRoger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamanthaB85, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bedford, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for this review it is great to hear that you found our hotel to be value for money. Hopefully with you having family in the area we can welcome you back soon, Kind regards
Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

If dyslexic be wary of using online booking services. I booked having checked dates only to get confirmation for the wrong month. The hotel were helpful but explained I would have to go back to the booking agent. I could not find anyway of contacting the agent so sorry using this format to try to get my views across. Really upset as short of money and will now sleep in the car as doubt there is anyway of getting it back at short notice and feel it is not my fault. Will pay more next time and be able to speak to a human being!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Drammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamanthaB85, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bedford, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Drammie
Thank you for highlighting that despite the booking mix up the hotel staff were helpful. It was unfortunate that on the night in question the hotel was already full otherwise we would have happily accommodated you. I believe that the booking agent has since been in touch to confirm that we will not be charging any cancellation fee, so hopefully you have received a refund. If we can be of any assistance to you please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly.
Thank you
Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaton Delaval, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We were part of a group and the hotel arranged for the chef to come in on a Friday night to cater for us. Really wish he hadn't bothered as the food was shocking, micro waved nachos, soggy pasta, flavourless meatballs, and extremely poor service. The following night the bar service redeemed the experience by staying open late for the larger group, but no excuse for not being able to cook pasta !
Rooms are pretty standard Holiday Express spec and clean. Breakfast pretty mediocre too.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamanthaB85, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bedford, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Twinsetal
Thank you for your comments; we are disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy your meal with us. We always try to go the extra mile for our groups whether that is getting extra staff in to provide food or keeping the bar open later. I will ensure your comments get passed on to the correct people so as we can make improvements where needed.
Kind Regards
Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Upsides: welcoming staff, convenient location, pretty good food.

Downsides: weird entrance behind a petrol station, smoker frequenting seats near door

Unique: fire alarm went off at least half a dozen times through the evening (seems that steam from showers trigger the alarm)

Overall: as someone has already said, the hotel "does what it says on the tin". Its clean, its value, its reliable, it's a holiday inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamanthaB85, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bedford, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Peter
Thank you for this great review. Please accept my apologies for the fire alarm activation during your stay, it was traced to a faulty detector which has now been replaced and the whole system has been serviced. I am glad to read that this did not put you off; hopefully we can welcome you back to the hotel again soon.
Kind Regards
Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bedford hotels
2.1 mi away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#8 of 18 in Bedford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
2.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Bedford
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bedford South (A421) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bedford (Priory Marina) Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 18 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pilgrims Progress JD Wetherspoon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bedford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bedford

Property: Holiday Inn Express Bedford
Address: Elstow Interchange A6/A421 | Bedford Bypass Junction, Wilstead Road, Bedford MK42 9BF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Bedford 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the well-connected Holiday Inn Express Bedford hotel for handy road links and proximity to Bedford's businesses. Friendly staff welcome you to the modern Holiday Inn Express Bedford, 2 miles south of Bedford town centre. We're conveniently located just off the A6 and A421, with plenty of complimentary parking. Surf the web over a coffee with free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Our newly refurbished guestrooms feature modern decor, comfortable beds, an en-suite with power shower and 32-inch TVs. Our bright family rooms have 1 double bed and 1 pull-out sofabed where kids under 18 stay for free with an adult. There's space for up to 25 delegates in our 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms, where you can host interactive conferences and board meetings. Choosing Holiday Inn Express Bedford also gives you easy access to local business parks. We're 1.5 miles from companies based in Priory Business Park and 6 miles from Millbrook vehicle testing centre. Relax in the great outdoors at the tranquil Priory Country Park with a woodland stroll and fishing and sailing on the lakes. You can watch tense competitions at Lawson Park Indoor Bowls Club, just 6 minutes' drive from Holiday Inn Express Bedford. Meet for drinks on our patio and gather inside for live sport on the flat-screen TVs and a game of pool. Our evening bar menu features spicy curries and pasta dishes. Fill up in the morning with sausage and scrambled egg from the generous breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bedford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bedford Hotel Bedford
Holiday Inn Bedford
Bedford Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing