We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty at the Tuns!”
Review of Three Tuns

Three Tuns
Ranked #64 of 414 Restaurants in Bedford
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Three Tuns is a pretty little pub in the village of Biddenham, Bedford. THere is a varied menu and excellent specials on Friday and Saturday
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
120 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Tasty at the Tuns!”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

My friend and I fancied a change from usual venues, so thought we would try the Three Tuns at Biddenham. We are so glad we did.
Arriving to a very warm welcome we were shown to our table in the newly refurbished and comfortable dining room.
Menus arrived promptly and our drink orders taken. There is an extensive choice of deliciously tempting dishes. We went for the two courses for £15. I had the risotto and my friend had the steak.
Both were very tasty. Well presented, ok so not large portions, but perfectly cooked. The Chilean merlot was smooth and full bodied and the pinot grigio crisp and fruiy.
We both had the lemon/cucumber dessert. A very unusual combination, but it worked and was refreshing. This was followed by a cappuccino and an espresso. Both were lovely and strong. So often restaurant coffee is far too weak.
We could not fault the service. Prompt and discreet.
All in all a very pleasant meal in convivial surroundings. Not cheap (£50), but I would definitely go again and treating my husband next time :-)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank happygirl043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    46
    14
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Be careful - very expensive”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

My wife and I are former residents of Bedford and on a recent visit decided to call in at the Pub which used to be our favourite venue for a lunch or evening drink. On entering the Pub we were surprised to note that the bar in the lounge had been removed and the only place to get a drink was the bar. We had a look at the menu for a snack and could only find the soup was suitable for our palate. However, after asking what the soup was we were told it is pea and broad bean! We thought that we would try it even though the charge for this was £5.50 each!!!! When it arrived at our table we were amazed to see that it was in a bowl with 1 piece of white bread cut in half with no butter. We were then asked if we woould like butter which we were given. We consider that the prices at this pub to be very high and not worth the items on the menu. We will reluctantly not be visiting this pub again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chjendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I moved to the village 2 years ago and found this pub and restaurant to be very welcoming I love it as I am Asian and the staff always make me feel I belong and do not treat me like an alien

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level Contributor
107 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“What a find”
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Drove through this village and popped into the pub for lunch.Behind is a fantastic restaurant.The food was outstanding and some of the finest I have eaten.Great range of ales complimented excellent service made the visit a real pleasure.I bet its packed at the weekends with quality like this.Book you will not regret it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank DrWhoStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Went here recently for Sunday lunch. The main bar area is now improved with the tables & seating etc. Started with a nice beer - Green King IPA. Perfectly served at the right temperature. We arrived early, but no problem as our table was ready. We had two Sunday roasts & vegi options for my wife (which included a risotto for her main). Probably, one of the best Sunday roasts (beef) I've had for sometime, really nice & my wife was also impressed. She is really fussy & hard to please. It was a very enjoyable & very relaxed sunday lunch. Desserts were also nice, maybe a bit odd combinations but seemed to work ok; but there were also a couple of standard easily recognisable desserts such as sticky toffee pudding. Overall, great Sunday lunch, relaxed & not rushed. Nice to add another good place to eat in what is an area lacking in many good pubs/restaurants. I also thought it was well priced.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew002ak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Three Tuns also viewed

 
Bromham, Bedfordshire
 
Bedford, Bedfordshire
Bedford, Bedfordshire
 

Been to Three Tuns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing