We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocking food but good bar service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bedford
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
Seaton Delaval, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Shocking food but good bar service.”
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We were part of a group and the hotel arranged for the chef to come in on a Friday night to cater for us. Really wish he hadn't bothered as the food was shocking, micro waved nachos, soggy pasta, flavourless meatballs, and extremely poor service. The following night the bar service redeemed the experience by staying open late for the larger group, but no excuse for not being able to cook pasta !
Rooms are pretty standard Holiday Express spec and clean. Breakfast pretty mediocre too.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamanthaB85, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bedford, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Twinsetal
Thank you for your comments; we are disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy your meal with us. We always try to go the extra mile for our groups whether that is getting extra staff in to provide food or keeping the bar open later. I will ensure your comments get passed on to the correct people so as we can make improvements where needed.
Kind Regards
Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    110
    40
    6
    4
See reviews for
63
64
23
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Upsides: welcoming staff, convenient location, pretty good food.

Downsides: weird entrance behind a petrol station, smoker frequenting seats near door

Unique: fire alarm went off at least half a dozen times through the evening (seems that steam from showers trigger the alarm)

Overall: as someone has already said, the hotel "does what it says on the tin". Its clean, its value, its reliable, it's a holiday inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamanthaB85, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bedford, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Peter
Thank you for this great review. Please accept my apologies for the fire alarm activation during your stay, it was traced to a faulty detector which has now been replaced and the whole system has been serviced. I am glad to read that this did not put you off; hopefully we can welcome you back to the hotel again soon.
Kind Regards
Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This hotel is excellent value for money. The staff are very nice and friendly. I had dinner and breakfast and both were very good. The facilities are very modern, new, clean and well maintained. The room was very modern, new and very comfortable. Its in a good location with easy access to the motorway. Very helpful staff and most importantly a very comfortable bed!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank journeyman7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamanthaB85, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bedford, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for this great review. It is brilliant to hear that you found us to be excellent value. The staff are by far the best asset we have here and I will make sure they read your kind words. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind Regards
Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Higham Ferrers, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
326 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Had a one night stay and must admit I was quite surprised at how good it all was. The staff were friendly and helpful on arrival and despite a computer malfunction I was booked in very quickly. The room was large, very clean with comfortable beds, tea & coffee, hairdryer and very clean en-suite. Breakfast was varied with a good hot selection, which was topped up regularly, cereals, yoghurts, and continental if required. Plenty of tea and coffee, fruit juices, milk or water. All in all a very nice stay. Would definitely use it again and recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamanthaB85, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bedford, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Trevor

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. It is great to hear that you would use us again and recommend us to those you know. Hopefully your stay with us will encourage you to seek out others Express hotels when you travel.

Kind Regards
Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Arrived late Sunday evening check in was quick and easy. room was clean, beds comfy, breakfast great, Staff helpful and polite especially Jeni she was very helpful. Would recommend 100%. Had to wait for 4 hours in reception for a hire car and the staff made us feel very comfortable and looked after us well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dez B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamanthaB85, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bedford, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your review, we hope the rest of your journey went smoother than the beginning!

I will make sure that Jena is rewarded for these lovely comments (despite forgetting the ham & drinks)
Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Kind Regards
Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed one night. Hotel clean and very comfortable. Evening meal very nice and service very good. Staff very helpful and friendly. Walk in shower as I think I was in a disabled access room but very spacious. Air conditioning first class. Only thing I could fault was that they were very very stingy with the tea and coffee provided in the room, apart from that I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a stay over, although I can't say I was impressed with Bedford itself.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline Vict... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamanthaB85, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bedford, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for this review, I am pleased that you found the hotel clean and comfortable. Extra tea and coffee supplies are available from reception complimentary, we are always happy to help.
Many Thanks
Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here for one night on 25th August for a friends party nearby.
Check in was by far the best than I have experienced for a very long time. It was carried out by a very pleasant lady called Diana, who took time to explained how things worked and also booked a later taxi for us and supplied us with ice to cool down after a long journey.
Stayed in room 37 which was on the ground floor and very quiet. Room was spotlessly clean, nothing could be faulted.
Breakfast next morning was perfectly adequate, with everything you needed to set you up for the day.
I would definitely stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JadyLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamanthaB85, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bedford, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for this excellent review, I will make sure that Diana is rewarded as a result of your comments.

Many Thanks
Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bedford hotels
2.1 mi away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#8 of 18 in Bedford
1,579 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 18 in Bedford
695 reviews
2.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Bedford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Pilgrims Progress JD Wetherspoon Hotel
3.3 mi away
Travelodge Bedford
Travelodge Bedford
#9 of 18 in Bedford
142 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Sharnbrook Hotel
The Sharnbrook Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sharnbrook
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bedford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bedford

Property: Holiday Inn Express Bedford
Address: Elstow Interchange A6/A421 | Bedford Bypass Junction, Wilstead Road, Bedford MK42 9BF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Bedford 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the well-connected Holiday Inn Express Bedford hotel for handy road links and proximity to Bedford's businesses. Friendly staff welcome you to the modern Holiday Inn Express Bedford, 2 miles south of Bedford town centre. We're conveniently located just off the A6 and A421, with plenty of complimentary parking. Surf the web over a coffee with free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Our newly refurbished guestrooms feature modern decor, comfortable beds, an en-suite with power shower and 32-inch TVs. Our bright family rooms have 1 double bed and 1 pull-out sofabed where kids under 18 stay for free with an adult. There's space for up to 25 delegates in our 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms, where you can host interactive conferences and board meetings. Choosing Holiday Inn Express Bedford also gives you easy access to local business parks. We're 1.5 miles from companies based in Priory Business Park and 6 miles from Millbrook vehicle testing centre. Relax in the great outdoors at the tranquil Priory Country Park with a woodland stroll and fishing and sailing on the lakes. You can watch tense competitions at Lawson Park Indoor Bowls Club, just 6 minutes' drive from Holiday Inn Express Bedford. Meet for drinks on our patio and gather inside for live sport on the flat-screen TVs and a game of pool. Our evening bar menu features spicy curries and pasta dishes. Fill up in the morning with sausage and scrambled egg from the generous breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bedford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bedford Hotel Bedford
Holiday Inn Bedford
Bedford Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing