We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable nights stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bedford
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed one night. Hotel clean and very comfortable. Evening meal very nice and service very good. Staff very helpful and friendly. Walk in shower as I think I was in a disabled access room but very spacious. Air conditioning first class. Only thing I could fault was that they were very very stingy with the tea and coffee provided in the room, apart from that I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a stay over, although I can't say I was impressed with Bedford itself.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline Vict... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamanthaB85, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bedford, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you for this review, I am pleased that you found the hotel clean and comfortable. Extra tea and coffee supplies are available from reception complimentary, we are always happy to help.
Many Thanks
Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 286 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here for one night on 25th August for a friends party nearby.
Check in was by far the best than I have experienced for a very long time. It was carried out by a very pleasant lady called Diana, who took time to explained how things worked and also booked a later taxi for us and supplied us with ice to cool down after a long journey.
Stayed in room 37 which was on the ground floor and very quiet. Room was spotlessly clean, nothing could be faulted.
Breakfast next morning was perfectly adequate, with everything you needed to set you up for the day.
I would definitely stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JadyLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamanthaB85, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bedford, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you for this excellent review, I will make sure that Diana is rewarded as a result of your comments.

Many Thanks
Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at this hotel early Sunday morning enroute to Twinwood from Yorkshire. Even though the receptionist, Diane was rushed off her feet with breakfast customers and guests checking out, she could not have been more helpful. I was too early to check in to my room, but Diane kindly found me a room to shower and change in. She brought me clean towels and could not have been more kind, considerate and good humoured. The hotel was clean. Pleasant and in an ideal location for Twinwood. Will definately return.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmittyEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamanthaB85, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bedford, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you for this great review, all our staff members are committed to great customer service and Diana is one of our stars. She was recently voted 'Employee of the Year' for the company by the staff, and it is comments like this which helped her win, they are very much appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon should you visit the Bedford area again.
Kind Regards
Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

East to book, easy to find and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed over a bank holiday weekend so it was really busy but staff still went out of their way to help us with all our needs. Rooms were clean and comfortable with free wi-fi. The only thing that wasn't good was the cups of tea in the morning. The mugs were not particularly clean and the tea was grey and unpleasent. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: The double rooms 119 & 219 are spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamsin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamanthaB85, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bedford, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you for this review; it was a very busy weekend we are still recovering! It is great to hear that the staff still met your needs with a smile. Our complimentary WiFi is new and I’m pleased that it is adding value to our guests' stay.

We hope to welcome you back soon
Kind Regards
Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Its location is the best asset of this hotel by far, and contrary to some previous reviews we did not find traffic noise to be a problem despite being on the side facing the A421 and on the 1st floor. Staff are freindly and welcoming, check-in / check-out very simple. Common areas and the rooms are well presented and spotlessly clean.

Rooms are ok if a little cramped, but main complaint is the size and comfort of the bed. It is a standard 'double' and hence more cramped for two people than I would normally expect at a hotel, and was also uncomfortable. To make matters worse, the duvet only just covered the bed, leading to more troubled sleep.

Breakfast is typical fare for HI Express, but sadly was below the usual standard (which to be fair is only just acceptable). The cooked items, sausage, scrambled egg and beans were so unappetising that I couldn't face them, the orange juice was more like squash, and it was a long time since the grapefruit segments were actually segments.

I would use this hotel again, but remember this is a budget hotel and you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellerfrom203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamanthaB85, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bedford, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review, I am disappointed to learn that you didn’t sleep well. The hotel is in the process of replacing all the duvets as part of a continuous improvement process cycle and I will pass on your comments regarding the size to our purchasing team.
As for the breakfast experience, watch this space. We have several hotels in our group trialling a new breakfast offering with improved freshly baked croissants and pastries. The results will be out soon and we are confident that the improvements will be rolled out across the group.
It’s good to hear that you would be prepared to use our hotel again and hopefully the next time you stay these improvements will have been made.
Kind Regards
Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed a few times during April, may and June. Hotel conveniently located on side of A road. Easy to get taxis to centre for about £5-6. staff always friendly and manage to remember your name!

Only downsides were 1 day room wasn't cleaned! Sorted by manager by email!!!

And as we wee booking by points at 5k, it soon doubled to 10k!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
Thank OliverK6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamanthaB85, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bedford, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for your review, IHG Rewards points are a great bonus for our guests and it is great to hear that you have chosen to spend your points with us. Thank you for your loyalty

Kind Regards
Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night whilst attending a nearby party for an ex colleague's retirement.
The hotel is very new (as of July 2013), and location next to the A421/A6 interchange very convenient.
Room was very comfortable, all usual facilities, and no problems at all.
Location was very quiet, as was the hotel. At first I thought this was perhaps due to low occupancy that night, but the breakfast area was pretty full at 7.30 the next morning.
Breakfast choice (included in the rate I got) was perfectly adequate choice.
Staff throughout very helpful and pleasant.
All round a really good visit, and perfect for what I needed on that occasion.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank otto-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamanthaB85, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bedford, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for this review, we love to recieve great comments such as 'perfect' regarding the standard of the hotel, especially as we will have been open for 10 years next year.

We hope to welcome you again should you find yourself in Bedford

Kind Regards
Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bedford hotels
2.1 mi away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#10 of 18 in Bedford
1,706 reviews
2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Bedford
2.5 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#1 of 18 in Bedford
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bedford (Priory Marina) Hotel
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Bedford
Travelodge Bedford
#11 of 18 in Bedford
177 reviews
4.3 mi away
Travelodge Bedford Marston Moretaine
Travelodge Bedford Marston Moret...
#1 of 1 in Marston Moretaine
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bedford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bedford

Address: Elstow Interchange A6/A421 | Bedford Bypass Junction, Wilstead Road, Bedford MK42 9BF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bedford
Price Range: $59 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Bedford 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the well-connected Holiday Inn Express Bedford hotel for where we are conveniently located just off the A6 and A421 and within close proximity to Bedford’s businesses such as Millbrook vehicle testing centre and Priory Business Park. Friendly staff welcome you to our hotel where our modernised guestrooms feature fresh décor, comfortable bed, en-suite and 32-inch TVs. Our accommodating family rooms have 1 double bed and 1 pull-out sofa bed where kids under 18 stay for free with an adult. There are 2 spacious and air-conditioned meeting rooms for up to 25 delegates, perfect for conferences and board meetings. Relax in the great outdoors at Priory Country Park with a woodland stroll and fishing and on the lakes. Meet for drinks on our patio and gather inside for live sport on the flat-screen TVs. Our evening bar menu features spicy curries and burgers. Start your day right with our generous breakfast buffet including hot items such as bacon, sausage, beans and scrambled eggs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bedford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bedford Hotel Bedford
Holiday Inn Bedford
Bedford Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing